We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Possibly good for groups, solo stay away” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal La Buena Vida

Hostal La Buena Vida
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal La Buena Vida
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Possibly good for groups, solo stay away”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hostel is nice enough. Everything is very clean and well-kept but the ambiance just isn't there. I was there in mid-march and the hostel was an absolute ghost town. I went to another hostel 2 days later and it was much more active. No one was here aside from an Australian student I met who confirmed that before I got there he hadn't seen anyone else. The meeting/group area wasn't to inviting either.

The area can be a little sketchy at night but also very fun. Be sure to ask at the front desk. He told me which areas to avoid and fun areas to meet other young travelers. So while the area can be fun if you know where to go, the hostel itself wasn't much of a social hostel. I wouldn't mind going here with a group of friends but if I was traveling alone I definitely would not come here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
1
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

La Buena vida! This is a chill hostel located in Condesa. The Patriotismo subway stop is just a nice 5 minute walk away, and at night there are plenty of cool restaurants and bars nearby. This isn't a party hostel, but there are still opportunity's to make friends. I met some really great people there! Also the staff are extremely helpful, I wish I could give them a high five right now. Book this hostel and give everyone high fives! You wont be disappointed

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chadlindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at Hostal La Buena Vida for a couple of nights during easter 2013 at the end of my trip to Mexico. The hostel was nice in itself. The entire building is very artsy and fancy. Also, it is cleaned every day leaving it absolutely spotless. Adding to it, I felt very safe in the hostel.

However, the hostel charges double the price as other hostels with the same or better service. For that, it is not worth the price. For instance, the breakfast was the poorest I had on my entire trip to Mexico, the kitchen was not for guests' use since the closets and fridge were locked, there are no curtains in the rooms, and the one I stayed in was exceptionally noisy because it was located next to a main road. Also, I stayed in a female only dorm. However, the last night a guy came in at 11:30 PM. We solved it out, but it made me feel uncomfortable.

So I'd recommend you find another hostel with better value unless you are very much into staying in artsy, new places and not so much into socializing, good breakfasts etc.

Room Tip: I'd recommend you get an inside room since the outside one I stayed in (La Parca) was very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RikkeL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I would recommend this one highly for the following reasons:

First the location is the best, the neighbourhood of La Condesa is the place to be in terms of food, ambiance, nightlife and you have a very close access to the metro in order to move within the city.

The hostel is sparkling clean, the cleaning service is at the height of a hotel. They change your bed every day and clean the room perfectly.

It's true that it's not a cheap hostel, but Mexico City is anyway more expensive than the rest of the country.

The breakfast is ok, nothing luxurious but fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taipanspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Highly recommended - very friendly people, clean, comfortable, safe, and price isn't bad (~ $USD 20-24/night). There are mixed and female-only dorms. It was nearly empty when I was there in June 2012, probably because it's still nearly new, a little more expensive than older hostels, and Condesa isn't where most tourists flock towards (but is my favorite Mexico City neighborhood).

The location is perfect - walking distance to all of Condesa & Roma, Paseo de la Reforma, Zona Rosa, Chapultepec Park, and Parque Mexico. There is very easy metro access to Coyoacan, the Centro, and airport, and easy Metrobus (bus rapid transit) access to San Angel. The few extra pesos per night compared to most DF hostels more than make up for not having to stay in the tourist nightmares of the Centro or Zona Rosa (my opinion, obviously).

Bathrooms & rooms cleaned very well daily. Laundry on site (pay at the front desk). Combination lockers in each room. Nice common area on the top floor with computers, Wifi, lounge areas, TV, patio. There's a 7-11 a block away for water, beer, and snacks, plus restaurants, shops, and bars all over nearby.

It's a bit hard to find the first time, even with the crazy colorful lights at night - bring good directions and a map, especially if you're coming on the Metro.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rackoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

A freind and I stayed here in early June. Had been open only 5 months. We were only two in a room for 4 and it cost each of us $22 a night. Very modern and interesting and clean. On top floor there are computers to use and where you fix your breakfast. Good location and within walking ditance of parks and restaurants with a restaurant next door.

Room Tip: They have a website with photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jean117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Condesa
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
Maria Condesa Boutique Hotel
#56 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Condesa
FlowSuites Condesa
FlowSuites Condesa
#149 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Condesa
Hostal Be Condesa
Hostal Be Condesa
#35 of 130 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roma
Roomies Hostel Condesa
Roomies Hostel Condesa
#80 of 192 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Condesa
Stayinn Barefoot Condesa
Stayinn Barefoot Condesa
#28 of 192 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Condesa
Condechi B&B
Condechi B&B
#54 of 192 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Buena Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Buena Vida

Property: Hostal La Buena Vida
Address: Avenida Mazatlan 190, Mexico City 06170, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal La Buena Vida 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal La Buena Vida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Buena Vida Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing