We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, elegance & reasonable price”
Review of Hotel Habita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Habita
Ranked #191 of 307 Hotels in Mexico City
Floyd, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location, elegance & reasonable price”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The Hotel Habita is a small, beautiful, ultra-modern hotel in the center of Mexico City. The staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel Habita is within walking distance of great restaurants, museums, parks, embassies, and the United Nations offices.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfsmith65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    81
    45
    32
    28
See reviews for
8
65
37
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

First, I’d like to point out the positives about this hotel. Great location. The physical plant is stunning to those who, like me, love modern. The rooms were small, but clean and stocked with tasteful amenities; although there were two of us staying in a room for 5 nights and we were never given more than one pair of slippers, or a new bar of soap.

Unfortunately, there are far more negatives about this property than there are positives, and they all center around “service” . The net effect is that I would never stay at this hotel again, nor would I ever recommend it to anyone based on my own personal experience. The negatives center around the horrific “service” – this hotel is a liability to the Tablet Hotels network, as well as to its other affiliations, including Leading Small Hotels of the World.

We were never given the simple and common courtesy of being told when and where breakfast – included in the Tablet Plus benefits – was served. The promised fruit plate (to be refreshed daily) was never refreshed. They looked at us like we had three heads when we inquired about the promised free daily dry cleaning item. Any information we got about the layout of the hotel and its facilities was the result of our asking.

There was a general sense of apathy and ignorance on the part of the front desk staff. Several plead ignorance to commonplace questions about what to see and do in the area because they had only been in Mexico City for a short time. Others were incompetent, not being able to answer basic questions about hotel goings on, services, the area or basic transportation options. We requested wake-up calls that never came. And, worst of all, they apparently took out their distaste for our expectations and questions by “warning” a driver that they hired on our behalf for a day tour to nearby pyramids that we were problematic. 75% of the way into the tour, the driver, who seem rather perplexed, shared this with us, apparently because he had no idea that we were anything but pleasant, reasonable, friendly people.

We started inquiring about New Year’s Eve options at the hotel the day that we arrived, but the front desk staff stalled repeatedly and would not confirm anything until four days later – on the afternoon of December 31st. At one point the most consistently irritating member of the front desk staff kept me waiting for 20 minutes while she tried to reconcile another guest’s bill, only to ultimately answer the question that I had asked when I first approached her with a simple and abrupt “no”. Multi-tasking – or at the very least getting another staff member’s assistance when there are guests experiencing a lengthy wait – is a basic requirement for any service worker, and most certainly for hotel of this supposed caliber. If she was the only person there at the time, then the hotel has a staffing and/or scheduling issue.

We signed a pricey charge slip for bottle service for a New Year’s Eve party at the hotel rooftop bar without adding a tip – preferring instead to pay an extremely generous tip in cash directly to our server after the services had been rendered. After checking out of the hotel at 4:00AM on New Year’s Day for our flight home, we discovered on our way to the airport that (1) a sizable and unauthorized tip had been added to the charge slip by bar staff the night before, and (2) that the front desk had charged us for several mini-bar items that we did not use. It was apparent that the bar staff had also been “warned” about us, even though there was no concerted effort to make up for the poor service and libelous gossip of the front desk staff.

Despite all of the problems we encountered at Hotel Habita, never once were we approached by a manager of the hotel to solicit our concerns, rectify the wrongs or offer corrective action or compensation. Clearly, management of this hotel does not care if its guests ever return, nor do they seem to have the good sense to know that well traveled, happy customers are the cheapest and most effective form of advertising and promotion that money can buy.

There were simply too many problems in the course of a 5 night stay to believe that these service issues are isolated in nature. This hotel should be avoided at all costs,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank peterconstance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

No water in the hotel during the whole morning. I think its enough to summarize the worst hotel experience in Mexico City. The staff totally unaware of the problem, they just did not care. Noisy rooms, maintenance persons with loud radios in the halls.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank EdGG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I had read all the reviews prior to our stay here so expectations weren't high as we arrived at this hotel in the upscale suburb of Polanco. I was impressed by the location, Polanco is very pretty and clean with some great food options nearby including a cheap and delicious option around the corner as well as more high end places such as Pujol within walking distance.
Our room was minimalist but clean, no issues - yet. The first hurdle was the shower, the nozzle was such an odd shape it was impossible to get it to spray anyway near my body but the rest of the bathroom got a pretty good wash down every time I tried to shower. The products were a lovely selection by Malin & Goetz and regularly replenished.
The bed was comfortable however seemed to be designed for people 5'5 and under. No issue for me as a shorty but my boyfriend struggled.
The room menu advertises a DVD library with a selection of titles, when we asked to borrow a DVD however we were told that the whole library was on loan to another hotel. No apologies or further explanation. Apart from that the staff were helpful, especially the front of house staff who assisted with cabs and drivers.
The rooftop bar has a reputation of being a bit of a cool hangout. We tried going there every night of our stay but were surprised to find it overflowing each time with various private functions all choosing a 90s rave soundtrack. We retreated to our room and tried to sleep through the rave music. It was a shame as the bar looked like a really cool spot.
I'm not sure if the raves are continuing but if we stay here again I'll remember to bring my glow sticks and whistle.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelClassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very nice hotel if you like minimalist boutique. In a quiet, chic but slightly out of the way area if Mexico City which we were happy with. Our room was on the first floor and it was dry noisy. From the dustbin truck parking outside our window at 6am to a strange vibration in the floor (air on maybe) and a balcony door which didn't shut completely it wasn't very peaceful, but fine with ear plugs! Breakfast was great and the staff always nice and helpful. If you can, get a trusted taxi number you can call yourself as the hotel charges double. Also check your bill at the end as they had put on lots of mini bar it's that we hadn't used...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have been staying at Hotel Habita on a frequent basis over the last few years on my business trips to Mexico. It is a safe , hospitable hotel and better than Intercontiental and other chain hotels in Polanco. Initially prices were reasonable and they provides services like free local and even international calls. but prices have come up and they have removed most of the free amenities they offered before. They have too many parties in the bar upstairs and can get noisy.It overall used to be an ok place to stay . but now i found other hotels in the area that offer more and have not stayed there in a while

Room Tip: on most occassions complimentary breakfast is included in your room even if does not say during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sivakumar c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If you're looking for great spot for drinks with friends, then I recommend the rooftop bar at the Hotel Habita.

Great drinks, Good food, and Chic Decor. Everything you need for a perfect night.

Biggest surprise at the bar was that Hotel Habita projects images on the neighboring building, playing black and white movies of Hollywood's classics.

If it's a bit chilly, then make sure that you grab a seat next to the outdoor fireplace.

When in Mexico, I truly recommend this local hot spot.





Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jetsettingnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
Busue a Boutique Experience Hotel
Polanco
W Mexico City
W Mexico City
#28 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Polanco
Las Suites
Las Suites
#50 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#10 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#8 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Santa Fe
Distrito Capital
Distrito Capital
#161 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Habita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Habita

Property: Hotel Habita
Address: Avenida Presidente Masaryk 201 | Polanco, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#48 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Habita 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Habita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habita Mexico City
Habita Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Habita Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing