We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“traditional meal worth the extra bit of money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante El Cardenal

Restaurante El Cardenal
Ranked #3 of 3,596 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Angel
New York
Level Contributor
383 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“traditional meal worth the extra bit of money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I am reviewing the one in the historic centre (we also saw one in San Angel). This is a lunch place and they are not open for dinner, atleast on the weekends. the food is simply delicious. the service is fair. we attempted going back twice after the first meal, but one was for dinner when they were closed and the other was sunday morning when there was a long wait. will surely go back on a return trip

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KANewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    93
    18
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
460 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“El Cardenal San Angel - beautiful location, fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is the only restaurant we read about in advance before our trip to Mexico City – at the time we were thinking of staying at the Hilton Reforma and it seemed that the restaurant was part of the attraction for the hotel. At the time didn't realize it's got several locations. As we ended up not staying at the Hilton we were not sure how to fit it in. However on the Saturday we were planning to go to the Frieda Khalo museum and then San Angel (for the famous Saturday market) the very helpful staff at the Hampton Inn pointed out to us that the venue in San Angel would be right on our way. And it worked out perfectly – we took a long leisurely walk from the FK museum by way of Av Francisco Sosa (eventually became Av De La Paz) and got to the restaurant at about 2:30, and were seated right away (without a reservation).

Compared to the one in the Hilton, this venue has a lot more character and better ambience, being housed in a thoroughly restored beautiful old building. Service and the food were both fantastic (there were menus in English). It was not inexpensive, but the portions were incredibly generous. Luckily we really worked up an appetite by the time we got there, otherwise there was no way we would have been able to finish all the food on our plates no matter how delicious. Only regret was, there was no room left for dessert! For anyone planning to go to San Angel a stop at this restaurant should definitely be included in the itinerary.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must for tourist that want to taste real Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I will suggest to have breakfast and show up early since can it can get very crowded. Try the sweat bread , is just fantastic with a cup of hot chocolate. The green juice is aslo a house specialty. Huevos Motulenos , Gorditas michoacanas mmmm tasty!!!

Hope you enjoy it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IvanMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
530 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“Among the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

There are four locations for El Cardenal in Mexico City. The most traditional one is at Palma 23 in the historic centre and is worth visiting at least for a drink, however if you want to enjoy several hours of good Mexican food and tranquillity, the best El Cardenal is not at the Hilton Hotel in Alameda, or in the flashy modern building in Palmas, but at Avenida La Paz, in San Angel. An old style house has been adapted into a pleasant restaurant that seems to be "far for the mudding crowd" in spite of its location at a busy neighbourhood. My advice: sit outside at the garden, it is the "smoking section" but rarely anybody smokes. As for the food, everything is good. I ate a tasty "sopa tlaxcalteca" and a "suprema de róbalo con salsa de queso y chipotle"...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gumucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad de México, México
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I went to the Cardenal on Av de la Paz in San Angel, in the middle of one of the oldest upscale colonial neighbourhoods in Mexico City (south), great service and great food and if they don't have it on the menu they will prepare it for you.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeColoniale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante El Cardenal also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Restaurante El Cardenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing