We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC hostel! So much better than Amigo!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here at the spur of the moment after Amigo Suites wouldn't honour our Hostelbookers reservation, and it was the best decision we made! The location is fantastic, right behind the Zocalo, and our room had a great view of the cathedral and square (perfect for people-watching). The staff were so friendly and helpful, organising a great tour out to Teotihuacan, and accommodated our request for a private room with no trouble at all. The room was clean and comfortable, the ensuite was nice (and the shared showers down the hall were all clean and usually free), and the free breakfast was really good.
The best thing about our stay, though, was the pulque/tequila museum tour with Gibran! The man is a legend! So, so much fun! We had a blast hanging out and drinking with him, while getting to know Mexico City a bit better. It felt like hanging out with a local friend, rather than an organised tour with a guide. I highly recommend any tour with him!

This hostel loses out to the Amigo hostels a lot, and after staying at Amigo and trying to stay at Amigo Suites, I've say this kicks their butt! Great, great place.

Room Tip: Do the pulque/tequila tour with Gibran! The man is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 572 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

The location is perfect! it's just in the downtown of Mexico city right behind the Cathedral church, there are two metro stations near the hoste within 10mins walking.The Rooms and bathroom are clean and staff are friendly. Breakfast contains: fruit,bread,coffee,yogurt it's basic but okay.The only thing can complain about is a little loud in the night.Maybe hard to sleep for light sleeper.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HM-Yu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I actually stayed there for the second time now and I have to say it is a good hostel. As I am not the person who is staying usually in hostels this one is a good one :-) Staff is very friendly and helpful. The hostel is clean, I stayed in a girls' dorm (very little) and we had to share bathroom with another girls' dorm, so in total 8 girls using one bathroom but it was fine. I imagined it to be harder. You have 3 computers you can use for free, free WIFI, it's safe.. the only thing what was a little annoying was that it is somehow noisy. I stayed at the 2nd floor and that was quite noisy. Last time I stayed on the 6th floor in mixed dorm with 6 persons and that was fine. Location of the hostel is great, it's right behind the Cathedral and Zocalo. You have Torre Latino and Bellas Artes nearby and also trainstation as busses.

Room Tip: rooms on higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sana_pdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I was very impressed with all facets of my stay, the value, cleanliness, friendliness and location of the Cathedral Hostel, building has Elevator, the included breakfast was good. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Lisawrightsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This Hostel is very nice and in a great part of Mexico City, right next to the main square and Metropolitan Cathedral. They offer a good value on tours as well. The hostel has private rooms also, but we stayed in a co-ed room for 6. Breakfast is also included and there is also a restaurant and a rooftop bar that has great views!
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the inside are a bit noisy, since they have a window that opens up to the middle and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I do not typically stay at hostels, but I found myself needing a place to stay on short notice. My flight connection did not happen, so I was in Mexico City for the night. I took the new MetroBus from the airport (another great deal), and went looking for a place for the night. I checked into the private rooms at Mundo Joven Hostel and was perfectly happy with the accommodations. I can recommend this to others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayak-atitlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

This was the best place to stay in D.F. We were right in the square close to the metro, food, tourist places, shopping, taxis. It was a great location. The rooms had lockers for your stuff and it was clean. Free Breakfast every morning. The hostel put on tours for you and it was fun to go with the hostel because we had a knowledgeable and fun tour guide and we made lots of friends. There is a computer and tv room, a restaurant in the hostel. The staff were friendly and gave great recommendations of where to eat. This place made our stay so awesome. I wouldn't have done it any other way.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#4 of 232 in Mexico City
426 reviews
Centro Historico
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
#6 of 232 in Mexico City
326 reviews
Centro Historico
Downtown Beds
Downtown Beds
#25 of 232 in Mexico City
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel Suites DF
#3 of 232 in Mexico City
223 reviews
CDMX Hostel Art Gallery
#7 of 232 in Mexico City
52 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostal Centro Historico Regina
Hostal Centro Historico Regina
#19 of 232 in Mexico City
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Address: Republica de Guatemala No. 4 | Centro Historico, Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 232 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range: $11 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral 2*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing