We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the Zocalo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Right on the Zocalo”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This place has a perfect location, it allows you to walk around Mexico's downtown, where there's really a lot to see, and great places to eat, to shop and to party. Everything is walking distance and if not, you have a subway station one block away. The private rooms are quite small and a bit noisy, not too comfortable, but I guess that's what you get for that price. Wi-fi worked quite well and the guys at reception were very friendly and extremely helpful. Overall very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moniqx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    195
    104
    49
    23
See reviews for
25
123
188
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here at the spur of the moment after Amigo Suites wouldn't honour our Hostelbookers reservation, and it was the best decision we made! The location is fantastic, right behind the Zocalo, and our room had a great view of the cathedral and square (perfect for people-watching). The staff were so friendly and helpful, organising a great tour out to Teotihuacan, and accommodated our request for a private room with no trouble at all. The room was clean and comfortable, the ensuite was nice (and the shared showers down the hall were all clean and usually free), and the free breakfast was really good.
The best thing about our stay, though, was the pulque/tequila museum tour with Gibran! The man is a legend! So, so much fun! We had a blast hanging out and drinking with him, while getting to know Mexico City a bit better. It felt like hanging out with a local friend, rather than an organised tour with a guide. I highly recommend any tour with him!

This hostel loses out to the Amigo hostels a lot, and after staying at Amigo and trying to stay at Amigo Suites, I've say this kicks their butt! Great, great place.

Room Tip: Do the pulque/tequila tour with Gibran! The man is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The location is perfect! it's just in the downtown of Mexico city right behind the Cathedral church, there are two metro stations near the hoste within 10mins walking.The Rooms and bathroom are clean and staff are friendly. Breakfast contains: fruit,bread,coffee,yogurt it's basic but okay.The only thing can complain about is a little loud in the night.Maybe hard to sleep for light sleeper.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HM-Yu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I actually stayed there for the second time now and I have to say it is a good hostel. As I am not the person who is staying usually in hostels this one is a good one :-) Staff is very friendly and helpful. The hostel is clean, I stayed in a girls' dorm (very little) and we had to share bathroom with another girls' dorm, so in total 8 girls using one bathroom but it was fine. I imagined it to be harder. You have 3 computers you can use for free, free WIFI, it's safe.. the only thing what was a little annoying was that it is somehow noisy. I stayed at the 2nd floor and that was quite noisy. Last time I stayed on the 6th floor in mixed dorm with 6 persons and that was fine. Location of the hostel is great, it's right behind the Cathedral and Zocalo. You have Torre Latino and Bellas Artes nearby and also trainstation as busses.

Room Tip: rooms on higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sana_pdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I was very impressed with all facets of my stay, the value, cleanliness, friendliness and location of the Cathedral Hostel, building has Elevator, the included breakfast was good. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisawrightsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This Hostel is very nice and in a great part of Mexico City, right next to the main square and Metropolitan Cathedral. They offer a good value on tours as well. The hostel has private rooms also, but we stayed in a co-ed room for 6. Breakfast is also included and there is also a restaurant and a rooftop bar that has great views!
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the inside are a bit noisy, since they have a window that opens up to the middle and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Atitlan
Level Contributor
225 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I do not typically stay at hostels, but I found myself needing a place to stay on short notice. My flight connection did not happen, so I was in Mexico City for the night. I took the new MetroBus from the airport (another great deal), and went looking for a place for the night. I checked into the private rooms at Mundo Joven Hostel and was perfectly happy with the accommodations. I can recommend this to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayak-atitlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#12 of 305 in Mexico City
1,353 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 305 in Mexico City
712 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#6 of 305 in Mexico City
2,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Best Western Hotel Majestic
Best Western Hotel Majestic
#116 of 305 in Mexico City
442 reviews
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#4 of 214 in Mexico City
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Property: Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Address: Republica de Guatemala No. 4 | Centro Historico, Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral 2*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing