We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cash-cow hotel, you will be milked dry if you let them”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camino Real Aeropuerto
Ranked #100 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Uninspiring airport hotel (aren't they all?) which is clean, convenient and practically soulless. No opportunity is lost to screw more money out of the guests, which given the eyebrow-arching prices they charge, is somewhat cheeky. Want coffee in your room while catching up on your emails? Better get that wallet out for a double hit. Arriving by car? You think the fact that your paying 200 USD plus for a room would somehow cover the parking charge. Think again.

About the only thing this hotel doesn't do is hold you up by your ankles and shake the change out of your pockets, so there's a little circle earned. No point thinking up a reason why you might have to stay here, it's obvious, if you arrive late or leave early from this airport then there's a fair chace you'll need a hotel in its vicinity. I daresay all the other hotels nearby are just as abusive, but nonetheless it's depressing to feel the full force of monopolistic and anticompetitive practice applied against the captive audience. Airport hotels are the perfect illustration of where market forces and tools like Tripadviser break down and fail. Why worry about your reputation when you're part of a cartel?

If you love that sensation of being milked dry by corporate sociopaths, then you'll be happy here. Otherwise, just suck it up, there are no alternatives.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bo_Duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

I was very disappointed to find that this hitel charges for internet service has no hot water/ coffee maker. It does have a tub. On the whole for
star level at an airport there should be internet gratis.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaganj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Camino Real Aeropuerto in Mexico City is connected to the airport itself via a tubular walkway so no taxi, tram, or even outside movement is necessary to reach the hotel lobby. If you arrive internationally you need to walk a bit as the hotel connects to the domestic portion of the terminal. But the terminals are all part of one big indoor connected complex. Rooms are standard hotel quality and while some of the carpet is worn and a ding or two can be located if you insist on digging around, this property is much better than the reviews I read by some people. A lot of flight crews use it, if that means anything. Regarding the lines for check-in, one person was in front of us and we waited no more than one minute. We arrived around 3-ish in the afternoon and there were no problems, rooms were ready and clean. Later in the evening, the time it seems people are claiming long slow moving lines, we saw none of it. Regarding the language thing commented on by some, the front desk staff spoke English. Period. In the bar a bit of Spanish helps, but let's face it, "Margarita" or "Beer" are nearly universally understood. Catching a taxi to more tourist friendly parts of the city was easy out in front of the property, and if you want they can arrange an expensive but nice hotel car with an English speaking driver in a few minutes to cart you around (the cars are on site). However, if you use a taxi you flag down yourself be sure that the license plate starts with an "A" or a "B." You can also go back across the tube into the airport and arrange a sitio taxi there. Taxis generally don't have English speaking drivers so be sure to get everything negotiated before you hop in and leave. Or speak Spanish. We ordered up a pot of coffee in the morning and it was very good and delivered promptly. WiFi is pay-for. However, the airport has free WiFi.

Room Tip: We were on the back side of the property, and perhaps because of the that there was no extraneous no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hikemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

PROS:
Good hotel for a plane delay or short stay since it's right next to Benito Juarez airport; you don't even need to take a taxi. Nice restaurants and a very well equipped gym. Nice and helpful staff.
CONS:
A bit expensive for what's included in the rate. If you want breakfast and internet connection, be ready to pay around US$225. Internet is given with a 24hr code so every day you must ask for a new one. Rides taken from the hotel change rates daily (same destination)...its like they charge just what comes to their mind. There are no malls or tourist areas nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I missed a connection from the US to South America due to bad weather in Mexico City (we were about to land during windy, haily thunderstorm and the pilot aborted!) and Aeroméxico was nice enough to put us up here for the night. I arrived at about 4am, but was able to sleep in late (2pm checkout was much appreciated!). The room and hotel in general seemed a bit dated but on the whole was alright.

The hotel is literally connected to terminal 1, so it is very convenient for anyone who is flying out after their stay.

I have never seen security like this in a hotel; there were two guards at the entrance with assault rifles and the hotel was full of federal police. I live in Brazil and have never seen anything like it. Makes you wonder what they are protecting against...

I give extra marks for the breakfast buffet which was huge and varied, with many delicious Mexican options.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DOTWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel is located right across the street from the airport. You can even cross the bridge and don't have to wait for transportation.
The rooms are slightly small but a comfortable size for an overnight stay. Room service was fast and service was great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaytePrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We got 14 hour layover on our way from Peru back to US so we decided to book hotel overnight and stay here. The hotel grounds are very nice and rooms are clean and spacious. The hotel is conveniently located right at the airport so you don't have to even go outside if you don't want to. Great service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
0.3 mi away
We Hotel Aeropuerto
We Hotel Aeropuerto
#131 of 312 in Mexico City
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Mexico City Airport
0.2 mi away
Fiesta Inn Aeropuerto Ciudad de Mexico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Mexico City Airport
Hilton Mexico City Airport
#50 of 312 in Mexico City
1,261 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mexico Aeropuerto
Holiday Inn Express Mexico Aerop...
#133 of 312 in Mexico City
64 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Collection Mexico City Airport T2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Aeropuerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Aeropuerto

Address: Calle Puerto Mexico 80 | Col Penon de los Banos, Mexico City 15520, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range: $109 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real Aeropuerto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camino Real Aeropuerto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Aeropuerto Hotel Mexico City
Camino Real Aeropuerto Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing