We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (658)
Filter reviews
658 results
Traveler rating
196
227
127
60
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
196
227
127
60
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar private room great location shared bathroom metro station light sleeper free breakfast metropolitan cathedral templo mayor yogurt top floor enjoyed my stay city partying plugs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 658 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2018

Stayed for four nights last week. Location was great,right behind of the Metropolitan cathedral,and lots of cheap places to eat.Historical ruins of Templo Mayor is just a minute walk. Staffs were nice.beds are old,especially the pillows.we were staying in a four beds dorm on second floor.we had to share the bathroom with another four beds dorm next door.they got warm water there in the shower,but at night time, to get the warm water,you need to run the water so many times to get it warm.cuz the shower is funny,every one minute it stops,and you need to push the shower button again between the valves.you do that when the water stop running when showering.towel is upon request,and there is a 50 pesos deposit.which is okay.sheets are very old and thin.they give them to you when check in.they don’t clean the bathroom,only removed the garbage.and there’s no bath mat in the bathroom stall,so it gets wet every time someone finishes with the shower.There’s a rooftop bar,so be ready with earplugs.and they have a kitchen on 5th floor,with a nice balcony overlooking the cathedral.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Christianto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral is the perfect place to stay in an extremely central part of Mexico City. Near many cultural attractions. It has a train stop within walking distance. There is food and drink all around. The turn of every corner has something new.

If you just want to chill Mundo Joven is excellent for that too. Lots of places inside to relax. There is actually a restaurant inside. The food is affordable and delicious. Upstairs on the roof; the bar opens at night. From there you can sample mescal and see the city light up and gorgeous.

Date of stay: July 2017
Thank feason99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

Only positive the location and the price. Rooms were extremely hot, no a/c and broken fans. Staff were nice but disorganized and the restaurant, although they give a free breakfast, the food was horrible, and the especiale tacos tasted like it came out of a dog food can. It took 1 hour to serve the dog food tacos. The rooftop bar was nice and great view and Abraham was by far the best staff member who went above and beyond and gives great walking tours. Overall look elsewhere.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2018 via mobile

I stayed during summer. Location is great since it's right in the center of the city.

The staff is nice but they're a bit weird. I never felt that "home" feeling that some hostels give you.

The rooms are little ovens. The first two nights I was on a bottom bunk and my room had one little fan. I can't imagine how terrible it would have been if there had been 6 people in there and one single floor fan. The third night I transferred over to a room with 4 people and no fan. Luckily for me that night it was cold enough outside to cool off the oven we were sleeping in. Seriously this hostel needs to install some ventilation.

The beds are ok in the comfort departmen. Each bed has two outlets and a sleeping lamp which is nice and should be standard at all hostels. No curtains however. Cleanliness was normal.

There are bathrooms inside some of the rooms and some have outside bathrooms.

The kitchen/common area is pretty small and uninviting in my opinion. They've got a large and nice terrace, but I wasnt able to go there in the day to see if it was a nice hang out spot because they were doing some kind of maintenance.

At night the rooftop is a bar which I suppose is nice if you're into that.

The breakfast was adequate for something included.

The showers are nice as they get hot (unlike some hostels in Mexico city).

Overall I wish they'd put more effort into the ambiance and socializing aspect of their hostel because if I hadn't gone on to the rooftop bar I would have thought there were only two other people in the hostel.

I probably won't stay here unless all the other hostels are too expensive.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Omartaquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018

Location cant get better. Staff is great and speak good English. But its extremely noisy, you can barely sleep at night. There's a rooftop bar with music all night. If they can make it more peaceful, it could be one of the best places to stay for backpackers.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews