We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“W: Mexico City @ its best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Mexico City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Mexico City
Ranked #31 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“W: Mexico City @ its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I am a little late in writing this review. We went there the week of New Years and stayed for 3 days/nights. Out room was beautiful and the view of the city was amazing. The A/C in our room was not working properly but it was nothing that we could not handle. The hotel even helped us out when we checked out due to this one little issue. We had amazing service and the concierge was spectacular. You have to have a drink on their roof top bar. It is amazing. I would go back here again in a heartbeat as it really is located in the best possible location near some amazing museums; art galleries and restaurants. I can't wait to go back to Mexico City!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler44109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    249
    129
    45
    25
See reviews for
53
194
52
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is pretty nice, rooms are spacious, front desk helped us moving into a room with a tub which was nice, but there are a lot of small things that bothered me.
When we first walked in there were no bell boys, I can say that the whole staff attitude is quite poor, no one is really friendly.
My gold necklace fell off while I was sleeping, I notified this to security before anyone came in the room, assuming they would find it between all the million sheets and covers they have. My necklace was "lost "....
I left feeling really sad, upset and not wanting to come back,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mast9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Mexico_City, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you for posting your feedback from your visit with us.
Walking into a hotel with no bell boys and noticing lack of friendliness can leave a negative lasting impression that overshadows the rest of any trip. Rest assured that your comments have been passed onto the Hotel Management Staff to prevent similar occurrences from happening in the future.

We have noted your comments regarding your necklace. After your departure, we consulted once again our Lost & Found department and interviewed the Room Attendant who serviced the room in order to locate the item. We regret to inform you that the necklace was unfortunately not recovered by any of our team members.

Please contact me anytime at stephen.hertzberg@whotels.com in case further assistance is needed.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro, Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I just came from staying in W Mexico City and the experience was great.
I had an upgrade because checking in took a little bit longer than expected, but it was all worth it.
Since arrival the lounge bar at the entrance give you a relaxing atmosphere.
Room, with red details was very charming, modern and with all ammenities.
It is really recommended for a relaxing trip.
Bed and pillows were excellent.
The SPA area, with sauna and steam bath are included and they complete the relaxing experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mexwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The hotel is quite nice and in a nice area. There are issues with maintenance right when you walk in, seems like they don't care about the condition of the hotel. The hammock in the bathroom is really a gimmick since we never even used it. Our A/C unit didn't work that great and our bathroom door was off the railing and broken. I also couldn't believe that they don't exchange dollars to pesos only euros to pesos, what a joke considering their main customers are Americans. Be careful in the shower since the temperature isn't regulated very well, one minute it's cold the other it's super hot.

Stay someplace else if you are going to pay this amount of money! Also the bartenders tend to try and rip you off!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

It is a W, so no real surprises.

In a nutshell:
- design hotel
- good location
- very big rooms (comfortable beds!)
- bathroom with a view
- very friendly concierge
- service in the bar could be better

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FergieBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Mexico_City, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you for the feedback you have provided. Your comments are always important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences.

Since you have mentioned that service in the bar could be better, I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you in more detail to learn how you feel we could improve. You can reach me at stephen.hertzberg@whotels.com. I look forward to hearing from you

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Very cool room design. Staff very attentive and breakfast buffet not bad.

Location is also safe and walking distance to good restaurant strip.

The price is about what you'd expect but extras cost, accordingly which is probably not a surprise for a W Hotel.

Would stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I always like staying in W hotels when I can (normally dependent on price). The W Mexico City is situated in a very nice neighbourhood, where a number of other large hotel chain hotels are also located. In regard to the hotel - as you would expect from a W - very fashionable, with a nice bar/lounge area - called 'The Whiskey'. Unfortunately we could make the full benefit of the bar, as we arrived when the elections were on so only had two hours when we could buy alcohol throughout our stay in Mexico City.

The hotel room was very large and it was quite a novelty having a hammock in the bathroom. Overall very comfortable and spacious rooms. The hotel staff were fantastic and the concierge provided some fantastic restaurant recommendations and helped organise a guided tour for us to Teotihuacan.

The only slightly negative thing that I can say about our stay was that the jacuzzi and sauna were not operational during our stay. We reported the issue to the staff who said that they hoped it would be up and running 'soon'. However, I would definitely stay in this hotel again if I visited Mexico City again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#6 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 883 reviews
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#9 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#1 of 305 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
The St. Regis Mexico City
#4 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Polanco
Las Suites
Las Suites
#32 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Mexico City

Property: W Mexico City
Address: Campos Eliseos 252, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#33 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#40 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#50 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Mexico City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your W Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
w Hotels Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing