We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Mexico City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Mexico City
Ranked #28 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed at the W in Nov/Dec 2012. I have this is one of the trendy and quirky hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff very super helpful and the rooms were mordern and bright. The hammock in the bathroom was a nice touch to chill out and look out over the city. This hotel is well situated in the hotel district next to many other international hotel chains, making the area safe to walk around. There are also a number of amazing restaurants within 10 minutes walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience_Manager, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Michael K
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments .

We at W strive to make each guest experience memorable and pleasant, and it is always nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again really soon.

Regards,

Luz Madrid
W Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    262
    129
    45
    26
See reviews for
55
204
52
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I was a bit suspicious of this hotel. Actually I am suspicious of most W hotels being that I am in my 40's and tend to not totally get the "ultra hip" vibe that W's put out. Also was a bit nervous about many comments on noise from the club downstairs and the patrons. But in the end with a little planning my worries were removed and this turned out to be a very nice hotel.

First of all let me address the Whiskey Club issue... Really this is just a neat bar in the lobby of the hotel. This bar does seem to host an endless stream of corp events and as such is pretty popular with the fancy mexico city crowd (this means lots of suburbans out front and drivers waiting around). But the noise was a non issue for me. I contacted Luz in advance to express a desire for a quiet room and this was taken care of with a high floor corner room... no noise issues at all. Thanks Luz!

The room was huge... with the noted hammock bathroom thing. Truth be told I am not sure about the hammock near (not under) the rainshower.... seems like it would make some sense under the rainshower but try as I might, there was no real way to sit in the hammock and shower at the same time. This begs the question...why is there a hammock in the shower. Not to mention the fact that the marble floor would not be the best thing to fall on for those who have difficulty getting into hammocks.. So..ok points for concept, perhaps a little different execution or explanation would have been helpful... Very interesting design room nice beds and everything you can ask for (Safe, Iron, Water, comfy bed).... The only issue I could possibly detect is there are some dark spots in the room, especially near the black wall by the TV which could have used some lighting...

My rate included Internet and it worked without issue on multiple devices....

No in room coffee service but a request for a wake up call comes with coffee and any request for coffee can be taken care of in 10 mins or less which is much better in my opinion than weak in room coffee....

Breakfast was ok... actually for the included cold buffett a huge variety of choices including some warm items... cavier, champagne... nice.! If you eat in the restaurant I highly recommend the duck tacos...

Front desk, bellman, concierge all very friendly. They are very helpful in arranging transportation. For those not used to it, the default choice is hotel transport but this will cost you nearly double a radio taxi.... the bellman have no issues getting a radio taxi so just ask..

Minor quibble... the week I was there they held a lot of events... (Google, HP, M&M's) in the meeting rooms on the 2nd and 3rd Floors. There are only 3 very small elevators so sometimes it gets crowded or backed up when the events are going on...

But location, service and amenities make this a hotel not to shy away from even if you are a little less than hip...

Room Tip: High Floor Corner Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank execplatscum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience_Manager, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay with us and choosing W as your home away from home

Dear Execplatscum

Thank you for the great feedback you have provided. This level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences.

In all the W hotels The Living Room replaces the Lobby and a particularity is that every evening becomes Bar!
The hammock is a very special accessory in Mexican culture and is closely related to rest and sleep a little nap, is located especially in that place to enjoy the view.... before, after or during the shower :)

Execplatscum it will be a pleasure to welcome you once again in the near future. If I can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best Regards

Luz Madrid
W Experience Manager
luz.madrid@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel almost every year for the past 9 years for business and it has always been a pleasure. The staff is Excellent, all of them from the doormen to the front desk to the concierge - excellent (especially Rogelio and Berenice)! They all go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect. Since its a W, the hotel itself is very modern with great amenities. The beds are incredibly comfortable which is important after a long flight and long meetings. All of their products are from the Bliss Spa so they are all awesome. The location is wonderful, right in the heart of Polanco close to shops and restaurants. The lobby becomes a very happening bar after happy hour with lots of people, music etc however you do not hear any of this in the rooms so no worries. I would highly recommed this hotel for business travelers, it is very convenient and they have great car service!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mga001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience_Manager, Gerente at W Mexico City, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear mmga001
Huge thanks for your comments and loyalty to W Mexico City!!

You make us us very happy reading that you enjoyed our instalations.
Receive warm greatting from the entire W team and a big hug from Berenice and Rogelio.

We look forward to see you soon!!

Luz Madrid
W Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

There is a lot to like about the W Mexico City and it is a good choice for a tourist and also for business.

One of the highlights is its location in Mexico's Polanco neighborhood. You are only a few minutes walk to the heart of the Polanco, and some of the excellent restaurants there like Dulce Patria and Dulcnea. There is good shopping nearby too, all within a few minutes walk. To the other direction, you have the enormous park and museums.

I stayed multiple times and found the staff to be very helpful, whether it was to secure taxis, book tours or get restaurant suggestions.

I liked the gym and spa at the hotel too. The spa is very luxurious although slightly on the expensive side. The gym is very nice though a little small. It does have a nice mix of machines to use and is well maintained.

The rooms are very inventive. Most of the fabulous rooms and similar have the shower area located by the windows, which is different, and during the day they lay out a hammock to relax in. I was surprised by this but it is actually rather relaxing.

Food at the Solinea restaurant is just okay, but there are some good items. In particular the guacamole is very good in-room or in the restaurant. With so many food options nearby, I wouldn't suggest eating at the hotel anyway. The outdoor terrace is a nice place for drinks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgofire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience_Manager, Gerente at W Mexico City, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Letsgofire

W will be waiting for you with open arms when return to Mexico, thanks for sharing your opinion and appreciate our services.

Warm greetings,

Luz Madrid
W Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was on a business trip, and after solving a minor problem with my reservation, everything went good. Staff is always there in case you need them. The bar in the living room is perfect to relax after a long day work. Very well located, near Hard Rock Cafe, Mexican Restaurant El Bajio,and plenty of other restaurants around.

Pros:
Location
Service
Shower
Great Bed
Air Condtioning

Cons:
Breakfast Buffet (Not enough options, you better order something from the menu)
Not free wi-fi in the rooms, just in the lobby and in Solea restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elgamero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience_Manager, Gerente at W Mexico City, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hola ELGAMERO

Tanks for you comments!!!
On behalf of the entire W team friendly greetings from Mexico ... we look forward to see you soon!!!

Luz Madrid
W Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We have spent two New Year's Eve at this hotel and it is fantastic. Great service at all times. Food is great both at restaurant and room service. It's a romantic hotel. And it's near lots of great restaurants walking distance. I would definitely go back for another new year.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yikesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luz M, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Yikexs
Thank you for your loyalty and for sharing your experience with us.
You're welcome to spend every new years with us!!!! We look foward to see you again, rest assure we will create the experience that you deserve.

Luz Madrid
W Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My hubby and I went to mexico city to see a concert that had been a life long dream of mine. Originally we were supposed to stay at Hotel Boutique Casa Vieja Mexico and they cancelled our reservation less then a week prior to our departure. Sooooo we decided to stay at the w and boy am i happy. It was stupendous and I said in my title. Service was amazing, the suites were to die for. Absolutely beautiful rooms. The food was great. It was absolutely stunning. Its an expensive place but its worth every penny. A great location and a great place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aoife j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luz M, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Aoife

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We are glad you had a memorable experience, we will share your opinion with our team and make sure to continue creating unique experiences.
We hope to see you in the near future at W Mexico City.


Luz Madrid
W Manager Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#7 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 919 reviews
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#10 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,399 reviews
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#1 of 305 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
The St. Regis Mexico City
#5 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#11 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Mexico City

Property: W Mexico City
Address: Campos Eliseos 252, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#17 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#33 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#40 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#49 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Mexico City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your W Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
w Hotels Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing