We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveler rating
3
3
9
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
3
3
9
6
8
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 29 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2014

I stayed here a couple of nights, made a phone reservation and all was well when we arrived.

Rooms were ample and clean, not too outdated, not smelly at all and shower super clean and no problem with hot water or toiletries. We had two queen beds and a window to the park behind the building, super quiet, no one bothered us!

Service was good all over, and front desk was always helpful, nothing was stolen or missing. Didn't eat at the hotel restaurant due to high prices on menu and small portions I saw.

It's close to everything (even in Mexico's distances) and area has lots of thing to do, a cute park behind, and 2 big and modern shopping malls a couple of blocks on either side.

Room tip: We stayed in second floor all the way to the back, so quiet!!!
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GigiD0500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

For a no-frills, well located, moderately priced hotel, I can recommend the Hotel California. While particularly convenient for patients and families going to the Centro Medico Siglo XXI across the street, it is conveniently located by two Metro lines and one of the limited access MetroBus lines. For me, I needed to be within ready walking distance of the Sefarad synagogue Yehuda HaLevy, without staying near the noisy Insurgentes Sur corridor. I enjoyed waling through the Roma Sur, Roma Norte, and Condesa neighborhoods. In particular, Condesa had many cafes, restaurants, and small parks even prettier than those of the Romas.

Do not expect a booklet detailing hotel special services, for there are none. Well, yes, there are safe deposit boxes for the asking, though no one tells you about them. Allegedly there is free WiFI, and perhaps there was; I had nothing with me WiFi capable As for the free lobby computer, with use up to 20 min. if someone else is waiting, its keyboard letters were mostly illegible and the keyboard itself was dead. Useless. Staff tried to breathe life into it, without success. I did not ask, but saw no signs of a pool.

There is parking under the hotel for those with cars. I took advantage of public transit. From the MetroBus northbound, I got off at Hidalgo station in the center of town, walked around the corner to the right, and took MetroBus Linea 4 Norte to Airport Terminals T1 and T2. The latter line costs 30 pesos, has a luggage rack, and is, I am told, rarely crowded. (30 pesos – less than $USD 2.40-- is a fair amount of change to a Mexican, though far less and more secure than a cab.) Oh, some words on security. The City appears to be making exceptional efforts to assure Metro and MetroBus users of the systems' security. Police everywhere. Of course, anyone who wants to test the system is invited to display jewelery and expensive clothes at the own risk. You need either a DF transit card or a MetroBus card to use the MetroBus. There are MB machines just inside the Terminals, and at most stops. The DF card can be found in the Metros, is good for the MB, the Metro, and the STC trolleybuses. None of the drivers of those lines accept cash.

Some strange things about the hotel. Firstly, while a full side of the hotel facing the Hospital bears its name, the front only displays the name of its lackluster restaurant, Montebello. While the restaurant features a plus, opening at 7 a.m. when other establishments start to awake at 8 or 9, service starts a bit later. In a city with abundant fruit juice stands, breakfast included packaged orange juice. Incidentally, the surround area awakes about 8 or 9 a.m. weekdays. Do not expect to be able to buy a Mexico City newspaper until after 7:30 or 8 a.m. If interested in cultural offerings in Mexico City, do buy Tiempo Libre, available Thursday mornings at many newsstands.

The hotel bills daily, upfront, not when one checks out. Perhaps that says something about the clientele. I did not want to have to make daily payments of 620 pesos/day. Took the staff a few minutes to figure out that the American was willing, no, insisted upon paying for his five nights up front. They finally caught on. (My Spanish is fine, but my request apparently was unusual.) Nonetheless, every day after 12 noon I needed a new key card. Staff advised me that the key cards expired every time one leaves the building. Not so. Only upon check out time, about 12 noon. Oh, and no problem using my U.S. credit card.

My room, 302, was clean, the bed comfortable, with ample hot & cold running water in the shower. As with most rooms, I had a “view” across an air shaft of other rooms. The windows contain no screens, but mosquitoes seemingly appear to be very scarce in Mexico City. The TV featured a poorly working cable system, and no dedicated channels in other than Spanish. However, I was not there for the view –- would not have been particularly scenic anyhow, except for a park just south of the hotel – nor for television. Although my stay included a full weekend, it was quiet – quite a find in a Mexican urban hotel!

The staff was friendly enough. Beside the reception person, there is a guard who seems to be on duy in the nondescript lobby around the clock, well, at least when awake. (I would not want his working hours!) The neighborhood outside in non-threatening. Baja California is a westbound artery. Cauthemoc is a northbound artery. An Internet shop is some doors down from the hotel, and maintains a very limited schedule. However, there are many Internet cafes around Mexico City.

Room tip: Check the room before paying, if you have any doubts.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reading_Terminal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019
Google Translation

Room tip: Maltrato a Mujer Tercera Edad con Cáncer y Silla de Ruedas
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018
Google Translation

Room tip: Si de plano no tienen otra opción de hotel escojan piso 3 o 4 que están más modernos y con vista al parque de atrás, no al frente.
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews