We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”
Review of Hotel Milan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Milan
Ranked #151 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We booked Hotel Milan in lieu of our usual B&B (Red Tree House) on advice of friends. The hotel is clean and the place can best be described as functional. You get what you pay for, I suppose and Hotel Milan offers a small, clean room right on Ave. Obregon in the heart of Roma. So far, so good. But we went through two rooms where the safes did not work. There is significant street noise (Hospital Obregon is just down the street and has a busy emergency room) and noise from adjacent rooms was distracting. The rooms (at least the rooms we saw) are small and have one double bed. I have to take some responsibility for an issue tonight, but the hotel also shares some of the blame. I had the front desk call a cab for us and Julio arrived within 5 minutes. We gave him a restaurant address in Condessa, maybe two KMs away. When we arrived at the restaurant the taxi charge was 90 pesos! By comparison, the return taxi was 18 pesos. I should know better than taking a cab in Mexico City that is unmetered without agreeing on a price in advance. But the hotel should know better than calling taxis that are going to extort people. Upon return to the hotel, I spoke with the woman at the desk who had called the cab. She didn't seem particularly concerned that we had been overcharged. I sure won't trust the staff to call a taxi for me again.
So, if you do decide to stay in Hotel Milan, get a room away from the street and see if you can upgrade to a room with a little more space. And get your own cab on the street and be sure it is metered.

Room Tip: get a room off Ave Obregon and in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mexicosma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    69
    14
    7
    9
See reviews for
20
38
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay in Hotel Milan. Is in a perfect location in Colonia Roma, super clean rooms with shampoo/conditioner/soap provided and, the biggest bonus of all - extremely friendly, helpful and professional staff. There is a wonderful cafe/bookstore next to the Milan that serves delicious food with lots of veg options (our favourite food of the trip).

Mexico City is amazing and was one of the highlights of our trip.

Will definitely return to Hotel Milan when we have the pleasure of coming back to Mexico City.

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms at the back of the hotel - these are nicer and quieter than the front rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raincoat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Is a very nice place, don't wait for some expensive and luxury, bout you can expend a very relax days in this hotel...

Room Tip: Ask for the street ones..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tavomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2011

The place is very clean, situated around trendy neighborhoods with cafes and restaurants. Has cable but in Spanish, free wi-fi in the lobby, reception, while Spanish speaking, was very helpful. Beds are very hard, but they are in most places in Mexico, and only came with two pillows. The price ended up being lower then we were quoted on the phone, about $45 a night, which was well worth the $10 extra compared to a budget hotel in the historic center that we used on our last trip to D.F.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJtravels2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Attractive, modern decor; very clean, comfortable rooms, though rather small. Very helpful staff provided extra bottled water, blankets, an on-time wake up call, etc. Great location in an interesting neighborhood. We asked for a quiet room, and they gave us on at the back of the hotel which would have been very quiet except for the amorous couple next door and the usual paper-thin walls.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alm711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2010

I spent a week at the Hotel Milan during my first visit to Mexico City and found Hotel Milan to be a perfect choice. It was the best priced hotel in the Roma area I found online before my trip, at about $50 US per night for a double room with two beds and a fan. Visitors who don't need a full-on luxury hotel and just want a nice, quiet hotel in a great neighborhood will do well to choose Hotel Milan. The room we had was pretty small, but recently remodeled and very comfortable. Alvaro Obregon is a tree-lined main street in the Roma with lots of cafes, shops and fondas, well situated within walking distance to two metro stops and Condesa. Although they do have a website and it appears that you can book your reservation online, I was told that function is not working. They can be reached by email at hmilan94@hotmail.com and a room can be booked that way.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coopz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

As I'd already been advised by reviewers before me, this hotel is so no-frills it's practically decor-less. No quaint Mexican charm here. Just clean, modern, functional, and safe, with excellent service. My single room was small, but well-outfitted (except for the usual Mexican low-light which is less than ideal for reading) and comfortable. The desk service was efficient, polite, and helpful. For 450 pesos a night (single) in a good neighborhood, a steal.

Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank hypnolinguist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Roma
Hotel Stanza
Hotel Stanza
#78 of 310 in Mexico City
272 reviews
Roma
Four Points by Sheraton Mexico City Col. Roma
Roma
Hotel MX Roma
Hotel MX Roma
#126 of 310 in Mexico City
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roma
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#182 of 310 in Mexico City
97 reviews
Roma
Nima Local House Hotel
Nima Local House Hotel
#41 of 310 in Mexico City
51 reviews
Roma
La Valise Hotel
La Valise Hotel
#18 of 310 in Mexico City
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milan

Property: Hotel Milan
Address: Avenida Alvaro Obregon 94 | Colonia Roma, Mexico City 06700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Roma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Number of rooms: 184
Also Known As:
Milan Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Milan Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing