We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostel Moneda
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Catedral(Mexico City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Zocalo Central(Mexico City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico(Mexico City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Roble(Mexico City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Azores(Mexico City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Washington(Mexico City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Canada(Mexico City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rioja(Mexico City)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
9
17
11
14
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
17
11
14
24
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 75 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed here around Christmas last year and had our own bed in a private room, planned to stay a week. After coming back the second day, we found that our extra money, cellphone, and other valuables were stolen from our bags in our locked room. We of course reported the incident to the staff at the desk. He was sympathetic but told us that he has received many such complaints. The manager avoided contact with us, didn't show up for several days even though she was supposedly scheduled to come in every day. When we finally spoke to her, we were told that not only would they not refund our money, but they would continue to charge us for our reserved dates, not let us cancel. We were shocked by this because we certainly didn't feel safe there after being robbed and wanted a different hostel.
We reported the incident to the tourist police, who also told us they have had problems with this hostel. But we couldn't prove anything and got nowhere with the police.
Be warned. Don't ever go to this hostel. They are dishonest. The place wasn't that nice either, was very noisy, and the food bad.

Room Tip: Don't go here!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The truth is that the hostel seems that has lost management. Some people told me it was the best hostel that they had ever stayed before, but now that I saw it it was just OK. The location is perfect, on the city center, but the rooms are not so great, they have a weird smell, the beds are not comfortable, nor the pillows... GOOD THINGS: The staff was SUPER FRIENDLY and helped me with some great information about places to eat, maps, day tours and so on. The rooftop terrace is also great, and breakfast is not bad at all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I stayed in Hostal Moneda in 2003 and 2011. Unfortunately, I think it was a better place to stay before.

The location is wonderful and the staff is really friendly, but now the private rooms are ugly and expensive and the food is terrible (I can't understand why, because usually the food is delicious in Mexico).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

As soon as we saw the rooms we left the hotel. Dirty bathroom, full of dirt from the road. Terrible bed, we saw some hair from last client. Smells pretty bad. We have been traveling all over central americas, and I can tell for sure that was the worse hostel we saw. Furtunatly we ask to see the room before pay. you can find better deals in town. Check the following hostels: Hotels Amigo, Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, Mexico City Hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quintais_do_Mundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The location of the hostel was really good, and the breakfast and dinner served were decent.
The beds were ok, but the noise at night was bad. All the windows face elevator-like ventilation shafts so you can hear all the doors slamming, toilets flushing, etc from the other rooms. But at least there is no street noise.

We, however, were robbed from the hotel. Our cash, cameras, and ipods were taken from our locked backpacks while we were out for the day. This is the sole reason we wouldnt return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews