We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good but not so great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maja - CLOSED

Maja
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Condesa
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
742 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Good but not so great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Indeed the place is good enough and keeps you a nice taste even after some days but for sure after two weeks you'll forget the restaurant at all. There are not many things to remember of.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank draghignazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    13
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“suprased my expectations...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I ended up walking into Maja just by curiosity as I was walking in the Roma neighborhood, the food here is amazing, all the dishes me and my friends had were delicious, I think my favorite would be the gazpacho, suuuper fresh and tasty. While we waited for our main dishes we had an order of "pan tomate with prosciuto" and then another and i coul'dve eaten those all night, amazing. The restaurant overall has a cosy hip vibe, good spot!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice contemporary twist to my fav cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed the experience, service was excellent, atmosphere smart casual, portions were good too. Wine was supreme! I would only suggest to get rid of the fat of the lamb's ribs, other than that, just keep improving, I will keep going!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hizkuntza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Maybe Tripadvisor made a mistake?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I fully agree with kalimata. I can mention several dozen restaurants in Mexico City that are better, including a dozen or more Spanish. To start I hate Valet parking that I believe should be paid by the restaurant; tipping OK. Modern decor with cement floors. Waiters attentive but still and all we waited more than 30 minutes for a glass of water. Short menu and expensive for restaurants in Mexico City. Best are the "entradas" and deserts. Mexican wine was good. Rest rooms are an invitation for an accident, specially for elder people since there are no handrails on steep and poorly illuminated areas. Would I go back? Well yes, if I am in the neighbourhood, but I will not make an extra effort to go there

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Surprisingly amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had no great expectations but it is a place to go for sure. Service is excellent, food is AMAZING! Decor of the place is cozy but yet cool and modern. They give you a small appetizer that is part of the menu with the intention you try something from the menu and to know it. Cool idea and clever thing to do. We had chuleton that is meat for 2 it was enough but was outstanding! As well we had croquetas de jamon serrano and chocolate cake. Need to go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maja also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing