We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Nearby Hotels
$212
$203
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$269
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$82
$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$330
$290
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$105
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Zocalo Central(Mexico City)
$153
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (622)
Filter reviews
622 results
Traveler rating
186
223
117
57
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
223
117
57
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop bargreat locationguacamolethe security guardbed dormmetro stationprivate bathroomlight sleeperyogurtwi fibreakfast includedenjoyed my stayvisit to mexico citycathedralcomputerspartyingpeso
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 622 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there only 1 night and my impression of the hostal was that is a great place to stay for a fair price, the location is just awesome, the staff is really helpfull and friendly, the breakfast is ok, it has a great roof bar were I had a great night, overall is very good and I defenitly come back to the same hostal in my next visit to Mexico city.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emrgcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Plus points: Friendly staff, convenient location, rooftop bar, safe and secure

Minus points: Really noisy and rooms like a sweatbox - no fan and windows looking over a noisy internal atrium. You can choose peace or a breeze but not both! Breakfast was terrible also. Not that great value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Likes

Great location for the city centre for walking, access to buses, tours, metro and shopping. Good tours operated by Wayak tours with desk at hostel. Great rooftop bar location with very affordable drinks. Staff at front desk and bar area friendly and knowledgable.


Dislikes

Private room with ensuite very small only able to fit double bed and no room for suitcases. Very noisy due to atrium design of hostel. Very hot at night due to no ventilation or fans. Roof top bar in desperate need of upgrading and potentially dangerous fittings and fixtures.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToTravelToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This place has a great location, right next to the Zocalo in the Centro Historico. You leave the hostel to immediately see breakdancers, Aztec dancers, people reading Tarot cards, artesans selling their crafts, the beautiful architecture of nearby buildings, protests, and more. It is true that there is always the buzzing of music and late night chatter, but come on! You're in the biggest city in the world! How can you expect complete silence at any time of day?

The staff is incredible, and the planned outings are very worthwhile.

The rooftop terrace has an breathtaking view, and the cheapest beers around. Most nights have a dynamic bar scene.

The breakfast is not worth mentioning.
I find the rate to be a little expensive. If I did it again, I would couchsurf or stay in a hostel that was cheaper in one of the other neighborhoods. Tip: If you know you are going to stay for 5 days, ask for the deal, I believe the fifth night is free, but you have to reserve the 5 nights in advance...they wont give you the opportunity if you pay night by night.

This place seems ideal for young backpackers who are looking for partying and socializing with other world travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caleb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hostel its amazing.
I had a wonderful time there, the place has a great location.
The people that work there are amazing.
- 24 hours recepction and a nice kitchen.
- The bar is the best in downtown.
- The rooms are very clean.

Definitely I'll be back.
Thanks

Room Tip: Get to know the staff, you will love them¡¡¡
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews