We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious but not bad”
Review of W Mexico City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Mexico City
Ranked #27 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
lcastanon
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pretentious but not bad”
Reviewed September 23, 2007

Went to mexico city on business, stayed at the W which is one of the more trendy hotels in the area. I've been to W hotels and I'm aware of the designery queues so it was no suprise this was the case here. It was a welcome change considering how rough Mexico City is, its a real contrast in how different social classes enjoy the city.

checkin was uneventful, staff was very helpful and i was in my room in no time.

The room is a pretty good size, the shower / bathroom has no doors on it to seperate it as a new room, rather instead they take up the end of the room with a floor to ceiling window with the mexico city landscape. It takes some getting used to and actually it was problematic on the first day because i like to take really hot showers and before i knew it the whole room was steamed up. So much so that the fire alarm went off.. oops.
It was rather embarassing but apparently it happens on occasion so the staff came up but they werent all that alarmed.

The decor had some nice touches.
It felt like a modern design that was actually modern and not the fake modern that cheaper hotels claim to fake on you.

The shower had a hammock in it .. im not sure what that was all about but it had a wall of jets and it was a surreal experience showering with a huge window overlooking the city in the distance. The bed was really comfortable, its very low to the ground tho so if you have bad knees or something its probably not going to be to your liking.

Everything is overpriced as expected, the bar area had some beautiful but very snobby patrons. On business this didnt bother me much but as a tourist i'd probably be really turned off.
You really get turned off from feeling comfortable.

The restaurant had some good food. It wasnt as pricey as I expected and the food was quite good.

Overall, i wouldnt stay here as a tourist however if i am there on business it is a step above on where you could be staying.

I wasnt that fond of mexico city in general.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank lcastanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    310
    139
    50
    29
See reviews for
61
254
55
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

This was a nice surprise. The "W" is a modern hotel, with a unique décor, and excellent service. The attention to details is everywhere, from the music playing in the CD player when you first enter the room, to the open plan shower room. For the first time in several years, on a business trip, I had a pleasant and exciting stay in a hotel. The location is very good, everything feels contemporary, and it would be perfect placed near, or within, the Tate Modern. The food is very good, and the staff very courteous and helpful - they opened the business centre for me at 03:00 AM local time (09:00 AM in London), so that I could access the internet. That is outstanding, and it was done with a smile. The unique décor may be a bit tiring, so I am not sure if I would go for a very long stay, but for any trips under 10 days the “W” is my choice of hotel in Mexico City.

  • Liked — The decor and the service
  • Disliked — Nothing worth mentioning
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

I stayed for one night at the W and all I can say is that I did not want to leave. Plush beds, spacious rooms, good spa, excellent (but pricey) food... but the best part was the service. Security was top notch, bellemn always helped, room service was quick and extremely efficient and housekeeping was excellent. The design of the room is very modern and I loved the hammock in the shower and triple head shower. Only thing I was not crazy about was the red walls, but the bed was so maazing you fall asleep quickly. I booked through otel.com and had no issues. I will go back for sure!

  • Liked — Service, the bed, the spa, location
  • Disliked — Red walls and lighting in the room was a bit dark for my taste
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JeannetteTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2007

After a grim stay at the W in the Maldives we reluctantly booked into
this hotel in Mexico for a couple of nights. We werent sure whether to go to the fourseasons or the W, both basic rooms being the same price (£100 rm pn) - but were very glad that we stayed here.

It was clean and efficient, the staff were helpful, the bar was buzzy, & it was in a 'safe neighbourhood' where we could stroll around quite easily. We were upgraded to a suite on the 21st floor - which had a giant ceiling to floor glass window along the side of the room - giving both the circular bathtub and the loo - the most amazing view out across mexico city.

Annoyingly there were two complimentary bottles of champagne - when we would have preferred water - and the restaurant was completely devoid of atmosphere. But they werent big problems - and there are so many great restaurants in the City there is no need to stay confined to your hotel.

We went to a restaurant called - el Bajio - which is a minutes walk away - on the same street as the hotel - and had an excellent lunch of great mexican food. Certainly worth a visit - and make sure you make a reservation as its always packed (NB - its only open for breaksfast and lunch).

The W - definatly works in a city setting and for a two day base - it was perfect.

  • Liked — location & bar
  • Disliked — lack of complimentary bottled water
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank FMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2007

We stayed here for a few days in December 2006 and would come back. We liked how the hotel is in a safe area and close to great restaurants, the hammock in the bathroom, the friendly and helpful service, and the fun restaurant/bar in the lobby and mezzanine floor. The complimentary refreshments, xmas cookies and hot beverages, in the lobby were also a nice touch. We weren't crazy about the red and white walls in our room.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HopingThisHelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morelia, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2007

My wife give me a great birthday present: a weekend stay at the trendy W Mexico City. We took advantage of the special weekend low rates (199 dlls per night) and the hotel really was worth the trip to Mexico City (we live at Morelia, Michoacan, a three hours trip by car). The W is brand new, located at the stylish Polanco neighborhood, just across Chapultepec Park. The staff is friendly (all dressed in black at the front desk and the bellboys), the architecture and interior design is minimalist, the rooms are quite different from the usual hotel rooms: they are loft style, with the bathroom integrated to the rest of the room (the washbasin is actually in front of the bed), and very well equipped. The service is superb: newspaper at your door in the morning, two changes of towels daily, bathrobes, slippers, wine glasses and even a hammock to relax in the bathroom. And with the whatever whenever concierge service you can get almost anything you want in Mexico City.
There are a lot of atractions near the hotel: museums, the sofisticated shops at Mazaryk Avenue, new and trendy malls (Antara), fancy restaurants and a wide array of night clubs. We deffinitely recommend the W.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank YV24122015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2006

My partner and I stayed at the W in December of 2006, visiting Mexico City for pleasure. The staff was very friendly and professional, and the room very beautiful and comfortable. The restaurant was one of the better I've been to in a W hotel, and the Sunday brunch was particularly innovative, offering a vast array of basic ingredients from which one could create many different dishes like salads, sandwiches and side dishes to go along with a main dish chosen from a menu. The design of the hotel throughout is well done. The property is now 3 years old and it is already starting to show some wear in the public areas. Overall though, it's still a beautiful hotel and very nicely appointed.

Our biggest let down was with the concierge. We are vegetarians, so the concierge in a new city is important for us. We were were given one option (Thai Gardens) that we found to be awful (through no fault of the concierge though). Then we asked for, and checked back two more times, for a menu from a local restaurant that they said they could get for us. It never materialized and we only got excuses. We found the lack of knowledge and lack of interest in following-up on issues to be contrary to the way most W concierges work.

One other thing that chapped my hide was that they charge for bottled water, when they advise that you don't drink from the taps. I've been in several much more economical hotels in this country that include plenty of drinking water for free. We were charged over MXN $100 for drinking water during our stay, and I think it would be a better move to raise the room rates by a few bucks to throw in some "complimentary" drinking water.

All that being said, we'll be back. It's a fun place, they make great cocktails at the bar, and the staff, even if not frighteningly efficient and knowledgeable like that of most W hotels, was professional and very friendly.

  • Liked — Solea Restaurant brunch, salads and desserts, comfortable W beds, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Underwhelming concierge
  • Tips/Secrets — Do your own research on restaurants if you're a vegetarian! In the area, try Saks and La Tierra Buena.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank iamcrispydammit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#9 of 310 in Mexico City
1,095 reviews
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#12 of 310 in Mexico City
1,980 reviews
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
#10 of 310 in Mexico City
1,328 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#18 of 310 in Mexico City
1,232 reviews
The St. Regis Mexico City
#8 of 310 in Mexico City
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Mexico City

Property: W Mexico City
Address: Campos Eliseos 252, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#20 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#33 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#39 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#48 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Mexico City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
w Hotels Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing