We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good bar ”
Review of Jules Basement

Jules Basement
Ranked #3 of 97 Nightlife in Mexico City
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A good bar ”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

A good bar with a wide range of great cocktails. The one I ordered was yummy. It's quite small and not unlike a bar you might find in London. It was nice to see a different side to Mexico City.

Helpful?
2 Thank PS1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    23
    6
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great underground concept.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

If you into hardcore cocktails, so, this is the place.
Just Benito a typical Mexican restaurant, you will find a world taken out of the hottest scene in New York.

The place is small, the music is great, and the invitation is personally.

By the way, the entrance is from the la surtidura restaurant.

The bartender skills are "off the chain", tell them to do you the home mixes.

Enjoy

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sagivamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must in Mexico, City. Polanco”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Incredible place. A must!! The entrance is just the start of your experience!! Verryyyy original. Excelent service! Did I say original?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mavm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I went out on a date to this secret spot hidden inside what appears to be the large refrigerator of a restaurant. The date went really well. The music is chill but upbeat, the mood is relaxed but fun and the whole setting is different from other places. It's a good idea to reserve before going.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Meet Me In The Basement!!!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Good News!! Mexico City has a very elite and trendy speakeasy. In traditional speakeasy fashion, the bar is hidden and can only be accessed by invitation.

I'll give you a hint: it's in Polanco!

When we arrived, the Rich Kids of Instagram were having a singing, drinking, hugging, crying birthday party. We settled in at the bar and started making friends with the mixologist. It wasn’t hard: the mixologist, or bartender was passionate about his job. I don't know about you, but for me, there is noting more captivating than spending the evening chatting with someone who loves what he does. He showed us the bitters. The booze. The infusions the different people on staff had made. These guys liked mixology so much, that one of them brought some special infusions they had created before the bar even opened last January!

As the night progressed, we made friends with the DJ. We talked chemistry with the mixologist. We got the low down on purchasing bitters in Mexico (you can’t), the different alcohols available at the bar (one of the co-owners makes one of the mezcals available), and the best and worst ways to infuse a liquor (patience is key). Their cocktail menu is super.

All in all it was a grand time.

I would definitely return.

The team the bar has assembled are super. The cheese plate was tasty. And the bar itself was beautiful, intimate and fun.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank OrangeMarigolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jules Basement also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Jules Basement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing