We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Food, but restaurant needs improvement” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quintonil

Quintonil
Reserve with OpenTable
Quintonil is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 3,819 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $500 - $500
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Polanco
Description: Ubicado en la colonia Polanco —el barrio en el que se encuentran las propuestas gastronómicas más interesantes de la ciudad de México— y bajo el mando de Jorge Vallejo —joven chef mexicano que cuenta ya con una sólida trayectoria y un amplio reconocimiento a su trabajo— Quintonil ofrece una propuesta gastronómica que expresa con claridad los sabores y las formas de la cocina mexicana moderna.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food, but restaurant needs improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

The food was very good. Mexican cuisine presented in a modern fashion. The restaurant itself needs to move to a better more comfortable location. The site seemed old and tight in space. Definitely the modern cuisine did not go well with the older location.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Francisco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    130
    41
    20
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Ensalada de Quelite quintonil is delicious. The restaurant is really good but the food is extraordinary.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chopirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine dining in DF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We arrived almost an hour late after getting lost.They didn't blink an eye when we arrived and we were seated right away. What a relief!

We did the tasting menu and had a bottle of wine, delighted to see our favorite Spanish wine on the menu at a surprisingly reasonable price. The menu was very diverse yet cohesive all at once. I think a fish-eating vegetarian would have hit the jackpot here because there was only one meat dish (two seafood). I'm not a huge meat eater but I really truly enjoyed every dish, especially their take on pork and beans.

Quintonil is definitely a little on the spendy side, surely most expensive meal we had while in DF, but we had another dinner in Polanco the next night, and the bill was nearly the same but the quality of food, service, atmosphere, and thoughtfulness were about a quarter of what you'll get at Quintonil. The only off moment was at the end of the meal--likely a miscommunication our part, but we had a challenging time getting our final dessert plate taken away and the bill, but again, probably just our poor Espanol. I can't remember the last meal I had that was this tasty and interesting.

This is the place to go for a special meal in DF.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fiveflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Loved the low key atmosphere and the very creative menu. Jorge the chef and his wife who is in charge of the dining room were warm and hospitable. Go for the chefs menu . I could have had seconds of some of the dishes especially the one with quintonil herb.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travlingfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The most authentic Mexican food ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This little place is a must go, I have never tried Mexican food like this before it is authentic and different with a great taste. The smoked crab is very good and the way they present the food it will make you not to touch it but to take a picture of it, also the fish with chile is very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quintonil also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Quintonil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing