We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Marvelous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rococo Cafe Espresso

Rococo Cafe Espresso
Ranked #16 of 57 Coffee & Tea in Mexico City
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Neighborhood: Condesa
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Marvelous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I did not find this cafetería by accident. After reading a few reviews and noting that it was always among the 5 best coffee shops (the neighborhood also helps!) and visiting its webpage I knew it was a mandatory stop.

Everything about this place is great. Lets start from the most important part, the coffee itself...coming from its owner, who is an expert barista, a taster, a roaster and a judge of The National Barista Competition, I guess the coffee must be good...it was actually excellent! I tried their specialty "Macchiato Doble" which had the perfect combination of cream and acidity.

The service is also great, and the decoration very cool. If you want you could also seat outside in their front terrace, enjoying the surroundings of Condesa.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AleEspinola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good coffee and good methods for preparing it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I really enjoyed this place while staying in DF. I found it by accident and it was great! They have great coffee, and I really liked that they did pour-overs, french press, as well as japanese siphon style. So don´t just try a normal coffee, have them make it using one of these other methods as the taste is simply a lot better! So if you like places in the states like Stumptown or Intelligentsia or other local brewers of that variety. This is the place for you. I tried the espresso once. For me, it was ok. I prefer my espresso more rich and full, almost sweet but not really sweet in a sugary way. The espresso here was a little more bitter, which isn´t necessarily bad, but a matter of preference. The cafe has a good ambience as well.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beep1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
176 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We found it very hard to find a good coffee in Mexico or Central America for that matter. This place had a nice feel to it. Located in a nice area close to the Park and the coffee was definitely worth the money!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anhemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Nice neighborhood, close to a park and taxis, They have decaf cappuccino which we had a hard time finding.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank viajand0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really Good Coffee in Condesa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

My husband and I are coffee snobs, and during a recent visit to Mexico City we went here every morning. Really good espresso and good breakfast too and a nice neighbourhood feel.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tressa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rococo Cafe Espresso also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rococo Cafe Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing