We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing change of pace”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of W Mexico City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Mexico City
Ranked #29 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Refreshing change of pace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I travel to Mexico City frequently on business and always stay at hotels very close to the W, but had never stayed here before. I thought it was a nice change of pace! Yes, the music level in the bar can be loud and to the point of annoying if you are trying to have a conversation.

The shower is certainly different - mine was located outside of the room on the balcony (which was enclosed). Too me it was a fun experience and much appreciated after a long day of business. You do need to be careful getting out of the shower however as water tends to splatter everywhere and the floors are tile - which could easily result in a fall when slippery.

The hotel does need some improvements - the elevators especially need an update. My only real complaint would be the service at breakfast in the restaurant. There were lots of servers running around but it appeared completely disorganized. We had to repeatedly ask for napkins, coffee refills, creamer for the coffee etc. The breakfast buffet was a bit pricey but very comparable to neighboring hotels. There is a Starbucks across the street which is a good alternative.

The staff at check-in was superb - very efficient and accommodating.

The neighborhood is excellent -safe to walk around and an array of top-notch restaurants nearby.

A great change of pace to the usual corporate type of hotels where I usually stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauderdaleBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience_Manager, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear LauderdaleBud

Thanks for your feedback!
We are glad to hear that you had a fun and different experience in our hotel, our intention is to surprise our guests with memorable and unique experiences.
Also we appreciate the details, this will help us to improve some points and prepare to make your next visit even better.

Regards

Luz Madrid
Experiece Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    288
    139
    47
    28
See reviews for
60
236
54
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Have u ever had a siesta in your shower? This hotel has amazing rooms with unique hammock equipped showers overlooking Mexico City. Clean and upscale area, safe to walk at and with good food and drink options around. Overall amazing design and concept, only flaw the whatever attitude of staff which was at times bothersome.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thaneco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience_Manager, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Thaneco

On behalf of my team I offer you an apology for the annoying feleing transmitted by our staff during your stay, we want to improve and you can be sure we'll talk this point with our talents and reinforce as necessary.

Thanks for your feedback.
We look foward to see you at W Mexico City in the near future.

Luz Madrid
W Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The W has a reputation for being a little bit rock and roll and in many ways it was but think of a slightly faded, just a few hits rock star rather than a legendary class act.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable with an inventive range of snacks and accoutrements in rooms. Although there were no coffee making facilities in the room.

The bathroom was different and fun although there was gunk under the overflow in the bath, which I noticed when in the tub.

The room itself would benefit from a lick of paint as would many parts of the hotel as it was lacking that fresh feel. This was reinforced by food splattered menus at breakfast. If they are going for a plain printed sheet of A4 presented on a clip board, at least make it a clean and fresh sheet of paper.

The downstairs bar in the evening is really for posing about in as conversation is difficult due to the DJ. The music was pretty chilled though and is present everywhere.

Mine had a separate working area from the bedroom, which some may find useful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripMember020920162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi Global_ Pikey;

First of all I want to start by thanking your for your comments, thanks to these type of information we can make adjustments and improvements, our staff works around the clock and aim for nothing else but to create wonderful experiences.

I offer you a sincere appology for the incoveniences, please rest assure we take all our guests commments to heart .

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Luz Madrid
W Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
1,426 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 660 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was actually advised against staying there but being an unconditional fan of W hotels (and SPG Platinium member) decided to give a try - and it was a mistake !

For sure, he location is great, whatever you are in Mexico for business or for pleasure - a lot of restaurants in the area, walking distance to parks and museums; however the hotel is an old facility, in a dire need of heavy refurbishing (and also some basic cleaning). More disappointingly, it has almost none of nice W fun features that usually make this chain my preferred choice - the very loud bar in the entrance clearly doesn't cut it, it's main consequence is a tired staff at the reception desk... Maybe the sound level was the reason that my Platinum SPG card was considered as just a piece of plastic - no upgrade whatsoever nor, more problematic, late check-out that I requested.
The rooms are ok, even so I still have to understand the logic of a very comfortable hammock suspended in a middle of... shower - but that is fun indeed; water pressure is low, so shower is a bit of a challange
Breakfest is disappointing, with a very limited choice, unusual for five star hotels; cleanliness is not a strong point of the hotel neither in the rooms (but there are probably just old) nor in common areas...

All in, a very disappointing experience and I hope that some heavy maintenance is to come as clearly the proprety doesn't deserve W brand name !

Room Tip: In another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Mexico_City, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the great feedback you have provided. This level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences.

We have noted your comments regarding the cleanliness. We truly
apologize for not reaching your expectations. Please note that we will be forwarding your remarks to our Director of Housekeeping in order to provide additional training to all talents making sure that this occurrence will not take place again.

Furthermore, please know that whenever possible, we do provide complimentary upgrades to our Platinum Preferred Guests - we appreciate your loyalty and strive to recognize that loyalty whenever possible.

Since you have mentioned a number of other items in your review, I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you in more detail , you can reach me at stephen.hertzberg@whotels.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I travel a lot for business, spending about 100 nights a year in a hotel. The very first time I stayed at the W in Mexico City was for my wedding night, only for 12 hours. Then I found it very interesting, with a very modern decor and friendly staff. This time I had to stay for business in a hotel in Polanco and decided to return... big mistake.

First of all, the hotel features rates more or less similar to others in the zone, but it does not include basic services for a business traveler such as wifi, parking, and breakfast, which are all paid separately and are quite expensive. Second, all services are pretty slow: it has teeny tiny elevators that hold 5 people max (without luggage, of course), so if you are in one of the top floors, the trips up and down take quite a while. Breakfast in the restaurant is around $40 per person and it takes 50 minutes... impossible to grab a quick sandwich. I also tried room service and it was also slow and they only got my order right once out of three times. Valet parking is a must, guests are not able to park their own cars. My car took 10 mins in average to appear every day.

The "night club decor" is quite interesting the first 2 hours, but I believe it gets a bit old after a while. At night you could hear the music from the halls and many other sounds coming from other rooms, so beware if you are a light sleeper.

In summary, if you are on vacation, in a relaxed mood and willing to wait for things to happen, it might be a good option. For a business trip, I would recommend others in the zone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank La_Prin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Mexico_City, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations as a business traveler.

The room service and restaurant troubles you encountered during your stay are not typical of the service we offer, and I regret that you were unable to address these concerns prior to your departure.

We have noted your comments or suggestion to have complimentary internet access for our guests. We are please to inform you that such complimentary service does exist at our hotel provided in our lobby area and Solea restaurant .

Please feel free to contact me at stephen.hertzberg@whotels.com, as I would appreciate the chance to prevent similar events from occurring in a future stay

Once again, thank you for posting your feedback from your visit with us

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated in the middle of the city, close to everything you can reach historic places, nightlife, business and restaurants in no time. The service and design is as good as you would expect from a w hotel, the views are stunning, and overal its a great place to stay for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaxonMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience_Manager, Gerente at W Mexico City, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear JaxonMG;

Thanks a bunch for your feedback, the more we know the more we can improve! we are so glad you had such a good experience and you can make sure that next time you visit it will only be better.

See you soon!

Luz Madrid
W Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel late at night after a very long flight from London.
The lobby and bar has atmosphere, and really great food and cocktails.
Our room was a standard-ish room.... Which was disappointing.
We are Starwood members and the hotel didnt even seem to acknowledge this.
We are loyal guests and feel the hotels should go that extra mile,even if it's just welcoming you by name or when you make small requests they even try....
The staff were ok... They just didnt have much energy.
Our room flooded because of a ridiculously designed shower which soaked all out clothes and it took 3 phone calls and a frustrating trip to reception to resolve this!
We did get upgraded after much discussion.
No apologies... This really let the hotel down.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovenyc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Mexico_City, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear guest:

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us at W Mexico City; I do apologize for the inconveniences you faced and would welcome the opportunity to speak to you in more detail regarding the lack of SPG acknowledgment and what we have implemented for our SPG guests, in addition I would like to explain you all work we have done in order to avoid issues such as the one you had with your shower.

Please contact me at stephen.hertzberg@whotels.com so we may discuss this further. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#7 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#9 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#10 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#14 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#1 of 306 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Mexico City

Property: W Mexico City
Address: Campos Eliseos 252, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#19 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#33 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#39 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#48 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Mexico City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
w Hotels Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing