We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent terrace in front of a beautiful park”
Review of Le Mat - CLOSED

Le Mat
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Polanco
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent terrace in front of a beautiful park”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a beautiful terrace just in front of Parque Linconl in Polanco.
You can enjoy the place even when it rains because the terrace is covered with sliding roof.
The desserts are incredible, Chai Crème brûlée or Ginger Custard.
Don't forget to try the duck served over mashed yams, it's amazing!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Place, normal food”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The location and the setting is really nice.

The service was not that good even when I was there with a regular customer.

Food was good but not outstanding, perhaps I need a second try, still it is not one of those places I would try to go back really quick.

Besides Polanco is always full of great Restaurants that don´t need second chances ;)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“beautiful and delicious”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I love this place, first, the location is amazing, specially on a sunny day, you have the park right in front, with kids on bikes and roller skates, people walking their dogs.
The service is really good, but the food is outstanding!. The grilled artichoke, mini hamburgers, the crab legs, everything is really good, have a leechy margarita. The desserts are yummy also

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BEUGGIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acapulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
200 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Pretty location for a drink, go elsewhere for food!”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We were wandering aimlessly around Polanco, an area that has an abundance of many extremely good restaurants, when we came upon Le Mat which my daughter had heard about and as the pretty terrace over-looked a park and the weather was perfect so we decided to stop and eat. The menu reads very well, slightly pretentious comfort food, but the execution was just not there, several dishes were either luke warm, salty, dry and re-heated and for what we had: EXPENSIVE. We have found a constant problem over the years in restaurants spending all their money on location or decoration and not spending it where it needs spending: IN THE KITCHEN !!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank archibalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mat also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing