We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, tasteless food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cucara Macara

Cucara Macara
Ranked #644 of 4,170 Restaurants in Mexico City
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gray, Maine
Level Contributor
287 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great service, tasteless food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We grabbed breakfast here due to it's location just down from the Hilton at the airport. Service was outstanding, prices were high but that is to be expected for an airport restaurant. Food was totally tasteless. Huervos Rancheros with amazingly bland sauce.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mainereale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    22
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
161 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Surprise Treat in the Mexico City Airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

After a long and difficult business trip our small group spent the last night in the Mexico City airport. Our Friday night dinner was at Cucara Macara -- and it was an absolute delight! The service was prompt and attentive, the selection was great, and the food was heartily enjoyed by all. They make great guacamole, and the ant eggs are an unusual condiment. Wow, can they make a great margarita. Their selection of quality tequila doesn't hurt either. The caramel flan was a tasty dessert, but the strawberry cheesecake was the only disappointment. I'd definitly go back again, and again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TallRedChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cucara Macara at Benito Juarez Airport”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Worst mexican food I had in my trip to Mexico.

I went to the one at the airport and order the Arrachera Steak. It was cold and tough.

Definitively will not be coming back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shadowplay101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Great tacos and tortilla chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

The mixed tacos with shrimp, fish and crab were incredible. Also had fantastic tasting tortilla chips.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cucara Macara also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Venustiano Carranza, Puebla
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cucara Macara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing