We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The atmosphere is half of the charm...”

Gotan Restaurante Argentino
Ranked #37 of 4,441 Restaurants in Mexico City
Cuisines: Argentinean, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Timetable. Monday to Friday 1 pm to 9.30. Saturday from 2 pm to 10.00 Pm No card
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
“The atmosphere is half of the charm...”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The food was awesome, but the real diamond of this restaurant is Viviana! So sweet and helpful, she used her best English to help me understand the menu...fortunately my fiance speaks spanish and could help with the parts I did not understand. Great steak, great dessert...yum yum yum!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TBK1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    734
    162
    69
    43
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely food”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely evening with great argentina food! The service was great and the meat was grilled in the back of the restaurant. The red wine was also lovely!

Helpful?
Thank Timo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Best meal I've ever had in my life!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The food here was absolutely spectacular! It was easily the best meal I ever had in my whole life.

The restaurant is very close to the Monumento a la revoluccion. It's off of one of the side streets to the east of the monument along the street with all of the Mexican flags.

I had a pasta dish to start. The pasta was perfectly cooked. I had never had pasta cooked so well before.

They also provided a very simple salad of lettuce, tomatoes, onions and sesame seeds. However, the dressing on the salad was absolutely spectacular and brought the dish up many levels!

The mashed potatoes were extremely creamy, like potatoes I had never had before. Not too creamy or buttery; just perfect.

Meat was also perfectly cooked to my request.

Not sure why Tripadvisor states the price range is Price range: CAD 5 - CAD 10

For a meal for 2 with alcohol, the total came to about 900 pesos.

The owner was extremely nice. She gave us a free dessert! Don't miss this restaurant if it's in your budget!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pdmse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, great service - cash only”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This Argentina restaurant had good food and great service. Unfortunately though it was difficult to find - my cab driver wasn't familiar with the street the restaurant was on and had to ask 5 or 6 people on the general vicinity for directions to find it. They also do not take cards of any kind so come prepared. The closest bank is a few blocks away.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spenser G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
“Finally!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We have lived on outstide edge of Mexico City for 14 years. As time goes by we fight the traffic to do things in the city less and less. BUT yesterday we were given a new reason to visit the city! Gotan Restaurante was everything its Trip Advisor ratings said it would be. Not only did we enjoy the best steak we have had in 14 years but we made new friends! Yes Gotan is smail and not very attention getting as you pass by, but once you have entered the arched doorway you will feel at home and pampered by it's delightful owners as they serve you!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dianajomissionary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gotan Restaurante Argentino also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gotan Restaurante Argentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing