We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food that is a visual treat also!”
Review of Quintonil

Quintonil
Reserve with OpenTable
Quintonil is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 4,454 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $57 - $85
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Polanco
Description: Ubicado en la colonia Polanco —el barrio en el que se encuentran las propuestas gastronómicas más interesantes de la ciudad de México— y bajo el mando de Jorge Vallejo —joven chef mexicano que cuenta ya con una sólida trayectoria y un amplio reconocimiento a su trabajo— Quintonil ofrece una propuesta gastronómica que expresa con claridad los sabores y las formas de la cocina mexicana moderna.
Napa, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious food that is a visual treat also!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Chef Jorge Vallejo's intelligence is apparent in the flavor and texture combinations of his "updated" Mexican food. The presentations of each recipe were unique and beautiful, but not silly. The dining room runs in a very professional manner, but with warmth, from co-owner Alejandra Flores. They are a fantastic team! I will recommend this experience to all of my friends. The wine list also included many of the best of the new Mexican wines from Baja California.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teri0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    165
    59
    26
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Could be the next big thing in the DF”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Was blown away by the food at Quintonil. Very beautiful on the plate - and every dish perfectly balanced from a flavor perspective.

We went the full set menu which I would strongly recommend.

Overall feel like this is a restaurant on the rise from a great young chef - go there now before tables become impossible to reserve

Helpful?
Thank Natejordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Beautiful dishes.........”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

............The presentation of the plates here was a bit like a Juan Miró painting, and equally as interesting to eat. Great creative combinations made of very fresh ingredients. The atmosphere is not that inviting, but who cares? The service and food was first rate.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NomadKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
479 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
“Regret. Average at best.”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This restaurant has a communication issue. Everyone seems to be working on their own. Staff was disconnected. Bored. Disinterested. As if there was something better to do. This reflects in the food as well.

Solo diner which allowed me to observe more. Waiter was constantly checking his notepad. Couldn't remember any of his guests meals. He had to have been the worst waiter I've ever had in ALL my trips to Mexico. A cashier at Burger King has more to offer. There were several people who attended my table. Became confusing. Wanted to eat as fast to leave even faster.

The messed up my reservation. Left me standing in the middle of the dining room to find my own table. Waiter didn't greet me or say hello. Didn't know if it was dinner for 1, 2, or 4. Empty drink glasses would sit without attention. Waiter could see my meal was over. Still asking me if I was done. As if I was going to lick the plate or suck on my ice cubes. Improper silverware given. A butter knife instead of a proper knife. Leaving you to cut food with your fork. A bit ignorant and poorly trained.

Had the tasting menu. They should go to the Pujol school of service and presentation. Quintonil will never even come close. Food lacked flavor and any sense of authenticity. Last year this was the restaurant to want to try. This year it's more hype than anything. They think the positive press and reviews is all they need now. Just because they won an award doesn't mean much. Academy award winners often go on to do bad films. Maybe less attitude and better time training the staff to at least appear as if they care. Regret coming here and wasting time, money, and an opportunity to have a great meal experience. Is there an In and Out Burger in Polanco? I mean really.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Yesterday , my wife , daughter and I had again lunch at Quintonil . As always food was superb and the service as friendly as expected .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzoreff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quintonil also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Quintonil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing