We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of W Mexico City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
W Mexico City
Ranked #22 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I'm starting to realize that the party vibe of the W hotel chain and the "Wherever, Whatever, Wet, Widiculousleness" alliteration is not for me. But, this hotel in Mexico city met our expectations in general. The room was nice and big and well appointed, if a bit dark, which extended into the barely-lit hallways. The hammock in the open plan bathroom was a bit contrived, but charming nonetheless. We had a nice view from the bathroom, and the staff was extremely helpful and prompt and we even got a hand-written note on our last day asking how things went. My only problem with the room was that it was a bit dark, and the toilet room was a bit small and without ventilation. The open plan will not be for everyone, but works for a couple.

The hotel lobby is currently under construction, so it is slightly awkward at present. There is a big whiskey bar and nightclub area that seemed alright, and the restaurant on the second floor is quite fancy, but doing a high-end steak and seafood menu that was not very successful, I would not eat there again by choice. The elevators were tiny and slow.

The location of the hotel is perfect in the trendy polanco shopping area, and there are other big hotels nearby, a starbucks across the street, and it is a 15 min walk to the museums and art galleries.

Overall we loved our room and felt the helpful presence of the staff here, so if you like W hotels and dont mind a party, clubby vibe throughout, this could be for you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience_Manager, Gerente at W Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Jonnathan Y

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and observations. We definitely will take all the great, good and not so good and work with it so we can meet all of our guests expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you at any of our great hotel brands.

Luz Madrid
W Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 991 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked to stay four nights at the W hotel Mexico City, but checked out after one night. (We moved to Four Seasons which we highly recommend.)
The hotel is definitely dated and is in need of a refurb.

The rooms are rather dark and lack natural light and we found the layout bizarre. The bathroom was an open plan wet room with a hammock strung up across it ! This just proved to be a nuisance as you had to duck underneath it to get to the toilet, we ended up taking it down. The toilet flooded with water when you showered. What seemed even more bizarre was the sink being in the bedroom portion of the room rather than the bathroom- in fact it was actually opposite the bed. It was a bit like being at university halls!
I wondered if this layout was unique to our bedroom type so rang to inquire - but infact it is the same for all rooms!
The furniture was dated and a little worn out - including the bed and bathroom fixtures (cracks in sinks etc.)

On a more positive note - bliss toiletries are nice and the staff were pleasant enough.
The hotel is in a good location for upmarket polanco restaurants and bars, but Mexico city is huge - you generally need cabs to get around anyway.

The hotel is definitely not on par with other 5 star hotels we have stayed and needs some TLC.
The years are beginning to age this hotel - time for a facelift W!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neelam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

W Mexico - I heard - was the first W in Latin America ... Indeed it begins to be a little dated. But the rooms are still very spacious and well decorated. The lobby, gym and bar are great. The staff super friendly - including the French General Manager, very welcoming and professional. Location is perfect, and for that price W is my hotel of choice in Mexico City.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexSwissTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

It seems like this W hotel is a bit long in the tooth. The hotel hasn't been refurbished for 5+ years so the rooms and furniture are getting worn and somewhat dated. Having said that, it is on par with other W hotels: attractive staff, mostly hipsters patrons and funkadelic decor. It's in a quiet and upscale part of town as well, so it's almost seems like you're not in Mexico City.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jurajfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Very nice and chic hotel! The service and the staff are very helpfull.
The bar at the main lobby have a great music and a lot of mexican girls
The have a buffet on sunday at the terrace, good quality and superior service.
The view from my suite was so nice, almost at night. The prices are acurated.

Room Tip: The corner suite its fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floyd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

if you love fancy locations in the huge cities and you love to enjoy snobby ambient, this is the perfect place for you!

the most of all I loved the panoramatic view on almost all the city..

services and the staff ..everything like in W ..standards for this hotel, no problems.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinaKasubova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

What we liked about this hotel was the location, this is at the heart of Polanco neighborhood, not too far away from the airport. We saw lots of peace in the city, very unlike any forecasts about the dangers of this city that we warned our travel agency in our country. We had a very pleasant stay, the hotel staff was the best in Mexico City!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MorrisAlden A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#11 of 312 in Mexico City
1,170 reviews
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#13 of 312 in Mexico City
2,167 reviews
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The St. Regis Mexico City
#9 of 312 in Mexico City
1,019 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Polanco
Las Alcobas
Las Alcobas
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Mexico City

Address: Campos Eliseos 252 | Chapultepec, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#33 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#48 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $204 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Mexico City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish accommodations in the upscale and trendy Polanco neighborhood by staying at W Hotel Mexico City. Our contemporary and vibrant hotel in Mexico City sits just minutes from the Auditorio Nacional's performing-arts venue and many other top attractions in Mexico City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
w Hotels Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing