We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Focused on food quality”
Review of Quintonil

Quintonil
Reserve with OpenTable
Quintonil is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 4,374 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $500 - $500
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Polanco
Description: Ubicado en la colonia Polanco —el barrio en el que se encuentran las propuestas gastronómicas más interesantes de la ciudad de México— y bajo el mando de Jorge Vallejo —joven chef mexicano que cuenta ya con una sólida trayectoria y un amplio reconocimiento a su trabajo— Quintonil ofrece una propuesta gastronómica que expresa con claridad los sabores y las formas de la cocina mexicana moderna.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
379 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Focused on food quality”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Excellent gourmet approach to mexican food. It lacks decoration, terrace would be nicer with some vegetation. Very plain and sober place. The main attraction of this place is the quality of the food. Small portions. Good selection of wine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viajeramx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    161
    57
    26
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent food, well served in a relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our party of four all had the set taster ("degustion" ) menu which has six courses listed on the menu but on our night (like another reviewer) also had 3 chefs surprises or "amuses" in addition. The dishes were all very well presented and excellently cooked with great flavours. All the courses were based on traditional Mexican dishes but each was given a twist (or three!) to make it special. One of our party was Mexican and he was able to identify for us what each course was traditionally based on. As we would expect for a taster menu, each individual course was a small portion but there was also a roll basket with very good home made rolls and excellent home made relish and black butter all of which were regularly replenished until we got to the desert courses. We were all delighted with the quantity, quality, presentation and flavours of our meals.
Our head waiter was excellent and we enjoyed excellent service throughout. Like other reviewers we observed both the owner and the head chef coming out to keep an eye on things and to chat to customers, which is always a good sign.
The frontage to the restaurant is not the most inspiring but the inside is bright and cheerful but not fussy. We were on the 'terrace' which is more accurately a large patio out the back with a retractable cover. Do not expect a view!
We booked for 7pm (the restaurant opens much early than this) and when we arrived a few minutes early were (very politely asked if we could come back at 7 because they were not ready for us yet. The restaurant does not appear to have a separate area to wait in before going to your table. When we came back we noticed another couple waiting on the bench outside, presumably also early. So when you book, check when they expect you to arrive!
With a moderate amount of wine and a tip do not expect much change from £60 a head but for that we got a special meal in very comfortable surroundings that we will remember with great satisfaction.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ti209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
476 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
“Creative and a joy to the pallet.”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Enjoyed my meal here. Great taste. Portions are concise. Creative and well thought out. Decor is understated and a bit casual. Maybe a bit too casual. Service was good. All worked as a team to ensure your pleasure. Including the owner Alejandra Flores. She actually was more attentive and connected than my waiter. He seemed a bit overwhelmed. Look forward to returning to try more and more.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“splendid tasting menu”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

an interesting contemporary take on traditional Mexican food. Some tastes unlike anything I'd had before. Can't remember every course (not helped by the fact we had some lovely craft beers, Mexican white wine, then red, then a Chilean Reisling with pudding!)

Particular highlights were: cactus based amuse bouche with crackling, tuna sashimi with a cuttlefish ink, lemon and pork reduction - amazing combinations of flavours. Loath to say best of all, everything was great, but I've a sweet tooth so best of all were the amazing puddings: one was sweet potato based, another a chocolate mousse, a cactus sorbet with salt, one smothered in brandy snaps and popcorn - all were delicious.

Highly recommended, my best meal in Mexico.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HighburyJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosillo, Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect...good beer and excellent food”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food was perfect not big portions but very big in flavour, good selection of regional beers and the dessert was really nice "Flan". All this in a very simple restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jugebuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quintonil also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Quintonil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing