We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice travelers' hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roosevelt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Roosevelt
Ranked #90 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice travelers' hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This hotel is a good choice if you are planning on spending time in a lot of different neighborhoods, as it is centrally located between Roma and Condessa. I wish there had been a subway stop closer, because it is quite far away from the historic district. It is on a pretty busy street so ask for an inside room if you are interested in quiet. My biggest compliant was the bed, which was pretty hard, but overall, I thought the hotel was a good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    62
    37
    8
    2
See reviews for
11
37
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bensenville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

My favorite little hotel in Mexico City. The same staff has been there for a long time and they know me by my first name. It has been remodeled. Convenient to the Metrobus. A short walk to the Zona Rosa. Rooms are a little small, but pleasantly decorated with a European style. They even let my dog (a small bichon) stay with me. The restaurant is pretty good if you don't feel like leaving the hotel. They will send a SUV to the airport to pick me up, usually less $$ than the registered taxi. However, unless you're comfortable with the lifestyle in urban Mexico, it would be better to stay at a brand name hotel.

Room Tip: Move up one grade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I spent 2 nights at the Roosevelt and was partially disapointed.

Pros: Great location in La Condesa, great restaurants and bars close by.

Cons: Old building with an ancient style. Basic service. Soviet atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed for 1 night at the hotel and left the morning for another place.

Room was very small, bed linens, courtains and towels were rotten with holes and steins.

Bathroon was ok, with hot running water.

Location is not the best, it felt a little dangerous. I would not go back there. The price was low, but not the lowest.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mtorres108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

had been staying here for 6 years. under new management and the place is dreadful. low morale with staff. new all night bars all around the already noisy hotel. people yelling in the halls and the staff making noise in the early morning. after 6 years with this hotel [3 times a year] the new management will not make a reservation for a suite. the long weekend we stayed there the restaurant flooded and the place had a sewer smell. too bad. it was once a good hotel.

Room Tip: all the rooms are noisy what with the noise outside and maids and guest inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is a good choice for economy hotel in a great, central location, near MexiBus which is fantastic way to travel around the city. The only thing I would change is they need better quality pillows on the bed. They were stuffed with a material that was coarse and prickly which scratched my face through the coverings. Otherwise, for the $50US we paid for two of us, the room was clean and the bathroom functioned well. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trish604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acolman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

I chose this hotel based on the good reviews, the price (about $65 per night) and the location. I have to say, it exceeded my expectations. The rooms were very clean and the maids left two bottles of water for us everyday. The room wasn't exactly spacious, but they definitely weren't cramped for two adults and one young child. The pillows were a little harder than what I prefer and the mattress was a pillowtop that was softer than expected. The soap and shampoo were horrible, it dried out our skin and frizzed out our hair, I would recommend bringing your own or bring lots of lotion. The showers were refreshing with nice hot water and strong water pressure. One thing I didn't like about the rooms is that they get stuffy fast. The ceiling fan worked great, but I would recommend leaving the window open a few inches to get some fresh air. The windows were thick and they did a good job at keeping the traffic noise out. Another thing, keep kids away from the window, there is no screen and it could be dangerous to not watch your child in the room with the window open, especially on one of the higher floors.

I was very happy with the staff. Anytime you passed them in the hall they said hi. Check-in and check-out was quick and any question you asked was answered enthusiastically. We were especially happy when we were informed that internet was free, we weren't charged one peso for access. That was a huge convenience for us. When we reserved our room online, we requested a quiet room and we were thrilled to find that they accommodated us by putting us on a higher floor, farther from the traffic noise. Sleep came easy to us all.

The location was great. The hotel sits on one of the corners of a 5-point intersection and there are plenty of different restaurants and convenience stores to chose from. It is close to Chapultepec Park (less than 10 minutes by taxi) and the Angel of Independence as well as some good shopping malls. Also, there were a lot of interesting bars around in the area, but we didn't try out any of them because it was a family trip.

The hotel restaurant was convenient and the menu provided plenty of options to keep all of us happy. After we looked at the prices, we made the mistake of assuming that the plates were small and we ordered too much food. Just one bowl a soup filled me up since a bread basket came with it, and it the best tortilla soup I ever had. The breakfast menu was a great thing to look forward to in the mornings. They are open late so when we got back from touring late, we could order some good, hot food from the restaurant. They deliver it to your room free of charge, just make sure you tip.

Overall, we were extremely satisfied with Hotel Roosevelt. The value was excellent and we would have stayed longer if our bodies weren't so exhausted from dragging around an energetic 4 year old for 2 days straight. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and we hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Key13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Condesa
Segovia Regency
Segovia Regency
#83 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Condesa
Hotel Block Suites
Hotel Block Suites
#112 of 305 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Roma
Hotel Stanza
Hotel Stanza
#76 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#47 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#35 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Roma
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#128 of 305 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roosevelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roosevelt

Property: Hotel Roosevelt
Address: Avenida Insurgentes sur 287 | Colonia Hipódromo Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roosevelt 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Roosevelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Roosevelt Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing