We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXTRAORDINARY PLACE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
“EXTRAORDINARY PLACE”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hostel its amazing.
I had a wonderful time there, the place has a great location.
The people that work there are amazing.
- 24 hours recepction and a nice kitchen.
- The bar is the best in downtown.
- The rooms are very clean.

Definitely I'll be back.
Thanks

Room Tip: Get to know the staff, you will love them¡¡¡
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    192
    101
    48
    20
See reviews for
25
119
185
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a long and detailed review... sorry. Read it to save yourself some cash & stress or scroll to the bottom for the glossy bits.

This place is an embarrassment to the hostel scene.

Paid for 2 nights in a private room in this joint and was kept awake on the first night until 4:30am by other guests chatting, partying playing music etc. Early risers then clunked about around 5am and to cap it all off the kitchen (ground floor) began doing its thing at 6ish. - not just preparing breakfast type noises but also shouting and laughing.

The open plan rotunda-style layout of this place with the restaurant and communal area on the ground floor means that the tiniest of noises will drift upwards towards the bedrooms + dorms and will easily penetrate the thin wooden shutters which is all that separates you from everything else. You will also be surrounded by other dorms / rooms.

My polite complaint to the night shift guy that he should exercise a little control over the noisy guests fell on deaf ears, he promised to relay the complaint on to the manager, which he didn't. The manager 'Jorge' when he arrived didn't seem to give a sh1t either and demonstrated his arrogance by calling me a liar and claiming that there couldn't have been any noise as they employ a night security guard who 'maintains silence'. Bu11sh1t. To compound the issue I was refused any sort of compensation (to which I feel I was entitled having paid for a service and received nothing... if you get bad food and bad service in a restaurant you get comped or at the very least discounted) Instead I was offered a plethora of excuses, denial and a weak obligatory apology.

I was begrudgingly granted a refund for my next night as though he was doing me a favour (because "we don't normally do this")!!! What you mean a refund for the night i haven't had yet? Geee thanks. Arrogance and audacity at its very best. I spoke to several other guests that morning who commented on the noise too.

I understand this is a hostel and not a hotel and a little noise is to be expected. Partying & excessive noise until 6am is completely selfish and unacceptable by any standards.

If you're looking for a nights kip, avoid this place. The rooms are clean enough but small, dingy, roasting hot with no fans and zero ventilation (unless you fancy opening the shutters and exposing yourself to 150 other people and the noise) even then there is no fresh air.

Didn't stick around for breakfast, couldn't wait to check into another place but it looked ok. Long queue fir the toaster! How they seat 150 odd people in there for brek I do not know.

Last moan - Was also short changed in the restaurant for lunch when I arrived. My change arrived 50pesos short, i approached the waiter to question him and he took 50 pesos out of his top pocket, smiled and apologised! ? WTF?!?Claimed it was a mistake. Sure.

Good bits:

- Tanya on reception. Very polite helpful and friendly. Although the poor girl looked embarrassed whilst watching Jorge demonstrate his poor management skills in trying to deal with the situation.

- Roof terrace bar - cool views, cheap beer and friendly bar staff.

- Location. Excellent ... Bang in the middle of it all.

That's about it for good stuff. Spend a few pesos extra and check into one of the many other places scattered about Centro Histórico. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels and hostels all over the world over the years, this place is right down the bottom somewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossco79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime A, General Manager at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. Indeed, your threats of writing a bad review were true. We are really sorry for your bad experience staying with us. Although we must say that you complained about the noise after 7 am in the morning. As you say, if you do not like the food in a restaurant you might not pay, but not after you ate it. You never complained thatt night (you were at the bar big part of it). We deal with complaints in a professional manner, but will never comply with threats of bad reviews just because you wanted to sleep for free. This is not how we work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The rooms are ok, the breakfest is good and the restaurant too (I ate tacos and it was really good).
The location is great. It is in the Catedral's square, right in the middle of Mexico City. And it is really close to the subway.
It has internet and the staff is helpfull.
But it is not a fun place. The isn't parties or happy hours.
The bathrooms are not very clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marianarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hostel is well situated near the Zocalo. The staff were helpful, friendly and spoke perfect English. The showers always had hot water and in our private room the bin in the bathroom was emptied daily. The rooms we saw were nice (we had to move rooms, and then we got upgraded) and the beds comfortable.
The only downside is that due to the riad style layout the central area is can be very noisy, so it is difficult to sleep before 10pm (jetlag) we were also woken up a few times by revellers coming back in the early hours but the staff were quick to tell them to be quiet

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamhayeswilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great atmosphere, nice view from the roof and friendly people. Nice place to enjoy a cold beer and meet other travellers. Would definetly recommend. Personnel speaks english. Access to hotel is secured with magnetic cards. There is a public restaurant on the first floor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I arrived at the hostel late night, wasnt feeling great. Checkin took an age, given bedding to make up our own beds. If only the bedding fit! We weren't given any clear times or directions for any of the services provided.

The wifi is TERRIBLE you'll spend more time re entering the password than using the connection. And 80% of the time shows as an incorrect password. I re entered it that much i can remember it three days later 8E1C420881.

The restaurant and breakfast is poor standard. Two toasters and 20 people waiting to eat. Not enough chairs to sit and eat at breakfast either. Id estimate that the entire place can sleep 150 people, but its services are that of a 30 bed hostel.

Its only redeeming advantages are good secure lockers, bring your own padlock, and central location.

Theres no comfortable common area to sit and meet people, you have to use the bar, and for some people that isnt how they meet up.

The key card i was given constantly failed and i had to get 4 re issues in 2 days due to being unable to get into my room.

Do not book one of the hostel tours, they are very over priced and a rip off.

I wouldnt return here again, its all pretend comfort.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N1ck_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have been too many hostels and this is by far one of the best we have ever stayed at! The location was fantastic (just behind the zocalo and cathedral). The room was clean and spacious, the showers were hot. The girl at the hostel spoke great English and was very helpful. Also gave us some great eating and drinking recommendations. Great place to meet other travellers too ;-) The only downside is that the kitchen is a tad on the small side and gets rather over-crowded!
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is staying in Mexico City!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merrillemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
638 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#11 of 306 in Mexico City
1,308 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 306 in Mexico City
2,428 reviews
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#3 of 206 in Mexico City
387 reviews
Centro Historico
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
#4 of 206 in Mexico City
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Property: Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Address: Republica de Guatemala No. 4 | Centro Historico, Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 206 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral 2*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing