We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too Many Things Out.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Express Ciudad de Mexico Alameda

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
City Express Ciudad de Mexico Alameda
Ranked #177 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Too Many Things Out.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

I had made a reservation about 2 weeks in advance of my arrival. When I arrived on January 3, 2012 I was told I did not have a reservation! Fortunately, I had printed my reservation info, which I highly recommend you do and carry it with you regardless of which hotel you stay at, and presented it to front desk person. I was accomadated immediately, but, was told that the type of room I had reserved was not available. I was given a room that had just been remodeled and smelled like fresh paint. The A/C, heater unit was not connected so the room was COLD at night, clock/radio/alarm non-funtional, fire alarm non-functional, no remote control for TV (deposit $200 mex pesos to get it from front desk!). It took TWO days to get iron and ironing board, THREE days to get a thick blanket since the heating unit had no power. Because the hotel is being remodeled, there is lots of noise (hammering, chiseling, loud talking, radio blasting, etc from 7:30 am to 7 pm). I feel that this hotel will be worth staying in ONLY months after the remodeling is completed. I would definitely check reviews in the FAR future. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    75
    84
    31
    26
See reviews for
70
58
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

This property is very well located, not far from the Zocalo and surrounded by good restaurants. Our room was "minimalist modern" and had clearly been renovated not long ago. The airconditioning didn't work and wasn't going to as the main pump in the airwell was still in its plastic cover. The room had a 32" flat screen TV with plenty of cable channels.

Noise was incessant except on Sunday.

The restaurant served bland food at a reasonable price.

I'd stay here again once the renovations are finished.

Room Tip: Modern rooms are on the lower floors but are noisy during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linds4516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed here at two separate times throughout our trip.

The first time, the staff was extremely nice and helpful. However the room, although clean, was of very outdated decor. The bathroom was small and very hard to maneuver.

The second time, however, the staff was less friendly, but the room was much nicer. The whole hotel seems to be undergoing renovation, so we stayed in one of the newly upgraded rooms. The decor was modern and clean and very pleasant. However, due to the ongoing construction it was impossible to sleep in the morning, and the noise was really unbearable. Even though we were charged an extra amount of money in order to stay in the nicer rooms, the construction noise was intolerable and we were not even warned of this.

Once the construction is over, if the prices remain relatively the same, this will be a great option for your stay in Mexico City.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampico, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Well, the hotel is being upgraded and a lot of noise can be heard since early in the morning. Also, its name is no longer Monte Real but Howard Johnson Alameda. It's located one block away from one of Mexico City main avenues, and you can just walk to Bellas Artes, Torre Latinoamericana, etc. It's not that expensive, it has no a/c, and if you're going to spend your day out of the hotel or the noise doesn't bother you, this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilitu71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

The hotel is good, comfortable with good services.

Our stay could have been nice but a very bad experience prevented us to enjoy the hotel.
We simply got stolen in our own room when we were inside: a guy posed as a technician for the TV that didn't work and left with my phone without us noticing (luckily, since he could have attacked us without problem).
It seems that noone takes care of the security nor control the access of this hotel.
Their reaction was prompt and benevolent to handle the problem (looking for the guy which was know for working with them before), but obviously we never recovered the phone.
They changed our room without problem.

Except from that, the room was clean, the service good, even if there was a bit of noise because of the proximity of one or several club and a party in the hotel the first night.

Notice also that the internet connection is not available everywhere in the hotel (4th had bad connectivity and 9th none at all)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melina_Guadalajara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

Not the best rooms in the world or the comfiest beds but in a very good location. Friendly staff with limited English. Don't eat at the hotel restaurant as much better places close by. Filled up with tour groups ( and they were young and loud) but for a convenient location and price in a major city you can't really complain.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank yellowboxfish10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

Stayed here for 8 nights over easter, found a cheap rate on hotelscombined.com ($25pn). Room was good size with two double beds, safe, decent bathroom, and tv (they have about 20 channels, most in spanish or dubbed in spanish). During our stay there were atleast 3 tour buses checking into the hotel every day. They would only stay a night and then leave the next morning. Not sure if this was for easter or holidays, but the groups socialised in the lobby making it crowded if you wanted to use the wifi (wifi only available in lobby, not in rooms). One of the nights a few buses with younger people arrived and luckily for us some of them stayed in the room next to ours. It must of been the party room as they kept the door open and had about 10 people or so in there drinking and carrying on till atleast 2am. Called reception who asked them to quite down, which they didnt. Couldn't sleep, so went downstairs to use the wifi, but there were about 20 or so people down there drinking beer with about 100 or so empty beer cans everywhere. Seemed receiption couldn't control them as they were so bloody loud! Other than that, the hotel is great value and would recommend for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannonluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
#77 of 305 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
#36 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Marlowe
Hotel Marlowe
#53 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alameda
Hotel Fontan Reforma
Hotel Fontan Reforma
#90 of 305 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Alameda
San Francisco Hotel
San Francisco Hotel
#254 of 305 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Alameda
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
#43 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Express Ciudad de Mexico Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Express Ciudad de Mexico Alameda

Property: City Express Ciudad de Mexico Alameda
Address: Revilliagigedo 23, Mexico City 06000, Mexico (Formerly Howard Johnson Hotel Alameda Mexico City)
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Alameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Express Ciudad de Mexico Alameda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your City Express Ciudad de Mexico Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Express Ciudad De Mexico Alameda Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing