We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hmm...”
Review of Hotel La Selva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Selva
Ranked #84 of 154 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“hmm...”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

It was an adventure to sleep there, indeed:) The hotel staff is very nice. The dirt in our room was unacceptable; old furniture (usually I don't mind but...it seems taken from trash), scary carpet with black bits stuck to it...it seemed as if only thing that was cleaned was bed area (bed linen was also clean). Located close to Chabacano metro station - is definitely an advantage - though area isn't pleasant after dark. I think name of the hotel refers to jungle of dirt;)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myadesignstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    12
    6
    9
See reviews for
3
17
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013

really, i have not a bad word to say about this hotel. the beds are super clean as is the rest of the room. food is cheap and handy. the management are really accomodating and are full of advice and are very friendly. it is super cheap! this is by far the cheapest accomodation i have found in df and surpasses most of the others i have stayed. i would definitely recomment this hotel to anybody staying in df for layover or a while.

Room Tip: there is a bit of an echo, like most hotels in mexico so better if you're not on the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niamhinthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hotel La Selva is in a great location within five minutes of a metro station. It is the bare bones, as you can imagine from a hotel of this price! It was partly under construction so it wasn't the most beautiful of hotels, and was definitely a budget hotel! The staff were lovely, but they did not speak any English. There were hardly any other mainstream tourists there. However it's handy location more than makes up for all of it's downsides if you are just planning on sleeping in the hotel. I would definitely go back there if I was in Mexico City again, but if you are expecting anything other than a basic bedroom then it is not for you! The hotel is near a metro and a main road and as such there is some noise but if you get a room upstairs it is minimal.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room on the ground floor near the reception. Paying extra is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _joflakess_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was there on last September attracted by the price I was on a tight budget and the location is relatively good.

PROS
Price affordable but maybe you can find something better for the price I pay 350 MXP for the renewed Suite.

CONS
By disgrace is also used for stopovers so that even is business for them sometimes the customers seems not so safe persons.
The carpet needs urgent replacement and the regular rooms better to keep it close maybe i was on the wrong wing.

Conclusion, great location, great potential excellent service but urgently needs an strong investment for renovation so they really can use the potential of the Hotel at full.

PD the bulletproof window on the administration seems scary...

Room Tip: ask for the suites otherwise you wil find at not so nice surprise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Mora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opole, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed in hotel for a one night. I booked basic room (cheaper), but because of something (no idea what) i received room deluxe, of course without any extra pay ;) Room and bathroom renovated, huge bed with nice pillows and blankets, big lcd tv on the wall with about 20 tv and radio channels. Everything was perfect for me! Hotel is situated 1 minute walk from metro station. Close to hotel is a supermarket, restaurant and some food sellers on the street. I really enjoyed my visit in Hotel La Selva. Trully recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pablitoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

At about $10 a night I was a little concerned about this hotel. But the manager Javier couldn't have been nicer, the room is clean with crisp sheets and soft towels, they found me a pillow to suit me and the location is great - a few steps from the metro, 3 stops from the heart of town and very close to a large supermarket. They even sent an employee with me to show me the shops and accompany me back as it was getting dark. They have a nice area where you can eat and relax, and free WIFI is included. This is a great find and I don't hesitate to recommend it. The price is about the same as a dorm room but here you have a private room with bathroom.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front can be noisy with traffic, room 210 is quiet and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Hotel Principal
Hotel Principal
#131 of 310 in Mexico City
257 reviews
Hotel Mexicali
#248 of 310 in Mexico City
16 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Fornos
Hotel Fornos
#103 of 310 in Mexico City
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Universal
#178 of 310 in Mexico City
33 reviews
New York Hotel
#202 of 310 in Mexico City
84 reviews
Coyoacan
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#199 of 310 in Mexico City
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Selva

Property: Hotel La Selva
Address: Calzada Chabacano 7 | Calzada Chabacano 7, Mexico City 06850, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel La Selva 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Selva Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing