We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Principal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Principal
Ranked #115 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here just for one night and, although the room was small, it did what it is for. Little bit noisy but it didn't bother me. I def stay the historic area of the city is very near and very secure for walking at night.!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank javicarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    105
    58
    12
    14
See reviews for
35
59
38
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

On the advice of a reviewer here we asked for a room on the end (facing calle Bolivar) w/a window which we like very much. Our friend reserved one of the interior rooms which he found unacceptable for it lack of windows (other than one to a interior breezeway to which the restaurant downstairs was vented so the room smelled of grease & fried sugar) & fortunately was able to move to one of the three rooms on the end as well. Even these rooms are not for everyone. Tho they are quite large & airy they are on a very large & busy street so if you are picky about noise & a bit of peely paint here & there this is not your spot. We love the age & the 12 foot ceilings & the ability to sit in the large window that actually opens & watch the city go by. We have stayed in many of the hotels in the zocolo area of DF & as long as it is in the right room feel this one is great for the money.

Room Tip: 302 thru 304 or not at all....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubi55Pozos_mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olsztyn, Poland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a big room on first floor. It was a little bit noisy in the morning but mainly because of other guests. Very helpful staff. We stayed here because the hotel I booked through Booking.com didn't have a room for us and found us a room here. It's close to Zocalo and a friend took us to very nice restaurant close to the hotel. Good for few nigths stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarolinaRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is in the very heart of the historic zone of Mexico City,is very reasonably priced for the budget traveler,and the staff arevery friendly and helpful.
The rooms are small,turn of the centry,but do have a tv.
I will definitely go back again.
Aleks :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acaaleks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

was just there last night, and did not get any sleep. Room was small and disgusting; there was 3/4 inch crack at the bottom of the door that went up around 5 in., slats above door are open and lets all kinds of outside noise in; and what kind of noise? Apart from people whooping it up, there were sounds of a woman groaning if not screeching really loud, yes, from you know what, even happened around 1:30pm, I remember because I looked at my watch. Made me think about the bed I was in??? Furthermore, I left scratching from some bug bite that I did not have when I got there. Would not go there if you gave me the room for free.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mars V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We arrived at this hotel, which although good location remininded me of a prison. The hotel initially seemed not to be able to understand we had made a booking with them, the clerk's English was terrible and unfortunately neither of us spoke Spanish. He tried to tell us the room rate was much higher than agreed but we argued that we had booked a double bed room. He gave us a room with two double beds (use only one please!) with no aircon and no window. The doors to each room are more like internal doors in a house with large French style windows (painted over). We did not feel safe. We requested another room with a window and got one with a small one opening into an internal central opening. We thought we would be OK but then it started raining and the roof in the bathroom started to leak water (like it was raining inside).
Checked out immediately, by then a senior guy was on the desk, he tried to offer another room, but said that we would have to move out of that the following day to another one. We were on holiday so we really did not need all this stress. DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS ONE!
We re-booked straightaway with San Marino Suites and that hotel was fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbo_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Hotel Principal: reception speaks limited English. The hotel is located just a couple of block from the center (Zocalo) - it is a 10-15 minute walk. The hotel has 4 floors in a corridor like feeling. Unfortunatelly the elevator is small and slow as well and that is a downside of the hotel. The rooms: very simple rooms - we were in two of them. One was a bigger room with a huge bed - it had a carpet floor which I dont like as it is hard to clean (room 117) - there was a funny smell as well in the room but might not because of the floor. Good thing about it that you can easyly go down using the stairs and don't have to use the elevators. The other room was much smaller but with enought size bed for two. It had wooden floor and seemed cleaner. It was on 3rd floor (306) and sometimes had to wait quite a while for the elevator. None of the rooms had windows which was kind of strange. I think the extra 100M$ does not worth which is the difference between the two room price. No heating in the room so in NOV when the temp cools down to 10C at night the room could get quite chilly. Especially the bathroom where there is the only window which supposed to take the steam out when taking a shower. This window can not be closed and it remains slightly opened at all times. Good WIFI to be found in the hotel on all floors free of charge and there are two computers next to reception free of charge with a printer. There are 2 phones next to reception as well but be aware they are working with a phonecard. Purchase the card in the minimarket on the opposite side of the hotel. The hotel was quite noisy at night as there are discos aroubd the hotel and youngsters went to party. There as a coffee shop on the opposite side as well which is a good place for breakfast (Cafe de Centro). Two coffees and 2 cakes cost 60M$. Have found the bakery where the cafe buys the cakes from - 200 meters away (get out from the hotel, turn left and go to the first intersection, turn right and after the second corner on your right you will see the bakery with hughes wedding cakes in the window). Next to the coffee shop to the right there is a small place to eat lunch at for a few pesos.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Las76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#182 of 305 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Hotel Universal
#136 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Fornos
Hotel Fornos
#116 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hotel Castropol
Hotel Castropol
#85 of 305 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Diligencias
Hotel Diligencias
#108 of 305 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Hotel Costa Azul
#142 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principal

Property: Hotel Principal
Address: Calle Bolivar 29 | Centro Histórico, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Principal 1.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Principal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principal Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Principal Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing