We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel staff and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Del Principado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Del Principado
Ranked #88 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
San Diego
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel staff and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The staff at this hotel are exceptionally nice and helpful and the location in the Zona Rosa is great - close to many nice restaurants and only 1 block to the MetroBus and a few more blocks to the Metro. Very safe area and this block of Calle Londres is not too busy or noisy. The room is very clean, well appointed with an excellent bed, and the buffet breakfast is good. I was here 10 days and would have preferred more variety in the buffet but this is not a big deal. Internet connection in the room was good. The bathroom is small but fine for the price of this hotel. Each Monday, we did not have hot water but the staff helped out here and we had hot water in a reasonable amount of time. Excellent water pressure in the shower. We did not eat at the restaurant. Any negatives? Our room was 101 and did not have an outside window. Instead it had a window onto a light shaft that, when opened, allowed noise from the lobby area and a stairwell to enter the room very easily. This was not a problem when the nights were cool and you could close the window. But the last few nights, it stayed very warm and the noise was annoying - especially at 4:30 in the morning. I would not recommend Room 101 in the warmer months if you like to have fresh air and an open window. Otherwise, I highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 101 when nights are warm. In the winter, this room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    181
    74
    19
    6
See reviews for
85
150
110
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed here in January 2013 on a trip to explore Mexico City, for one week. Booked this hotel partly based on the positive reviews on tripadvisor, and paid the equivalent of about $50 but used airline points.

Very happy with my choice. This is not a luxury hotel, but a nice (lower) mid range hotel. Room was very clean and large enough. Free internet worked well. Staff was always friendly and helpful. Location is good - not right in the historic center but in a nice and lively area that is fairly central and has good links to transportation. You can walk to the historic center in about 30 minutes, and in 10-15 minutes you can walk to other neighborhoods such as Roma or Condessa with nice restaurants.

Now, if you have a budget of $100 or more per night and want to impress someone, there are better choices. But for a nice city trip without a big budget, this place is great. And I was very positively surprised by Mexico City in general - will probably visit again, and will likely stay in the same hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TS-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed on Saturday night 1/26/2013. I really liked the quality of the room, including the nicely-tiled bathroom, wood-styled floor (not sure if it was real wood), high-quality linens and nice furniture. In contrast, U.S. budget motels tend to be really cheaply built. As others have noted, the location is excellent. The breakfast food was excellent. Staff was friendly and helpful. Wifi was free and worked well.

However, my room (102) was an interior room which had no real windows. (There was a window to a dark emergency exit shaft.) I don't recall seeing any indication of this in the reservation, so you may want to inquire if you want a real exterior window. The desk was small and the chair was more like a small bench with a minimal cushion. So if you plan to sit for long periods of time, the bench/chair could be a problem. The bathroom did not have a fan but had a window-type opening to a ventilation shaft.

Overall, I think this is a great budget motel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Check if you are getting a windowless interior room. Room 102 is basically windowless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxConcrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel a total of 10 nights at the start and the end of a recent trip to Mexico.Very well-located,spotlessly clean,great breakfast and a truly great staff. Always ready to help without being intrusive.During our stay we had the misfortune of losing all our ID and financial cards including our passports.The person at the reception spent several hours helping us to cancel all the cards.The next morning the management told us not to worry about payment until our embassy arranged new documents and emergency funds.We were also offered a substantial discount on the regural room rate.In decades of business and pleasure travel and hotels of every category I have never encountered a management who volunteer so much gracious and professional help.Bill and Louise Ayik.Toronto

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

There is nothing I can really add to the reviews before. The hotel has a great location (close to Paseo Reforma, ~30 minutes walk to Bosque Chapultepec, ~20 minutes walk to Alameda Central, 30 minutes by taxi to the airport, 10 to 15 minutes walk to a metro station).
The hotel is clean, the service is great and the guys at the reception are very helpful to support you.
If I will be back in Mexico City and will look for a top value for money hotel I will go back to Del Principado.
The only slight negative was that mattress in our room was a bit old and therefore not that comfortable anymore.
Will recommend it at any time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reas_ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Hotel del Principado is a very good place to stay in Mexico City. It's located less than 10 minutes walk from the Insurgentes metro station, and the area has tons of service places nearby: restaurants, shops, taco stands, tropical fruit juice stands, etc. We stayed for 6 nights there and really appreciated the quality of service and the convenient location. The room itself has plenty of space to hang/sheve clothes, and hot water was always available. The view from the window was nothing to write home though. There were always bottles of water for free and the bathroom has a hair dryer.

Breakfast was included for us for our 6 days in the city and it was good with lots of choice. We really liked the fruits there: papaya, water melon, pineapple. Loved it! There were Mexican dishes as well as Western ones to choose from.

There is also a computer room with 4 computers should you need Internet access and did not bring your laptop/smart phones. The staff at the reception desk was also very helpful and nice. You can use the safety boxes at the reception desk to keep your passport/money. Will be back to this hotel next time we're in Mexico City!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicolasQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Condesa
Segovia Regency
Segovia Regency
#91 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Posada Viena Hotel
#102 of 305 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
#77 of 305 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel PF
Hotel PF
#50 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Condesa
Hotel Block Suites
Hotel Block Suites
#111 of 305 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#40 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Principado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Principado

Property: Hotel Del Principado
Address: Calle Londres 42 | Colonia Juárez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#60 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Del Principado 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Del Principado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Principado Hotel
Del Principado Mexico City
Hotel Del Principado Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing