We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Saks SAN ANGEL

Saks SAN ANGEL
Reserve with OpenTable
Saks SAN ANGEL is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #101 of 4,520 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Angel
Description: Se encuentra justo en la Plaza San Jacinto en San Ángel.
Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

In this restaurant you can find really good dishes, maybe in the order of nouvelle Mexican cuisine as they are not the traditional recipe but they are really good such as the chile relleno con hojaldre. Also a nice thing is that they bake their own bread.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lugasalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    100
    21
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good vibe, great food, low salt, a museum and a stroll inthe park”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We started coming to Mexico City in 1990 and we didn't stop at less than a coule of visits a year, every year. We've watched and experienced this city transform itself into one of the most vibrant cities in the world, definitely in the top five for foodies. So it is that every time we are In town we stop for a late and lazy breakfast at Saks in the neighborhood called Barranca del Muerto (also the name of the metro station) in San Angel district. There are five of these restaurants throughout the city, but we prefer this location, El Original. Fronting on a cobble stone street and facing a city park that almost every day is assaulted by a mob of artisans and artists, it is located right next to a very interesting museum of folk art, Casa del Risco - worth visiting for its collection as well as the ever changing exhibits. Anyway, the juices are fresh squeezed, the food uses all natural ingredients (nothing from the can) and the kitchen prepares these gourmet versions of Mexican dishes low salt and low fat. We love it. If you are not sure I am for real, just check their menus and a few pics they post on their website www.saks.com.mx - we converted long time ago and you will too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fresh ingredientes, wonderful taste”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've had dinner many times at Saks on Insurgentes Av. and I've always been very satisfied with the meals, in fact is my favorite place to celebrate my birhtday. Also, breakfast at their Polanco locations is really good. I would recomend these restaurantes for any ocasion.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pattdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankee in the South
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I've had meals here at the location in San Angel on 3 different trips and love it. The building is beautiful with a large stained glass skylight over the main dining room. It has an old hacienda feel about it but has modern, clean restrooms. One can also sit outside and enjoy views of San Angel Park. On Saturdays, enjoy a large art show in the park as well as in small parks a short walk away.
Saks bakes their own breads upstairs and they are fabulous. The chicken enchiladas with 3 different sauces are heavenly and the desserts (esp. the chocolate cake) are really special. We've eaten here as a couple and with a large group and have always received excellent service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank divezuzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect Saturday morning breakfast venue”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I always go the one in San Angel, right by the Saturday Bazaar (on Saturdays!). Best to arrive at 9-9.30 to get a table on the terrace and watch the bazaar vendors set up their wares.
Freshly squeezed juices are a must (I love the Bali one-makes me feel very healthy). Ordering breakfast in a package includes the juice, freshly baked bread, a plate of fruit and your main dish. They have a great selection of Mexican style eggs and omelettes plus a variety of other things. Best way to start your Saturday morning (or Sunday too!). Also good during the week. I prefer it for breakfast but it's also open for lunch and dinner both here and at their Insurgentes Av. venue.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank frontera60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saks SAN ANGEL also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Saks SAN ANGEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing