We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would NEVER take this company”

Basilica Lady of Guadalupe and Teotihuacan
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe
Ranked #7 of 101 Tours in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Would NEVER take this company”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Good: We were safely transported to & from the Teotihuacan Pyramids, & the quality of the lunch served to us.
VERY bad: Our tour guide picked us up 1hour late, little information provided on tour, encouraged buying of overpriced (4xTourist market) products ALL day from friends, home 2hours late, driver/tour guide made comments out the window of his car to women as he drove past, driver/tour guide touched the breasts of women in the tour group as he put pink 'Guadelupe' stickers on us while he touched much higher (closer to the shoulder) of the men. Absolutely disgraceful behaviour. I am VERY disappointed with Viator.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristiana-Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    216
    61
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Even if you are not religious, this place will amaze all of your senses. Nested on top of the site which used to have one of the most sacred shrines for the aztec and dedicated to their mother, Spanish monks built the Basilica for Santa Maria de Guadalupe based on the supposed apparitions of Virgin Mary to Juan Diego. The real miracle is seeing the huge number of people arriving to see the image of Virgin of Guadalupe from all parts of Mexico and the World. Its the second most visited Catholic place on earth.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
392 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Marian temple, one of the biggest in the World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The faith in the Virgen de Guadalupe in Mexico and all Latin America is unsurpassed. In December will be very busy, but worth to visit not only the new Basilica but the old as well, and all the other temples, one for each of the Virgin Apartitions.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ETame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
250 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Historical jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

A place to visit because of it's historical and religious value, where the Virgin of Guadalupe appeared is now a beautiful garden, and the painting is there.

Helpful?
Thank di c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“God is present”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I liked this church. The architecture of the basilic is impressive. I attended the mass in that church and I was granted my miracle. I love this church. Here is where I meet Betty, my wive, the person who has shared more than 30 years next to me. I love this place not only for the great moment I have passed here but for the cultural value!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica Lady of Guadalupe and Teotihuacan also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
San Juan Teotihuacan, Estado de Mexico
 

Been to Basilica Lady of Guadalupe and Teotihuacan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing