We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Del Principado
Ranked #103 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed June 5, 2010

My fiance and I stayed at the Del Principado for two nights prior to joining a tour group in Mexico City. I really enjoyed staying there and felt very comfortable.

The are seems to be a more wealthy and trendy type are with lots of funky little eateries and shops as well as the western staples (Starbucks, Burger King, Wendys and 7/11) if your palate so desires... most people were friendly and the area felt safe enough to walk aroud by oursleves.

The room was fairly modern and clean and the staff were all very friendly and most spoke English which helped when our limited Spanish failed us. I would definately recommend Del Principado and would stay there again in a minute.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikalodien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Del Principado
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 497 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2010

Enchanting staff. Centrally located in the heart of Mexico City. After staying in this Hotel you'll be sure to return...I know I will!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LILITAFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Having just spent 6 weeks travelling around Mexico, this is my hotel of choice. It is not 5 star but the hotel is very comfortable, the staff amazingly friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is relaxed. Situated only 5 minutes walk from the lively zona rosa its ideal for those who want a lively night life or eating out. The rooms are comfortable and furnished in a modern style, with a hint of Asturias in northern Spain. The resturant food also has Spanish twist. Breakfast and WiFi are included in the price.The tarrifs are very reasonable for a hotel in the heart of the city and communication links are good for the Metro and airport. I will return!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelling_engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2010

Spent a total of one week at the Del Principado at the start and finish of a 26 day trip to Palenque and back. Really excellent staff and location make it a great choice in Mexico City. The complimentary breakfast is as generous as you care to make it with bottomless freshly squeezed orange juice...yummm!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marmotab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

My daughter and I just spent 6 days at Hotel Del Principado. The location is very conventient - only blocks from the Metro. The breakfast buffet was incredible - huge assortment of Mexican dishes (as well as the usual yogurt/cereal) which appeals to those of us who do not favor normal breakfast food. Afternoon and dinner menus were also very good. Cute little market across the street for water, gum, etc. The staff is the best! Very accommodating, knowledgable, helpful and had a sense of humor. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug89523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed three nights in a standard room. The room was nothing to get excited about but was a good size and clean with a comfortable bed and cable TV. The bathroom was also a good size with toiletries and a hair dryer provided and plenty of hot water. The room was an internal room and the only window opened to a ventilation shaft about 4 sq mtrs in size. At the bottom of the shaft there was some sort of motor (air-conditioning?) that came on and off and produced a bit of noise. Otherwise the room was quiet. The room rate include a buffet breakfast which was very good. The hotel is ideally located on the edge of Zona Rosa so within walking distance of the cafes, nightlife, etc but far enough away from the noise of that area. Reception staff were generally helpful. Complimentary internet is available.
A couple of negatives. First, the entrance to the bathroom of our room (room 213) dropped about an inch when walked on. This was unnerving, although it appeared there was support for the floor once it sagged the inch. We mentioned it to a staff member who said he would see about fixing it or moving us to another room. But we heard nothing further. Second, although the room rate was quoted in US$ on the Internet the room is charged in pesos on your credit card. The rate of the room was clearly noted in the reception area as 825 pesos per night. However my credit card was charged 845 pesos because that is the amount the US$ charge converted to when the hotel's exchange rate (favorable to them, of course) was applied. It seems strange that the hotel penalizes guests who take the time to book in advance (other hotels we stayed at in Mexico simply charged the local currency room rate). We'd consider staying again, but only after evaluating other options.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussie_bmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

I spent over 15 days in Mexico City and I moved to the Hotel del Principado from another more expensive hotel in the Zona Rosa. This hotel became my home base as I came back the MC from my travels to other parts fo the Mexico. All in all, it is very reasonably priced, has good/free in room WiFi, includes a buffet breakfast and it's only 3 blocks from a subway stop and 3 blocks from Reforma. Front desk is courteous and efficient, and other staff are equally friendly and helpful. Rooms are basic but very clean with comfy beds, shower and bathroom while small are also clean with a great shower/hot water.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDN_inspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Stella Maris
#115 of 312 in Mexico City
126 reviews
Posada Viena Hotel
#99 of 312 in Mexico City
161 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#45 of 312 in Mexico City
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Astor
#83 of 312 in Mexico City
151 reviews
Condesa
Segovia Regency
Segovia Regency
#95 of 312 in Mexico City
254 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel PF
Hotel PF
#62 of 312 in Mexico City
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Principado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Principado

Address: Calle Londres 42 | Colonia Juárez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#60 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $53 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Del Principado 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Del Principado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Principado Hotel
Del Principado Mexico City
Hotel Del Principado Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing