We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The perfect place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stella Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 129 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“The perfect place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just returned from a stay at Stella B&B and I am already plotting my return. This place was my ideal of a home away from home with the comfortable and homey atmosphere of a bed and breakfast yet the privacy of a boutique hotel. It was perfect. At every turn Rodrigo and staff were so very accommodating and helpful. The neighborhood provided all we could possibly need for both a relaxing and stimulating stay situated as it is on a quiet, tree-lined street across from a park with amazing restaurants close by for both the elegant and inexpensive experiences of fabulous food. I just wish I was still there........ Jane from Brooklyn

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    21
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
25
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I have stayed a few days in this B&B and had a very pleasant time. The best is the morning light on a large top floor balcony, surrounded by trees. The room is clean and spacious with in-room wi-fi. My only gripe is that there's no phone in the room because I have to contact some associates in town. And it can be a bit warm during the day, with no air conditioner nor a fan. Other than that this place is perfect. I love the modest breakfast, the peacefulness, the helpful staff, the nice neighbourhood.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_KTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

High level of service in a unique, stylish & comfortable property located in one of Mexico City’s best neighborhoods. Rodrigo suggested a walking tour of Condesa & Roma for us, including bars & restaurants, and he also booked a hair appointment for my friend. We had a lovely stay, and were sad to return home after only 2 nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwes
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stella B&B IS in a nice neighborhood w/good restaurants plentiful. Rodrigo is very helpful and his English is perfect. The staff, Victoria and Sylia, couldn't have been more hospitable.
On the less than great side - our room was dark, there were electric lights but either too dim, or placed where they didn't help illuminate - including bathroom and reading in bed.
The coffee needs some work - was it instant?? It came from a machine but..... :/
Otherwise a nice place.

Room Tip: Ask for one with good lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stollgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stella B&B recommendation
A recent three-night stay at Stella B&B with my partner tallies with the nearly unanimous positive and enthusiastic endorsements previously recorded here, especially regarding the kind, helpful manager Rodrigo, who offered us all sorts of valuable tips and suggestions in fluent English. Following the recommendation of a Mexico City native, I contacted the manager Rodrigo in December and booked a room for me and my partner for late January. Then and thereafter he was attentive to every detail of our journey from airport, arrival, occupancy, and departure.
Having visited the DF several times over quite a long period and stayed in more brassy parts of the city, it was a delight to find Stella B&B nestled in an attractive, trendy neighbourhood with verdant parks and gardens, attractive architecture, and good restaurants. I therefore recommend Stella B&B unreservedly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank musicagallica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Love this place. It is pleasant and stylish and comfortable and affordable and in a great area and has great staff and a great breakfast. Some have said it's understaffed but with Rodrigo and Victoria taking such good care of everything there's no problem. If I go back to Mexico City this is where I will stay.

Room Tip: All rooms I saw were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I can't recommend Stella Bed & Breakfast enough! From the moment I booked until Rodrigo saw me off in a taxi on my last day-- every bit of the experience was great. First off, Stella is located on a great street, in the gorgeous, leafy, and lively Condesa neighborhood. I felt 100% safe walking around this neighborhood morning, noon and night. It's also an easy walk to a metro station, and for trips further afield, Rodrigo helped us arrange for an hourly-rate taxi. In the mornings, Victoria prepared simple and delicious breakfasts to order, along with continental breakfast offerings (granola, yogurt, fresh fruit, etc.). We loved chit-chatting with Victoria, Rodrigo and the other guests over coffee as we planned our days. The breakfast room is so lovely! The rooms are also filled with one-of-a-kind vintage pieces, art, and lovely natural light. We stayed in Room 2, split into two beds, and had plenty of space to spread out. I could go on and on about Stella, its great vibe, and its warm and friendly staff, but you get the point. Stay here and you'll feel like you're staying with friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Condesa
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
#58 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Condesa
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#47 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Condesa
Hotel Villa Condesa
Hotel Villa Condesa
#7 of 129 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Bed & Breakfast

Property: Stella Bed & Breakfast
Address: Avenida Amsterdam 141 | Delegación Cuauhtémoc, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stella is a bed and breakfast located on Amsterdam Avenue in the Condesa neighborhood, Mexico City. The house was designed and built in 1930 by Francisco Serrano, one of the great architects of his generation, who built the Edificio Basurto and Pasaje Polanco, among other Mexico City landmarks. The house was restored in 2010, respecting the original design and period finishes.The décor at Stella mixes art deco and vintage furniture with a stunning collection of Mexican contemporary art. It is clear that each piece of furniture, lighting and artwork has been chosen carefully to complement its specific space. Stella has seven rooms, four in the main house and three in a separate guest house. The hotel uses its own water treatment plant, a rain water retrieval system and solar panels as part of our commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stella Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Bed & Breakfast Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing