We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hostel is well situated near the Zocalo. The staff were helpful, friendly and spoke perfect English. The showers always had hot water and in our private room the bin in the bathroom was emptied daily. The rooms we saw were nice (we had to move rooms, and then we got upgraded) and the beds comfortable.
The only downside is that due to the riad style layout the central area is can be very noisy, so it is difficult to sleep before 10pm (jetlag) we were also woken up a few times by revellers coming back in the early hours but the staff were quick to tell them to be quiet

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamhayeswilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    192
    101
    48
    20
See reviews for
25
119
185
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great atmosphere, nice view from the roof and friendly people. Nice place to enjoy a cold beer and meet other travellers. Would definetly recommend. Personnel speaks english. Access to hotel is secured with magnetic cards. There is a public restaurant on the first floor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I arrived at the hostel late night, wasnt feeling great. Checkin took an age, given bedding to make up our own beds. If only the bedding fit! We weren't given any clear times or directions for any of the services provided.

The wifi is TERRIBLE you'll spend more time re entering the password than using the connection. And 80% of the time shows as an incorrect password. I re entered it that much i can remember it three days later 8E1C420881.

The restaurant and breakfast is poor standard. Two toasters and 20 people waiting to eat. Not enough chairs to sit and eat at breakfast either. Id estimate that the entire place can sleep 150 people, but its services are that of a 30 bed hostel.

Its only redeeming advantages are good secure lockers, bring your own padlock, and central location.

Theres no comfortable common area to sit and meet people, you have to use the bar, and for some people that isnt how they meet up.

The key card i was given constantly failed and i had to get 4 re issues in 2 days due to being unable to get into my room.

Do not book one of the hostel tours, they are very over priced and a rip off.

I wouldnt return here again, its all pretend comfort.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N1ck_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have been too many hostels and this is by far one of the best we have ever stayed at! The location was fantastic (just behind the zocalo and cathedral). The room was clean and spacious, the showers were hot. The girl at the hostel spoke great English and was very helpful. Also gave us some great eating and drinking recommendations. Great place to meet other travellers too ;-) The only downside is that the kitchen is a tad on the small side and gets rather over-crowded!
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is staying in Mexico City!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merrillemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at hostel cathedral and loved it.
The dorms are small so not too noisy. The showers work surprisingly well and I never had to wait for them. The rooftop bar is a good place to meet friends and the beet is cheap (16 pesos). Or you cn chill on the details k below with your own drinks. Fernando is a cool guy who does the walking tours and shows you around.
Check it out.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mykimike25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I still remember some of the staff after a month of traveling has passed. Thank you Fernando and Mel for showing me and my friends a good time on several occasions! I've stayed at a lot of hostels and this place had some of the best staff I've met. I also loved the rooftop bar and the big outdoor patio off the kitchen on the 5th floor. I'd stay here again, also an outstanding location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinConsults
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge T, General Manager at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Yeahhhhhh¡¡

We are glad you have a great time with us.

Save Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

we had a great time at hostel catedral! it is at a very central location and has a great rooftop terrace! we participated at the hostel activities and had lots of fun at guacamole night and at the free walking tour! both of them were hosted by fernando. he was really fun and did a great job in showing as around and had a perfect mixture between sightseeing and a fun tour with a couple of beer as well! he even helped us finding a market with cool souvenirs!

I can really recommend staying there!
the only downsides might be, that it is quite loud. but its in the center of crazy mexico city, so you better get used to it! the drinks at the rooftop terrace were ok. just the cocktails tasted like there wasnt any alcohol in it at all and when i ordered a double rum & coke it was just a little bit better, but twice the price. the wifi never really worked, no matter where we were in the hostel! so didnt the computers. the lobby area isnt very nice. the included breakfast was not worth getting up and at 2 seconds after 10 they put everything away!
overall it was a very good experience to stay there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Munich_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#11 of 306 in Mexico City
1,308 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
638 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 306 in Mexico City
2,427 reviews
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#3 of 206 in Mexico City
387 reviews
Centro Historico
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
#4 of 206 in Mexico City
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Property: Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Address: Republica de Guatemala No. 4 | Centro Historico, Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 206 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral 2*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing