We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Central Mexico cuisine”

La Fonda del Recuerdo
Ranked #448 of 4,317 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Mexican restaurant inspired in the cuisine of the state of Veracruz. Live music and a weekly show with the most famous songs and dances in Mexico. Ideal for large groups and to finish a long working-day or traveling day.
Level Contributor
277 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good Central Mexico cuisine”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A traditional restaurant, fairly priced, with very good cuisine typical of central Mexico.
Good service. From their Enchiladas to mondongo. Be adventuresome. You'll enjoy the experience!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chichenuxmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    42
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The best of traditional Mexico!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

La Fonda del Recuerdo not only serves terrific authentic mexican dishes, it does so in an atmosphere of entertainment and fun, in a traditional setting. Roaming bands of musicians offer a variety of entertainment options. The food is abundant and delicious, and sometimes just a variety of appetizers leaves you more than satisfied. We also took advantage of their special Grito party on the 15th, enjoying a fixed menu of classic mexican dishes, live regional musicians and dancers, and a salsa band for everyone to enjoy. It was a terrific combination of their usual great food enhanced with the celebration of the Fiestas Patrias.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinFool93436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I called the restaurant at 7pm and made a reservation at 8:30pm that day. I asked the person who took my reservation how long it would take me and he said an hour. When I arrived, at 8:10pm, the restaurant was closed. They told me the person who confirmed my reservation made a mistake and there was nothing they could do. Ridiculous!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank acb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal!!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

You have to go and eat at La Fonda del Recuerdo! Wonderful restaurant and great staff! The food was amazing and left me wanting more! This restaurant is a must and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rgdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I simply loved it!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The food is outstanding! The excellence in service and the dancers, musicians and specially I loved the bird that gave me my lucky paper. I have been into other mexican restaurants and this is my favorite, chiles en nogada are outstanding as well as the octopus tacos!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda del Recuerdo also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to La Fonda del Recuerdo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing