We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Update on Roosevelt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roosevelt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Roosevelt to your Saves list
Hotel Roosevelt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Insurgentes Sur, 287 | Colonia Hipódromo Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico (Condesa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #95 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Update on Roosevelt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed at the Roosevelt on two occasions in July for short stops between other venues. I've stayed there various times over the past 10 years and find it about the same as ever. It may be getting a little frayed about the edges (the two guest rooms I was in could use a little paint and fix-up) but the experience was essentially the same as ever. Many of the staff have been in place for years and are cordial and efficient. I use an interior room, so the noise problem is a non-issue for me. Stayed in an outside room once with my wife, double-glazing kept most of the noise at bay and the Popocatepetl side is quieter than Yucatan.

Room Tip: See review for advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WalkingBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    59
    37
    8
    2
See reviews for
9
34
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This hotel is a good choice if you are planning on spending time in a lot of different neighborhoods, as it is centrally located between Roma and Condessa. I wish there had been a subway stop closer, because it is quite far away from the historic district. It is on a pretty busy street so ask for an inside room if you are interested in quiet. My biggest compliant was the bed, which was pretty hard, but overall, I thought the hotel was a good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensenville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

My favorite little hotel in Mexico City. The same staff has been there for a long time and they know me by my first name. It has been remodeled. Convenient to the Metrobus. A short walk to the Zona Rosa. Rooms are a little small, but pleasantly decorated with a European style. They even let my dog (a small bichon) stay with me. The restaurant is pretty good if you don't feel like leaving the hotel. They will send a SUV to the airport to pick me up, usually less $$ than the registered taxi. However, unless you're comfortable with the lifestyle in urban Mexico, it would be better to stay at a brand name hotel.

Room Tip: Move up one grade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I spent 2 nights at the Roosevelt and was partially disapointed.

Pros: Great location in La Condesa, great restaurants and bars close by.

Cons: Old building with an ancient style. Basic service. Soviet atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed for 1 night at the hotel and left the morning for another place.

Room was very small, bed linens, courtains and towels were rotten with holes and steins.

Bathroon was ok, with hot running water.

Location is not the best, it felt a little dangerous. I would not go back there. The price was low, but not the lowest.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mtorres108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

had been staying here for 6 years. under new management and the place is dreadful. low morale with staff. new all night bars all around the already noisy hotel. people yelling in the halls and the staff making noise in the early morning. after 6 years with this hotel [3 times a year] the new management will not make a reservation for a suite. the long weekend we stayed there the restaurant flooded and the place had a sewer smell. too bad. it was once a good hotel.

Room Tip: all the rooms are noisy what with the noise outside and maids and guest inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is a good choice for economy hotel in a great, central location, near MexiBus which is fantastic way to travel around the city. The only thing I would change is they need better quality pillows on the bed. They were stuffed with a material that was coarse and prickly which scratched my face through the coverings. Otherwise, for the $50US we paid for two of us, the room was clean and the bathroom functioned well. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trish604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Condesa
Segovia Regency
Segovia Regency
#80 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Condesa
Hotel Block Suites
Hotel Block Suites
#139 of 305 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Condesa
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#33 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roma
Hotel Stanza
Hotel Stanza
#79 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#32 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Roma
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#143 of 305 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roosevelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roosevelt

Property: Hotel Roosevelt
Address: Insurgentes Sur, 287 | Colonia Hipódromo Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roosevelt 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Roosevelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Roosevelt Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing