We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre but Safe”
Review of Hotel Marlowe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Marlowe
Ranked #66 of 313 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The fear of staying in a bad neighborhood can be overwhelming if you are a first time visitor.
Rest assured the neighborhood is safe and clean. The location is actually a ten minute walk to the Cathedral and Palacio. There is three metro lines with nearby stops. You will need to make three transfers if coming from the airport.
The rooms are without air conditioning!!
The beds are firm and daily room service. Nothing special.
For the price....a good choice because of location and neighborhood.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sneezenwheez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
55219540, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Marlowe, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014
Google Translation

Muy buenas tardes,

Estamos muy contentos de que haya elegido nuestro hotel como su opción de hospedaje, todas sus opiniones y comentarios los tomaremos en cuenta para su próxima estancia en Hotel Marlowe.

Sin más por el momento, le deseo una excelente tarde.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 401 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed in Hotel Marlowe from January 17-20. I chose this hotel because of its location (close to almost everything) but I was terribly disappointed with my overall hotel experience. First, only one staff in the reception spoke English but he wasn't attentive at all when I was speaking to him (he was counting coins). They just literally threw the key to me and pointed at the elevator without saying anything. Second, the TV wasn't working so I called the front desk, and the guy promised to send somebody to fix it. One hour later, there wasn't anybody. I brought the remote control to the front desk because I thought that was the problem (and it was). I wasn't very happy so I told the staff that I changed my mind staying in their hotel and that they must refund my money, which was already paid in full via Expedia. I stayed with them anyway with so much regret because my vacation was ruined.

Third, the room was really small. I am a traveler and I stayed in other hotels similar to Marlowe but I have never seen such small hotel room with odd layout. The noise coming from the other room was horrible. There wasn't any wall insulation at all so one can hear what the other people are doing in the adjacent room. I did not sleep at all during my last night there. January is cold there but there wasn't any heating system at all. I wonder how tourists who stay there survive the heat in summer!

The staff is clueless when I asked them about tourist destinations close to the hotel. They were only knowledgeable about taxi fares.

The wifi in my room was just hopeless. I had to go down to the lobby to access the internet.

The location is good though because it is walking distance to the historic district and museums. I warn you though that after walking around and enjoying the views, you will go back to this hotel and do not get to rest at all.

I am sure there are better hotels in the historic district with the same price as Marlowe.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julius12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
55219540, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Marlowe, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014
Google Translation

Buenas tardes,

Agradecemos de antemano sus comentarios, nuestro hotel siempre busca otorgar la mejor calidad en nuestro servicio a nuestros huéspedes.

Lamentamos mucho que su experiencia en nuestras instalaciones no haya cumplido con sus expectativas, de cualquier forma estamos haciendo todo lo posible por mejorar nuestros servicios pensando siempre en la comodidad de nuestros clientes.

Espero nos considere la próxima vez que vuelva a visitar nuestra ciudad.

Saludos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Arrived on December 25, 2013 to this wonder after a 12 hour non-stop drive from Mérida, Yucatán. Hard to drive in Mexico City and find a way to get to this hotel the easiest way possible. Front desk clerk took a while to find our reservation, nevertheless was fairly slow but acceptable. Loitering security agents looked disgruntled and never helpful. Hotel has 60 or so rooms and only 12 parking slots. First come, first serve (compact cars only). Rooms are really nice, safe and clean. Location is unquestionable. Everything is right there in the middle of the millenarian México City. Last morning at the hotel, I was really on a hurry to use the hotel lobby restroom. Walked in to find a housekeeping lady mopping the floor. She saw me and didn´t say a word. Kept on mopping. After my hurries were getting higher and higher, I decided to ask her if it would still take long to finish. She looked at me and said... yes. No other word came out of her mouth. I asked her if there was another restroom and she referred me to the front desk, pointing at the clerk. I had to run upstairs to the mezzanine or an accident could almost happened. Other than that, great place to stay and enjoy México City. One more thing, before I forget. The rooms have no A/C nor heating or furnaces. Your options are either a ceiling fan or an extra cover.

Room Tip: No need, rooms look and smell all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HectorRodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
55219540, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Marlowe, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Sr. Héctor.

Queremos agradecer su opinión acerca del hotel. En Hotel Marlowe siempre estamos dispuestos a mejorar nuestro servicio y ofrecerles a nuestros huéspedes la mejor experiencia posible en su estancia en nuestra ciudad.

Estamos tomando las medidas necesarias para mejorar detalles en nuestro servicio de recepción. Esperamos que la próxima vez que visite nuestra ciudad elija a Hotel Marlowe como su primer opción.

Agradecemos su atención y gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Located just a block from the Bellas Artes, it is a rather central location with short distance to the train station and walk to Zocalo. Receptionist spoke limited English. Main gripe was the poor sound insulation; I could hear noises of showers, voices, closing of doors and conversations. The toilet paper holder in the suite, which I was upgraded to, was installed so far away from the toilet seat that you had to raise your butts reach the toilet paper, really impractical. I ended up removing the toilet paper roll and placed it within reach instead. Breakfast buffet was not included; quality was so-so for the price. I went to El Moro for hot chocolate and churros, which was a short walk away and way more satisfying. There was no air conditioning, just a ceiling fan, so would be hot in warmer months.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank chezkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Hotel's location is nice, close to the main street. But the room was not so nice as the location. It was small, old and has not enough fresh air. The staff were poor of English and not so symphatic.Even not so helpfull.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SUNAY1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

From the moment i checked in at the Marlowe Hotel I felt very welcomed. My hotel room was very clean and comfortable. The location is great because with a great pair of walking shoes you can get to many attractions on foot such as Palace of Fine Arts , Zocalo , Templo Mayor , Museum of Tolerance , Latin American Tower , Metropolitan Cathedral. If you need to get to an attraction to far to walk the hotel has reliable and safe drivers to get you there for a reasonable price. I used their service to get me to the Anthropology Museum. Plus there is an Oxxo store nearby if you want to buy beer and snacks to have in your room. Or if your in the mood for American fast food there is a Burger King and McDonalds within walking distance. If you decide you want to visit Mexico City and stay in the Centro Historico then I recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I am normally a big fan of this hotel and have stayed there a number of times. I have noticed, however, on the few occasions that I use a booking service I am usually given an undesirable room. My recent experience though, booking through Expedia, far exceeded my worse expectations. I was put in a room that was more like a large, dingy closet with no real windows. I’m pretty sure that standards for prison cells in the US exceeds the level of this room.

Also, I was not permitted to have a room key card. When I needed to get into my room I had to come to the front desk and wait for them to find an employee to let me into my room. The hotel seemed to be about 25% full, so it was hard to understand this treatment, unless of course one makes the assumption that they were going out of their way to make the life of people who use a booking service, like Expedia, a living hell.

This is a nice hotel in a terrific location, but don’t use a booking service unless you want to be jerked around endlessly. It makes you wonder why they use a booking service? One of the problems is that no hotel employee speaks any English, or probably any language other than Spanish. So, unless you are a fluent Spanish speaker it is hard to contact the hotel, say by phone, and deal with them directly. This is a bit of a dilemma for non-Spanish speakers who want to make sure that they have a room in advance.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank SantaMonicaLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#37 of 313 in Mexico City
614 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
#120 of 313 in Mexico City
218 reviews
Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
#38 of 313 in Mexico City
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#36 of 313 in Mexico City
989 reviews
Alameda
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
#27 of 313 in Mexico City
743 reviews
Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
#81 of 313 in Mexico City
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marlowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marlowe

Address: Av Independencia 17 | Colonia Centro, Mexico City 06050, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Alameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 313 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range: $55 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marlowe 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Marlowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlowe Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Marlowe Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing