We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms and People”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Diplomatico
Ranked #188 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rooms and People”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I believe the Hotel El Diplomatico could be the better in Mexico DF, but the lack of tolerance and friendliness of your staff will never come. Situation that happened to me: I was sharing an apartment with a friend who came from Argentina and were going to spend 6 days, then each paid 3 daily at the hotel, but my friend had problems on the credicard and just unlock it after 3 days. On the third day, they blocked our access to the room and just let us pay rise when the rest of the day. OMG! Every hotel in the world you can pay at checkout! Really can not recommend the lack of friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brunobbatista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    81
    64
    22
    32
See reviews for
34
28
21
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lapua, Finland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was my second time in Mexico City and from the previous experience I learned to request a quiet room. Reception personnel was not too fluent in English and they look each other when I made my request. The bell boy took my luggage and lead me to 1st floor room on the side of the main street. I explained to him that I wanted a quiet room, well, this one is not. We headed back to reception and he got me a 4th floor room at the back side. This time the room was quiet, very good!

Room is OK albeit a bit old fashioned and had a bit worn furniture. It was equipped with aircon which I did not need in October. Safe yes, but I newer bothered to get a key for it. No bar in the room but one could buy food & drinks in the empty fridge. Bath room was OK. You can hear some noises from the outside and from the other rooms but nothing that would bother too much. In the evenings cigarette smoke got into room (416), I do not know how. It was bothering a bit.

Breakfast was a Mexican style buffet. Luckily they also have youghurts and fruits available so it was OK.

I spent one week in the hotel. It is good enough work work trip when you do not spend much time in the room. The desk was not ergonomically right for me, I got my shoulders aching after working besides the desk with laptop.

Not a Hilton but supposedly good value for the money. Good access to the Metrobus station and subway. Plenty of eating places around. Including large McDonalds and a couple of Japanese restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, higher floors and not on the main street side. Go back to lobby if you do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
181 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent 6 nights at this hotel. It is reasonably priced and well located if you need to be in the southern part of the centre. The rooms are large and comfortable, as is the bathroom, though the furnishings are a bit worn and old-fashioned. The staff are friendly enough but stretched thin. Don't ask for information at reception, go straight to the bellboys near the front door, they know their stuff. The main problem is that the key cards need to be reactivated constantly; if you manage to get into your room three times in a row without reactivation, you're lucky. There are different choices for breakfast. The buffet is possibly too Mexican (chicken mole is not standard breakfast fare), but the fruit selection is nice. The hotel offers a taxi service. It is a bit expensive and they take a commission. You're better off walking to the "taxi de sitio" round the corner, next to Fogonazo, a nice Mexican fast food eatery. It is perfectly safe to get a cab there and you pay a lot less. We took one of their taxis to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
827 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 589 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I are staying here for 3 weeks and then another week towards the end of September 2013. My husband is working here in Mexico City for 4 weeks and this hotel was recommended to us. I read the reviews and had mixed feelings about staying here. That said I should mention that we have lived in Mexico City many times and twice we have had long stays of 3-4 months in different parts of the city. I have to say that we are both very pleased with this hotel and especially the location. True there are other hotels in Mexico City that are most likely nicer more elegantly appointed, but this hotel is perfectly adequate for us. We did follow a trip advisor review recommendation and requested a room in the back. These rooms apparently have been renovated and are relatively quiet considering we are next to one of the busiest streets in Mexico City.
The room is fairly large, larger than what we expected. It has two double beds, a desk and a nice love seat as well as a separate closet and armoire. The bathroom is fine and very clean, good hot water every day. The room has good AC and the best thing is that wi fi does not have to be reprogrammed everyday anymore and it works pretty well from the room.

Have not eaten at the restaurant yet as there are plenty of street vendors selling all kinds of great stuff for breakfast. This includes chilaquiles, tamales of all kinds, chocolate, atole and a lot more.

Staff in the lobby has so far been courteous and the check in was very quick.

The gym is small but adequate if you really want to work out. There is a small refrigerator that works well for keeping milk, drinks and cheese cool. You have to leave the wood door open if you want your refrigerator to work better. These refrigerators are enclosed inside a wood frame.

Two good size bottles of water are provided everyday. We brought our water purification system and it has worked great for us so we always have safe water to drink in our room.

The room comes with an ironing kit and a safe.

The location is excellent, the hotel is less than half a block from a beautiful park called “parquet hundido” or sunken park. It is fairly large and very clean. We don’t walk there at night but in the daytime there are many people jogging or walking their dogs. This alone is a good reason for us to stay at this hotel as walking for exercise in Mexico City is not something easily done on the streets.

Lots of restaurants very close to the hotel. Less than half a block there are 2 or 3 places that are open late and are not expensive. A Mac Donald’s and a subway are also fairly close. An excellent high quality bakery (el globo) is also nearby and there are other restaurants all within walking distance meaning no more than two blocks.

Over all this hotel is a good deal with very reasonable rates for Mexico City given the excellent location. The beds could be softer, but we have been able to sleep ok. I would stay here again if I were returning to work in Mexico City.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the parking lot towards the back have been remodeled and are very large. They appe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarracenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Mainly used by business people, judging by the looks of them at breakfast and the location which is full of office blocks. Useful for the metrobus stop which takes you up and down the main drag (Insurgentes) through the middle of the city. Be prepared to speak Spanish, not just here but everywhere in Mexico City. Some of the staff had some English, particularly the excellent bellboys and one or two of the waiters. We changed our room because of the noise from the street (car horns) and there was no fuss. In fact we found all Mexican people to be patient, relaxed and totally un-pushy. Don't expect to have people running about at your beck and call. Go with the flow.

Room Tip: Change your room if you overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This hotel would have looked OK in the eighties but nothing has been done to make it seem current or welcoming. That, however, was the leasdt of this hotel's problems. The first room was like an oven with air conditioning that did little to change the situation. So we asked to be moved and they did give us a better room. However, we discovered that the air conditioning did not work at all in this room. The extractor fan for the bathroom did not function either. At 8.30 in the morning, the bell at the door was rung by the cleaning staff asking if we wanted our room cleaned. When we complained yet again, they offered us yet another room and guess what back where we started. Although we were given a room in the newer part of this hotel, there were no signs about how to get back to reception. There were no pictures on the walls in the corrdiors or even a potted plant to break up the empty, empty corridors. Needless to say we decided to check out. They refused a refund and we're now taking it up with the consumer bureau and the tourism ministry. I have never reviewed a hotel before but the attitudes of the staff leave no choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Because of its location we have stayed at this hotel several times and this was by far the worst. There was a large group of students who decided to have a fist fight in the early morning hours right outside our door. This went on from 1:30 am until about 5:30 am. It took several calls to the front desk to get them to call the police. We complained to management and they were very unapologetic. Their attitude was "these are young students." They moved us to another room, but the situation was not remedied. Uncaring, unprofessional, and lackadaisical management attitude. We will never stay there again.

Room Tip: AC sounds like an F-16 Elevators broke down constantly Old, unkept rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel El Greco
#244 of 305 in Mexico City
52 reviews
Juárez
City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur
Beverly Hotel
#243 of 305 in Mexico City
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Express Patio Universidad
#67 of 305 in Mexico City
496 reviews
One Ciudad de Mexico Patriotismo
#71 of 305 in Mexico City
412 reviews
Fiesta Inn Insurgentes Sur
#42 of 305 in Mexico City
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Diplomatico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Diplomatico

Property: Hotel El Diplomatico
Address: Avenida Insurgentes Sur 1105 | Colonia Nochebuena, Mexico City 03720, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Diplomatico 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Diplomatico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Diplomatico Hotel
El Diplomatico Mexico City
Hotel El Diplomatico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing