We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“partying every night”
Review of Hostel Suites DF

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Suites DF
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you're young and want to stay up drinking, yelling, smoking inside the Hostel and partying until well after midnight with the Hostel staff - in complete disregard for the other Hostel guests then this is your type of place.

We found the owner and staff very friendly helpful and no other issues with the running of this place.

Room Tip: choose well away from the stair-well or near reception area if your sensitive to noise
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calloway34279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Suites DF
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 210 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

Me and a friend stayed at Hostel Suites DF for four nights during march 2013, and we greatly enjoyed our stay! The room was very clean and nicely decorated, and it wasn't too noisy due to the fact that the hostel is situated on a quiet street right off the main streets. Location was good; only a fem minutes walk to Hidalgo metro station and in walking distance from Alameda Central, Bellas Artes and El Zocalo. Staff was friendly and helpful, and the kitchen ladies made delicious breakfasts. My only complaint is that the beds were exceptionally hard.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RikkeL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here in a private room and after taking a day trip to teotauhican we arrived back to discover that an iPhone had been taken from inside one of our bags. We approached the hostel staff who showed little initial concern but assured us that the owner was coming in to investigate, however the owner was never to be seen.

We then asked for directions to the nearest police station to report the theft for insurance purposes only to be told to go to the wrong station in the wrong direction. It was only by good luck that a helpful local drove us to the tourist police and helped us there.

Overall the staff were generally unconcerned and another guest accused us of lying (he smelled of alcohol and seemed to just hang around the hostel all day). The lack of a safe in the private room was eventually a huge downside to this place and has cost us dearly both financially and emotionally.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Worldtrip23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Location is very good, safe neighborhood only minutes from the metro station and not much further to downtown. The rooms were clean, the beds comfy and the duvets and pillows all warm and snuggly. The staff were friendly and informative. There's a free breakfast laid on (cereals, yoghurt, toast etc) but get there not too early!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merrillemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

As my boyfriend and I were feeling under the weather due to pollution and altitude, I searched specifically for a private room with a TV for entertainment so we could have a restful night in, and chose Hostel Suites DF for this reason. We spent a fair amount on the taxi ride across town and the taxi driver had difficulty finding the place as the signage is not very clear. When we arrived at reception we were told that our room was double booked and that we would not be able to check in to it, with no explanation offered. We were instead offered a room with two single beds and no television. The previous week we had experienced a similar situation at Stayinn Barefoot Condesa and were offered a night free in compensation. Nothing was offered here. We decided to stay elsewhere and asked the receptionist to call us a sitio taxi. An unmarked vehicle turned up with a driver who seemed to have no idea how to get around the central colonias of Mexico city. Although we were only a short distance from our destination on a major, well known road, he took every wrong turn with us having to show him directions constantly on Google maps, and often ignoring the directions that we knew from experience to be correct. Of course, when we finally asked him to stop he tried to charge us more than the quoted amount and then tried to refuse us twenty peso change. I'm usually very tolerant but this was very frustrating! I think the hostel should have called a legitimate sitio taxi that would have charged less than this incompetent driver from an unknown company.

Whilst we were waiting for about an hour at Hostel Suites DF we did not see a single occupant and the place had a very empty, cold feeling, with no ambiance of life or activity. The receptionist did offer a cup of tea or coffee while we tried to find alternative accommodation but the double booking issue wasted our day and added stress when we were not feeling 100% so it doesn't really balance out.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank DoloresdelRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I spent a few nights here with my wife during our stay in Mexico City, because there weren't rooms available in other more central hostels. This hostel is in a safe neighborhood, only a 20 minutes walk from the center (Zócalo) and close to the Hidalgo metro stop in case you don't feel like walking (at only 3 pesos per trip, metro is really cheap).

Our private room with bathroom was big, but not particularly clean. The shower was very comfortable and hot water was always available. Free Internet and cable TV were working properly. The included breakfast was abundant and good, with American coffee, fresh milk, pancakes, quesadillas, fruits, toasts, and homemade jam. There was free mineral water always available in the kitchen and it was possible to buy other drinks directly at the hostel for a reasonable price. Also, just around the corner there was a grocery store open 24 hours a day.

The staff was friendly and eager to help. They stored our luggage free of charge for a whole day after checkout and provided us with a cheap taxi service to the airport. They also offered organized trips with the popular Wayak agency with direct pickup at the hostel.

Overall, I'd recommend this hostel for a pleasant (and affordable) stay in Mexico City.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are slightly better than the ones on the second.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Most importantly, the staff was really friendly and went out of their way to help. They definitely make the hostel a welcoming place.
The hostel location was perfect for me – within walking distance of Bellas Artes, the Zocalo, Templo Mayor, etc. About a 30-45 minute walk to the Bosque Chapultepec along interesting Paseo de la Reforma – but at the same time just outside the centro historico so quieter (I believe) . It’s just off a main road, about ½ block along a smaller street, which is relatively quiet. I found it fine walking back there at night alone from the Zocalo, since I could walk along main, well-lit, streets all the way. It is also situated really close to the Hidalgo metro station, and within easy walking distance of the main bus routes.
I stayed in two different 6 bed dorms over 5 nights. Both contained 3 bunk beds. Each bed had its own LED reading light and a socket along with a shelf on which to place your electronic device as it charged (very well thought out). Apart from that, the room is quite spartan – one small table with a chair are the only other furniture. There is lots of room between the bunk beds, which is handy. The toilet and shower are in the room. One of the dorms had six large lockers, the other dorm did not have lockers. I was provided with a towel and sheets and there is a warm comforter-type blanket as well. Pillows were comfy! Everyone gets a key card. The rooms that face the street are quite light even at night because there is a street lamp outside the window and the curtains are white. The room was cleaned daily.
The interior common area is quite small – a room with a desk and PC with free internet, a large screen TV and a sofa. There is a larger patio just off this room with tables and chairs. There is a small dining room, where breakfast is served and a small kitchen, which you can use to prepare your own meals. There is a fridge available for guest use. They provide free drinking water, so bring a reusable bottle! There is a luggage storage room where you can leave your luggage if you are departing the city after the check out time or even for a few days if you want to make a short trip outside the city.
The included breakfasts were great. They always had fruit, bread (with a toaster available), homemade jams, butter, cereal, milk and usually yogourt. There was also always a hot component to the breakfast (although not ready at 8 am when breakfast starts, you have to wait until about 8:30, but it’s worth the wait!). It varied depending on the day – I had pancakes, omelets and quesadillas. Breakfast is served from 8-10am.
I found security to be good. When the door was left open, there was always someone at the front desk. When no one was at the desk, the door was locked, but would be promptly opened when the bell was rung.
All in all, a great place to stay in Mexico city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChileSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
#33 of 312 in Mexico City
617 reviews
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#38 of 312 in Mexico City
585 reviews
Centro Historico
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
#3 of 224 in Mexico City
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#2 of 224 in Mexico City
405 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
#12 of 224 in Mexico City
560 reviews
Centro Historico
Downtown Beds
Downtown Beds
#28 of 224 in Mexico City
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Suites DF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Suites DF

Address: Calle Jesus Teran 38 | Colonia Tabacalera, Mexico City 06030, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 224 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range: $13 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, cozy, design hostel located very close to Mexico City’s downtown, close to public transportation and tourist attractions. Our goal is you to have the best home experience. We serve breakfast every day and we give you personal attention. Tours and activities can be customized depending on your mood, budget and lifestyle. You are very welcome to be part of our family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Suites DF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Suites DF Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing