We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very good food in a very nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mat

Le Mat
Ranked #920 of 3,464 Restaurants in Mexico City
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Polanco
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
268 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very good food in a very nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

One of the nicests restaurants in the Polanco Area.

The food is very good, try the Tomato cream, is GREAT!!!!

Also the desserts are VERY good.

They have a very small list wine.

The service is very good.

The terrace is great for lunch.

Enjoy visiting the Concept store: Common People.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Octavio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening In Emilo Castelar Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

After an evening stroll in the Park, my wife and I were looking for a nice place to sit and have a glass of wine. We found Le Mat directly across the road and were attracted by its large covered patio. We decided to stay for dinner. Beautiful location but with average food and service. Nothing to really complain about, but definately nothing to rave about either. If I went back, I would stick to the appetizers.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
214 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent wine and small dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Walking by Emilio Castelar park in polanco, this is a place you have to stop by and see, it looks like a giant house and shop, and it actually is.

The restaurant has an amazing terrace across the park and its well served and fully staffed. Their wine selection is quite good and you should definately try the small hamburguers as a startup plate.

Creme brulee amazing!!

L.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent terrace in front of a beautiful park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a beautiful terrace just in front of Parque Linconl in Polanco.
You can enjoy the place even when it rains because the terrace is covered with sliding roof.
The desserts are incredible, Chai Crème brûlée or Ginger Custard.
Don't forget to try the duck served over mashed yams, it's amazing!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Place, normal food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The location and the setting is really nice.

The service was not that good even when I was there with a regular customer.

Food was good but not outstanding, perhaps I need a second try, still it is not one of those places I would try to go back really quick.

Besides Polanco is always full of great Restaurants that don´t need second chances ;)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mat also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Le Mat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing