We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad I Returned (and Receptionist Actually Smiled!!)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fleming

Hotel Fleming
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Fleming
Ranked #171 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Glad I Returned (and Receptionist Actually Smiled!!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2008

My first return visit to the Fleming, and room 506 reassured my why I returned. Love the jacuzzi, a great deal at 500 pesos. Excellent hot water supply in the shower. Large, comfy bed. I just wish that the window would open more as the room got a bit warm.

The restaurant staff was wonderful (Hello Juan!!), and the food high-caliber -- nice variety with a Mexican flair.

This trip I went out of my way to try to get somebody from the reception desk to smile, having read reviews that it didn't happen, and observing so myself last Septermber. Well, it WORKED!! The lady at the front desk smiled and was quite helpful. Never got the male working there to commit, but he was still very helpful, just in a perfunctory manner.

Man, this hotel's great location makes it a bargain. A few blocks from Alameda/Bellas Artes/Sheraton. Lots of shops and street vendors in the surrounding blocks. Zocalo not far, and either a long walk along Reforma, or a ~10-minute taxi to Chapultepec. It's also just 2 blocks from the Metro Juarez.

Looking forward to returning.

  • Liked — Location/Value/Jacuzzi!!
  • Disliked — Wish the Internet were more reliable and fast.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank AAJetMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    58
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
30
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Fleming, and decided to stay there again, after a horrible experience at another hotel just down the street. I'll talk about that one in a minute.

The location is perfect. The restaurant offers good affordable food and they're open until 11pm. No complaints about the room itself, it was very big and clean, and what you would expect at a Holiday Inn type of hotel. I would also have to agree with the other reviewer that the television cable was not all that good and the computer in the lobby was a little outdated. However they do offer free wi-fi, if you bring your own laptop (which I would advise not doing). Nevertheless there are several inexpensive internet cafe's nearby.

The staff was mediocre in my opinion and were not really that helpful or friendly. It seemed like most of the front staff were not happy to be there. That was one of my dislikes about the hotel, especially after staying with them for about 11 nights. They did not offer any type of discounts for extended stay visitors. Secondly, the actual exterior of the building itself isnt that attractive. Also no AC, but they did have a ceiling fan, which seemed to suffice. Finally, street noise is an issue if you are assigned a room facing the street, so I would reccommend opting for an interior room.

The neighborhood iffy, and it seems that the Flemming sits right on the border of ghetto and safe-area. To the north, adjacent to the Park and Juarez Ave, there are other hotels and restaurants, and bakeries. The Sheraton Tower is in that direction and the metro, Starbucks, Zocalo, and all museums and sights are within walking distance. However, To the south, Be Careful! This is the area which is more industrial. It seems to cater to tradesmen, electricians and plumbers.

About a week into our stay at the Flemming we came across another hotel- The Conde. This hotel is located in this industrial area, situated about 2 blocks south of the Flemming. Everything seemed almost the same, minus the restaurant and security glass seperating the front desk and clients. The room was standard, and at the amazing price of $18, we decided to give it a try for a couple of days to try to save some money. This is a decision I now regret. After coming back from shopping for about 6 hours, we discovered that our new laptop computer, Ipod, and expensive camera were stolen from the room. I had the key on me the entire day, and nobody else had access to the room, except for the Hotel Conde staff. Obviously they denied having any involvement, or knowing anything. Just the kind of thing you hear about in Mexico, "I dont know anything". Unfortunately, the police couldnt help much either. Of course its not the end of the world, but just a little bitter sweet reminder and lesson that trying to bargain hunt in Mexico City is not the most wise thing to be thinking about. Mexico is not the United States.

That day we returned to the Hotel Flemming, and managed to have a great time for the rest of our stay. So I would definitely reccomend the Hotel Flemming to anyone, and plan on staying there again when I return this September.

  • Liked — Good Quality and Price
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank WebDeveloper2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2008

This hotel is only two blocks from the Sheraton Centro Historico and about 15-20 minutes from the Zocalo. There are a ton of restaurants (real ones and Mexican "al fresco" ones in the park), bars, clubs and sights in the area. The metro is great, but this hotel's location makes the central area very walkable.
Maid service was average, the front desk speaks no English and I did not eat in the restaurant as I wanted to be in a vibrant Mexico City and not my hotel, but $35 per night (in a holiday week) makes it a great stay.

  • Liked — location (x3) and price
  • Disliked — nothing was unacceptable; all good for the price
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KevinShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Fleming..so we booked again for a second time during the end of our Mexico trip. The location is perfect. The Sheraton is located one block away but at Hotel Fleming you pay half the price! The Metro is located one block away, the Zocalo and all museums and sights are within walking distance. The restaurant offers yummy food at a good price. The staff is kind and are always willing to offer advice and directions. Our room was very big. We had a California King Size bed and a hot tub. Only dislikes is that the television cable was not all that good and the internet in the lobby was very expensive. There are many cheap internet cafe's around the neighborhood.
Overall, this has been the best bargain I have found in Mexico City. It is truly a hidden bargain that I recommend to all!

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Disliked — Cable television and pricey internet
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank j10oreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2007

Hotel Fleming is a business-like hotel. Clean and tidy but not fancy. Location is just fine near Zokalo. Rooms are quite small for our family of 5 but for two they are just fine. Internet connection in the rooms is lacking, there is just a coin operated pc in the lobby. Ok stay if you look for good hotel to overnight. Breakfast is overpriced, that gives some minus.

  • Liked — Good location
  • Disliked — Lack of internet connection in the rooms.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank peter_homefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue WA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2007

This was our second stay at the Hotel Fleming (the first was in 2002). This moderately inexpensive hotel ($USD 45) is conveniently located south of the Alameda and is very close to the Juarez Metro Station. It is an excellent choice if you want to see the sites of the central historic district as you can enjoy the walk either along Ave Indepencia or the Alameda or take the Metro if your feet are sore. It is an easy bus ride (4 or 5 pesos) to the outstanding museums at Chapultepec. Out bound catch one labeled Auditorio on Paseo de Reforma, look for one labelled Hidalgo to return.

Although the rooms are small, they are clean, well-furnished, and comfortable. TV, no AC, but did have a ceiling fan. There is an elevator. Beds are hard, but extra pillows are available. Staff were very responsive. The most awkward part about this hotel is the lack of e-mail or website. We arrived without a reservation but you can call them directly for a reservation, as they will find someone who speaks English to take your call. Bottled water is available for an extra charge. The restaurant is also a good value, with long hours.

The neighborhood is in transition. To the north, adjacent to the Alameda, new hotels are under construction and Avenue Indepencia, 1 block north of the Hotel has lots of services including a good bakery and a DHL/shipping store where you can get boxes to pack your souvenirs even if you check them as baggage. To the south, it seems to be a neighborhood of kitchen fixtures and appliances, Enjoy.

  • Liked — Location and price, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Hard beds
Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Fred&Maisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2006

I was a little nervous about staying at the Hotel Fleming because the most recent review in Trip Advisor was from several years ago, but I decided to give it a try. I was more than happy I did. The hotel is in a great location, a pleasant walk to the Zocalo, two blocks from Parque Alameda, close to several metro stations. The hotel was clean and comfortable, the staff was exceptional. I will be returning to Mexico City in November and will definetly be staying at Hotel Fleming.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank matthew t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Alameda
Hotel Marlowe
Hotel Marlowe
#51 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Alameda
City Express Ciudad de Mexico Alameda
Alameda
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#83 of 305 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alameda
San Francisco Hotel
San Francisco Hotel
#252 of 305 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
#78 of 305 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Alameda
Hotel San Diego
Hotel San Diego
#118 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fleming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fleming

Property: Hotel Fleming
Address: Revillagigedo 35 | Centro, Mexico City 06050, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Alameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fleming 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Fleming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleming Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Fleming Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing