We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maja - CLOSED

Maja
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Condesa
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyable meal. I enjoyed my steak very much. And the decor is also very nice. A little on the pricey side, but it was worth it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    13
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Breeze, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were looking for a new and exciting dining experience and found it at Maja. Beautifully restored interior with intimate feel for our large group. Very attentive staff, menus in both Spanish and English, very unique food selections and reasonable prices! A very pleasant dining experience in the Roma neighborhood, just a few short blocks from our bed and breakfast. The owner, Artouro greeted us and made us feel so welcome. We will return every trip back to Mexico City! Thanks Maja!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent jewel in MC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Alrhough a bit upscale for my normal budget, the food and ambiance was great.

Appetizer was Oxtail in peppers with a pureed red pepper sauce.

Entree was a bbq octopus over cooked potato wedges.

Helpful?
Thank BowleyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!! Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Mexico! The Chef seems to know what she is doing, as every single dish that we tried was superb! Highly recommend trying a delicious tomato soup, followed by some tapas of different sorts and ending with the amazing Ox Tail meet! It might not sound super appealing, but it is an amazing dish! The waiter was telling us that it takes up to 36 hours to prepare. It's really worth it!

Besides the food, the restaurant is cozy, very nice decoration and great service from the waiters and everyone working at the restaurant!

If you are in Mexico City visit Maja and you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paulsarfati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
“A good place for spanish-style food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Delicious food in a beautiful setting. The personal is also very nice, and it is not very noisy. I could highly recommand it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeoGorodesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maja also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing