We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Delicious food and trendy, relaxed atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maja - CLOSED

Maja
Durango 279 | Colonia Roma, Mexico City 06700, Mexico (Condesa)
52117972
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Condesa
Saint Joseph, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food and trendy, relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our dinner at Maja was very delicious and the service was great. I HIGHLY recommend trying the tomato soup, shrimp, any of the steaks, and the oxtail is a MUST. I was a little skeptical at first of the oxtail, but it was one of the best meats I've ever tried! Good portions of food and easily able to share with your entire table. Very friendly and attentive staff. We enjoyed a nice relaxing evening out with great food, beverages, and nice atmosphere in the Roma neighborhood.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    13
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Superb Service & Exquisite Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

An enjoyable place to spend the evening drinking wine and sharing tapas. Superb service, chic atmosphere, delicious food, modern decor. We shared the Camarón Gigante, Solomillo Steak and Rabo de Buey (Oxtail), all excellent recommendations from the chef. Make sure you save room for the tarta de manzana and torrija caramelizada​. Fairly priced for the high quality of food and comparable to other Mexico City restaurants of the same category.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KatyZell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyable meal. I enjoyed my steak very much. And the decor is also very nice. A little on the pricey side, but it was worth it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent atmosphere and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were looking for a new and exciting dining experience and found it at Maja. Beautifully restored interior with intimate feel for our large group. Very attentive staff, menus in both Spanish and English, very unique food selections and reasonable prices! A very pleasant dining experience in the Roma neighborhood, just a few short blocks from our bed and breakfast. The owner, Artouro greeted us and made us feel so welcome. We will return every trip back to Mexico City! Thanks Maja!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent jewel in MC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Alrhough a bit upscale for my normal budget, the food and ambiance was great.

Appetizer was Oxtail in peppers with a pureed red pepper sauce.

Entree was a bbq octopus over cooked potato wedges.

Helpful?
Thank BowleyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Maja also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing