We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great sandwich option in Roma Norte ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belmondo

Belmondo
Ranked #268 of 3,537 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Roma
Description: Sandwich place
Level Contributor
987 reviews
390 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Great sandwich option in Roma Norte ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I passed this place several times when out and about in the Roma before going in ... but it always caught my eye because of the really nice decor.

I finally decided to pop in the other day late at night and was blown away by the variety of sandwich options on offer .... the London Broil was excellent and I cannot wait to go back and try the Bahn Mi (it is the first place I have seen this sandwich on offer in my time here in Mexico).

I will be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank METRUN360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    50
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico C
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfort & Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Let's be honest: In Mexico, we don't have a sandwich culture like they do in the US. We were raised with sandwiches with 2 pieces of white bread with a see-through-thin slice of ham in the middle. It's hard to come across a nice, hearty sandwich with reasonable filling, and quality bread.

Belmondo is the place to find it. A lovely dimly lit corner restaurant in Roma, this place offers a decent variety of very well crafted sandwiches and killer fries. The salads are yummy also.

But, despite the greatness of the dishes, the unsung hero of this restaurant is the carrot cake. Oh. My. God. This is a standout cake.

Belmondo used to offer a very nice sunday brunch, but unfortunately it's no longer available.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GastronautaDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good breakfast spot in Roma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This new restaurant is by the same people as Felix (the bar.) Same concept: really good food, simple but attractive atmosphere, and decent prices. I like to go for the the breakfasts--but go early--it opens at 10 am and is usually full by 11. My one gripe would be that--like most popular restaurants in Mexico City--there is very limited personal space and a staff of largely neophyte waiters.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phulana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Amazing delicious restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The food is made with a strong and very good taste. All the staff is wonderful and when you go out of the restaurant you are no longer hungry . This place deserves an attention and you have to get there .... Enjoy

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Romuald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
1 review
“All around great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My friend and I split the arugula salad and the beet salad and it was filling and tasty. Also, I had a red wine that was equally satisfying. We also split the corn cake with coconut ice cream! I highly recommend this place if you like creative salads and sandwiches. I will definitely be going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TiffMExico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belmondo also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Belmondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing