We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“high class away from home”
Review of W Mexico City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Mexico City
Ranked #26 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Excellent location. the living room area is second to none, the service is excellent and the rooms are chic and quiet. i do not have much more to say but need to fill this ith 200 characters so that is why i am writing more. the hammock in the bathroom is curious and relaxing

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRCONNOLLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
There are newer reviews for W Mexico City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 407 of 935 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have avoided W hotels in the past, as I generally find them overpriced and a bit gimmicky. I was here on business and the company booked the hotel, so not my choice. I was pleasantly surprised: even though it is a bit gimmicky (hammock in the bathroom?..), the location is great and the rooms are nice.
The good:
-service is outstanding. When I was there, the hotel was full and I never had to wait for anything, either at the front desk or at the restaurants. The staff is very helpful, friendly and polite.
-as all other reviewers have mentioned, great location.
-rooms: very clean, good size.
-terrace: there is a very nice terrace where you can sit and enjoy a drink. When spending the whole day in conference rooms, it is nice to get the opportunity for some fresh air.
The negative:
-while I liked the room, I was travelling alone. Personally, they are a bit too open-plan for me for sharing with someone else, even a partner. I like my rooms to have a solid wall between sleeping area, bathroom and toilet, especially if you can't open a window.
-can't open a window. Vents and fans are fine, but after a bath/shower the room resembled a sauna. I also prefer fresh air to aircon.
-aircon/heating/water. Like some other reviewers mentioned, this does not always work very well. I changed room half way through my stay and while my first room was fine, my second room was freezing cold and had hardly any hot water. Even their staff, who helped me move, commented on how could the room was. It didn't get fixed. It was only a couple of nights, so it doesn't matter, but I wouldn't put up with it, if I was personally paying $300/night.
As opposed to other reviewers, I had no issues with the WIFI connection, piped music or noise. Overall, despite the little glitch with the heating, I'd definitely recommend the hotel and would not hesitate in booking it again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnonymusLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The obvious thing about all 'Ws' is that they're a bit of pretence, a bit expensive, but always in an ideal location. Polanco is a great neighbourhood with great restaurants and shopping all at your doorstep. There for business multiple times over the last 5 years, I stay at The W for one simple reason: location. Easy to get around, especially to 'the sites' if you choose to stay in, you'll have everything you need: food, spa, internet, great bar. You'll want for nothing.

Only gripe, internet is costly and unreliable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSurfchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I had the privilege to spend a fun weekend at the W Hotel in Mexico City. We had an amazing time and the staff was the best. They offerred great suggestions for fun tasty restaurants and places to see nearby. The Whiskey Bar located in the lobby was a fantastic place to have a drink and relax after a long travel day. The room we stayed in was incredible with the coolest modern layout, and a great view of Mexico City. This stay and trip to the W Hotel was one of the best trips and experiences we have had in Mexico City. We were sad to checkout of this beautiful place but we look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the higher levels as the views are amazing.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acaolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Good location - about 20 minutes by taxi from the historic centre. handy for Anthopology Museum (a must see). The decor in the W is quite funky, and definitely aimed at a younger market. Meeting rooms v good. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJLBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The location of this hotel is great, close to nice restaurants and area is safe. The hotel is also great. Service is good and people are friendly however there are some comments.
The music everywhere should be your taste. In addition if you are close to the elevator you can hear the fusion music in you room. Not that pleasant. The rooms are ok but a little but fuzzy. They could do with makeover. Things start to get old. Breakfast is ok but the standard is very poor. On top of it you can order additional stuff but for an extra price. Free breakfast is then not free anymore.
All in All an ok hotel with some downsides.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LikeToExploreThings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We've stayed in this hotel for 6 nights. The hotel is located in a very safe neighborhood, although a bit far from main city attractions. The room has a modern furniture and all the appliances you might think of, it was also very clean. the work of concierge service is impeccable, the work 24/7 and are always helpful. Overall it is definitely a place to stay once in Mexico City.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zhu g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#9 of 312 in Mexico City
1,114 reviews
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#13 of 312 in Mexico City
2,027 reviews
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Las Alcobas
Las Alcobas
#2 of 312 in Mexico City
647 reviews
The St. Regis Mexico City
#7 of 312 in Mexico City
973 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
#11 of 312 in Mexico City
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Mexico City

Address: Campos Eliseos 252, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#20 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#33 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#39 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#48 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $176 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Mexico City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
w Hotels Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing