We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful yet modest B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maria Del Alma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maria Del Alma
Ranked #22 of 130 Mexico City B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful yet modest B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is not advertised on the street so don't be concerned when you rock up to a modest looking door. As is common in Coyoacan this house is hidden behind walls, and once inside the courtyard sings with birds and hums with bees.
The room we stayed in was on the ground floor, its was well furnished, with a big comfy bed, and a Mexican tiled bathroom.
Breakfast is held on the big table in the courtyard together with the other guests, a good time to pick up trip suggestions, and tips.
Get up early to go to Frida's house, as the couches all arrive at opening and a queue forms.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarahwarrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
14
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We booked this small bed and breakfast on booking.com. It is one of the few bed and breakfasts/hotels in Coyoacan, Mexico City. It does not disappoint. It is about a 5 minute walk from Frida Kahlo's house and a 10 minute walk from the 2 large main squares in Coyoacan that have tons of restaurants and charming outdoor cafes. The owner, Fernando, and his partner, Jorge Luis are delightful (both speak English). They make a full breakfast every morning with fresh fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, toast and then some sort of Mexican style egg dish. We had eaten a lot of eggs at other places so we requested oatmeal one morning. Delicious, made with oats and flax. Our room was above the dining area in the middle of the house. It's a very large blue room with an upscale bathroom, a fridge and access to the upper terrace. The room is very relaxing with lots of windows (might be too light for some, since it gets morning sun). Very quiet. My only complaint is that it only has one reading light and the bed is a "full" - a bit small for two people. Those are minor issues and I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Probably all rooms are good. The main street is not loud.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Traveltheworld0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyborg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I really like this place. The house is beautiful and there is a lot of nice flowers and plants both on the terraces and in the patio. The owner and the other guy who operates the guest house are really nice and speaks English. There is a lot of birds both the owner's in cages but also wild birds: A colibri was sucking nectar next to me on the terrace.

The only flaw to the place is that the WIFI is of very low standard. When I arrived, I was told it worked in the communal areas and it kind of does if you can wait 5-10 minutes for it to open a web page and that is when you have four bars on the signal. So if you are dependent on a working Wifi, find another place.

I am to stay for almost a month in Mexico so I bought a Mexican telephone card with two gigs of data for my smartphone. That solved the problem and costed me 500 pesos.

I will probably visit this place again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the router :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertusNyborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Fernando Ramirez could not have been more welcoming. South American friends and I rendezvoused in Mexico City and our stay at Maria del Alma added many superlatives to the whole experience! Enjoying delicious breakfast each morning, served by Fernando and Jorge, (sometimes with another friendly guest or two), we had the feeling that we were among friends or family. Though we were there just a few days, we felt like part of Coyoacan --- and we agreed that if we were ever to move to Mexico City, we would want to live in that community. That's how lovely the experience was. Lively night life nearby in the very safe plaza area plus easy access to the Turibus that can take you to Chapultepec, the Zocalo or wherever you want to go (bus stop in front of the big church near the plaza) are a couple of "pluses" of using this as your base for exploring Mexico City. Whatever we did during the day elsewhere, when we came back in the evenings, it was off to the plaza area for a late meal, with great atmosphere all around. Everything good; I cannot think of any suggestion for Mr. Ramirez; he is an excellent host who gives you the impression that he loves taking care of visitors in what was once his grandparents' home and now is a totally lovely place to "be" in Mexico. Please also read the other reviews here; I agree with everything the other reviewers had to say.

Room Tip: I didn't see the other rooms! The one I stayed in was lovely, convenient and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaretsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

If you are looking for a difference experience of Mexico City, then you should stay at Maria del Alma. The house, not far from Frida Kahlo Museum, is beautiful. Fernando, its friendly host, will make you a delicious espresso or two in the morning and cook your breakfast to start your day in style. I agree with all other reviewers! Please look at some of the photos that I took.

Room Tip: The room at the far back of the house has the best terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ale_Ste2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here in early July '13 and had a fantastic time.

Originally we were staying in Reforma, which is a nice area aswell, but we decided to move after falling in love with Coyoacan after visiting with our friend.

Fernando, the owner, is a FANTASTIC host. He accommodated us on our late arrival (10pm), provided tips on traveling around and was just a great person to talk to. FYI - he speaks great English so don't worry about practicing your bad Spanish on him.

The house itself is absolutely beautiful. Wonderful colors, warm atmosphere and interesting decorations everywhere. It felt like we were living in a Frida Kahlo painting. Truly phenomenal.

Our room had cable TV, a nice bathroom and a comfortable bed.

Breakfast was fantastic and served when we were ready. Fernando always made sure we felt comfortable and were well fed.

I HIGHLY recommend this place. It is in a great area and hosted by a fantastic and trust worthy guy. When my parents visit I am going to insist they stay here.

Room Tip: There are different rooms, so definitely talk to Fernando to find one that fits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This recently-renovated and charming B&B is host Fernando Ramirez's family home. The four guest rooms are spacious and luxurious, beautifully furnished and appointed with large baths and/or showers. The garden is beautifully planted, quiet and serene, the house and patio decorated in traditional Mexican colors and furnishings. Fernando is an excellent breakfast chef. The house is less than 10 minutes from the Jardin de Centenario and the Cathedral and about the same distance from Casa Azul, Frida Kahlo's family home and now the Museo de Frida Kahlo. Coyoacan is lively and a safe place to walk, take in the sights, shop, and enjoy local food at many excellent restaurants near the center of the barrio. My wife and I loved both our room and our host. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in Mexico City.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HistoryprofCMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Coyoacan
La Casa del Tekolote
La Casa del Tekolote
#246 of 307 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
City Express Patio Universidad
#80 of 307 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Coyoacan
Casa Jacinta Guest House
Casa Jacinta Guest House
#13 of 130 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coyoacan
Chalet del Carmen
Chalet del Carmen
#31 of 130 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Coyoacan
Pug Seal Boutique B&B
Pug Seal Boutique B&B
#3 of 130 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Coyoacan
Casa Moctezuma
Casa Moctezuma
#41 of 192 in Mexico City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Del Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Del Alma

Property: Maria Del Alma
Address: Calle Paris 220, Mexico City 04100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Coyoacan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Maria Del Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Del Alma Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing