We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Friendly, comfortable, safe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Suites DF

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Suites DF
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable, safe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was a really good option in Mexico City. I stayed here three times overall, twice with a friend and once on my own, in both a private room and a dorm. It was clean, comfortable and the staff were really helpful. Its not in the best area, but the walk into the centre is fine. The breakfast is really nice, and the women that cook it are lovely. Its thoughtful how they cook something different every day. My friend arrived in Mexico from London and this was the first place she stayed with me and I think it was a good, safe introduction for a slightly nervous traveller! The main thing I took from my stay here was how nice the staff were, and its this that would ensure my return if I am ever in Mexico City again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaaikePC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    63
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
55
46
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

First and foremost, the location is ideal, you can get to most of the major sites and museums with a little walk in either direction, and if you don't like walking, the Hidalgo metro station is just round the corner. I had a room to myself until late in the evening and it was very clean, well aired and spacious...couldn't really ask for much more. The staff on the front desk were all very helpful and the communal areas are nice and chilled. Well worth a stay at the price.

In terms of getting around a bit further afield, I didn't have any concerns on the Metro despite my initial reservations, I would just suggest keeping yourself on lockdown just in case (i.e. and bag zips around your front and hands in pockets). In all seriousness its so cheap and easy, you really do not have to take tours to places like the Basilica, Frida Kahlos house, or Xochimilco (thanks for the spelling google). I haven't got round to writing a review of it yet but if you need advice on how to get to Teotihuacan from Mexico City, by all means send me a note.

Room Tip: The Wifi range doesn't reach to the upper floors so if its a necessity to get online in your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randallml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is well located, near downtown (30 minutes walking to Templo Mayor archeological site) and to the Paseo de La Reforma Ave. Staff very courteous! No elevator in the building, but they kindly helped me with my heavy bag. Breakfast is good and included in the daily rate.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank MarciaItani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

My partner and i stayed in a private room for 3 days. Our room was on the 4th floor. There were no lifts, so be prepared to carry backpacks up multiple of flights. The kitchen staff were very nice and fed you well. The reception staff were also very friendly and helpful. The only thing that may damper your stay is that sometimes staff or backpackers may stay up late partying, unfortunately the noise from the kitchen carries through. If you are staying on levels 1,2, & 3, you are very likely to hear the noise. Otherwise, the hostel is worth your dollar, comfortable beds, clean toilets and bathrooms and HOT water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nerissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Well maybe that's a mild exaggeration but they really looked after us well here. All the staff were great, couldn't do enough for us and were really helpful with advice on places to go and how to get there. Special mention has to go the kitchen staff, two lovely sisters who took us under their wing and were really understanding of my dietary requirements. Great breakfasts.
The common areas were good, it was reasonably social without being crazy and walkable from the centre as well as being close to a metro line. Can't comment on the dorms but both our private rooms were great for the price, though the mattresses need to be changed as there was certainly some dips and broken springs. But you get what you pay for and at Hostel Suites DF, you really get quite a bit.

Room Tip: I think the private rooms are the best option - higher up are quieter but be prepared to tackle the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdseye82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

clean hostel, useful services for backpackers and the lady Faviola from the reception was really nice and helpfull. the breakfast was good too.
The location is close to hidalgo metro station and easy to tour this interesting city

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoav a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you're young and want to stay up drinking, yelling, smoking inside the Hostel and partying until well after midnight with the Hostel staff - in complete disregard for the other Hostel guests then this is your type of place.

We found the owner and staff very friendly helpful and no other issues with the running of this place.

Room Tip: choose well away from the stair-well or near reception area if your sensitive to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calloway34279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#29 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
#28 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#19 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#4 of 192 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Suites DF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Suites DF

Property: Hostel Suites DF
Address: Calle Jesus Teran 38 | Colonia Tabacalera, Mexico City 06030, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, cozy, design hostel located very close to Mexico City’s downtown, close to public transportation and tourist attractions. Our goal is you to have the best home experience. We serve breakfast every day and we give you personal attention. Tours and activities can be customized depending on your mood, budget and lifestyle. You are very welcome to be part of our family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Suites DF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Suites DF Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing