We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home and Family”
Review of Casa Roa"

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Roa"
Ranked #12 of 151 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home and Family”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My partner and I arrived tired and hungry. Isabel offered us a dinner to share with her family. We instantly felt like family. Their home is comfortable and lovely. The kitchen was a hub of activity where friends and family come and go. We shared recipes, friendship and culture. The breakfasts were amazing. Each day we would eat and go on a trip to the city. We walked to the bus stop and then the metro. Isabel and her daughter, Eva were ever so helpful. Thank you so much. We will be friends for a very long time!!!

Room Tip: You can take a taxi from the airport for $290 pesos. Once there it is a little far from the city bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franjapaniflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaroa, Manager at Casa Roa", responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Gracias ,Thanks for staying with us !
We love to hear from you first hand about Vancouver and how life evolves over there ,charming was to see your experience of Mexico City ,it was very refreshing to share stories ,food ,and friendship with you it feels like we knew you from long time ago,and was our great pleasure to have you here !
Come back soon if not will go over there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    6
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
37
35
24
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2012

A very beautiful place to stay. The entire Casa Roa is just delicious. Sophia, the manager of this delightful place, and her crew are very kind. Don't hesitate to go if you want to have a quiet and very pleasant moment!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaroa, Manager at Casa Roa", responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thanks My friend we enjoyed your conversation your interest for Mexico the jungle election process =D. We are really glad you enjoyed Casa Roa you are welcome opened arms any time back. Gracias!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were attending my cousin's wedding in Mexico City and we chose to stay at Casa Roa mainly for the location and the excellent reviews about it. We loooved it! All the people are super friendly... the neighborhood is safe,the place is lovely and amazingly clean. The breakfast was delicious. It really felt like you were visiting relatives in the city. The only minor detail we had was that in one of the other rooms there was a family with kids that were running around and playing with the piano at 9am, that was not really pleasant but at the end it was part of the experience and Isabel took care well of it.
However, among all, the best proof of how amazing they are was when I misplaced my wedding band and my engagement ring....We had already checked out when I realized it and I called them immediately. By the time we were back they already had the place up side down looking for my rings and they found them! I will never thank enough, seriously!..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liux1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaroa, Owner at Casa Roa", responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you very much!!
We have a great time getting to know all the family ,and we are grateful that everything went well ,you help us to be bettter everday ,and improve our services .
Gracias mi Casa Roa su Casa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acapulco, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Im Gil:
I thank a lot my hostess Sofy for all help and guide to move arround Mexico City no matter the city is huge had great time Casa roa is so friendly, best food you can find in a b&b or hostel, I enjoyed a lot a special toure they did for my to City of gods Teotihuacan! Ill sure returne to Roa to catch my plane back so see you soon and Gracias... amigos....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Casa Roa", responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Gracias !Thank you!
It was much fun to have you with us ,you help us see Mexico with new eyes ,and your apreciation of our cooking makes our work a pleasure ,come again any time you are very welcomed.
Your friends in Mexico City Casa Roa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for almost two weeks in May. We really needed a place to relax that was peaceful. We found that here. The people were really nice and we really felt like one of the family with Isabel, Sofia and Eva. The neighborhood is very safe and the hosts are trustworthy. The internet service worked very well. I feel that is worth mentioning because we stayed in a hotel inside Mexico City last time, but the wifi was awful. Here there weren't any problems with the wifi. The rooms are huge and they always provide fresh cut flowers from their garden to make it feel more homey. A lot of nice places to eat that are close by and the owners help you get a fair taxi price. The food here is authentic and wonderful. This was one of the main things I was looking for when booking a place. My husband Juan is Mexican and he really enjoys authentic meals. The meals were not a disappointment here.

Thank you for making our time in Mexico memorable!

Shauna Snyder & Juan Barragan Solis

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shauna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaroa, Owner at Casa Roa", responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thanks very much for your kind words ,it was wonderfull to have you both ,it was easy to adopt you as family ! you are a mellow and gracious couple and we still remeber our long conversations after a meal, we learn a lot with your stories.
You are always welcome back when you come to Mexico!
Your "Family" at Casa Roa .
Say Hi to Juan from us .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Casa Roa. As soon as you walk in you feel right at home. The people are beautiful. The rooms excellent and it is a beautiful nice and private location ideal if you are to move around that part of town.

I highly recommend it and am looking forward to go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaroa, Owner at Casa Roa", responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Ed ,
Gracias por tu comentario tan amable sobre tu estancia con nosotros.
It was our pleasure to have your lovely family here at Casa Roa ,and we are glad that our team make you feel at home, we are happy that your experience was beautiful as it was for us .
We were honored to have your great 88 year young mother unifying the family around her . Your gracious,wife and daughters were very pleasant guests .
We look forward to have you back at your Casa Roa again soon!
Warmly
Isabel ,Sofia,Gaby,Eva and Team Roa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Isabel and Sofia ae fantastic hosts, we spent a total of two weeks at Casa Roa and loved it. They treated us like family, because the guest house isn't too big the personal attention makes you feel like you're at home and not in a hotel.

Casa Roa is a 50's design hotel, the house is beautiful, sophisticated and relaxing , the rooms are spacious and gorgeous. The house has been in the family for over 50 years and has been carefully restored by Isabel and Sofia, maintaning many of it original features. Isabel is an excellent cook and effortlessly whips up some incredible home cooked Mexican food. Sophia has a wealth of information on Mexico can give you detailed tourist information, they helped us to plan our 3month stay in Mexico.

Although the location is not in the center, Sophia gave us a map and detailed instructions on how to take the bus and sub way sytem, which was simple and cost about $4 USD for a return trip.

We thouroughly enjoyed our stay and loved meeting you both, we'd recommed Casa roa to anyone who plans on visiting Mexico city; its a charming oasis with super friendly hosts in a crazy city.

Bianca & Lee
South Africa and England

Room Tip: The Sunny Blue room is gorgeous... it gets loads of natural light and you could even watch the sunri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bdmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaroa, Owner at Casa Roa", responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Miss Bianca and Mr Lee
We can say enough of the fun we have with your extended visit ,we wish you have stayed longer ,but you sure have a incredible adventure in front of you traveling for a year or more through South america.
We rarely meet truly well seasoned world wide travelers ,our daily conversation around the breakfast table was truly exciting, we got to see South Africa in a total different way thanks to you Bianca.
You both have a keen taste for authentic food so going together to the nearby markets to taste real tacos and barbacoa was a unique extreme gourmet experience.
Thanks for seeing the beauty of Casa Roa ,beauty is in the eyes of the beholder .We love to care for the little details that make your stay a pleasure
Refreshing and surprising all the time ,was having you at Casa Roa ,we decide to adopt you as family please consider our request and come back again,whenever you can.
Warmly
Your Mexican family Isabel,Sofia and Eva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#27 of 310 in Mexico City
687 reviews
Alameda
Chaya B&B Boutique
Chaya B&B Boutique
#8 of 151 in Mexico City
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
Hotel Villa Condesa
Hotel Villa Condesa
#9 of 151 in Mexico City
336 reviews
Condesa
Distrito Condesa
Distrito Condesa
#11 of 151 in Mexico City
143 reviews
Roma
Casa Goliana La Roma
Casa Goliana La Roma
#3 of 151 in Mexico City
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Roa"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Roa"

Property: Casa Roa"
Address: Calle Fernando Gonzalez Roa # 8, Mexico City 53100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Roa" 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Roa...su Casa in Mexico City;*A Great Night Sleep*Generous Mexican Breakfast.*Modern, Sparkling, and Comfy Rooms.*Free WiFi*Free Parking*Free Phone Calls to All Mexico and US.*24/7 Security, Quiet Residencial Area."We are here to be of service...so you can feel at Home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Roa" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Roa" Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing